Arguably the most hyped anime of the season, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (The Irregular at Magic High School) has finally started! My first ever anime review will be about the anime premier ep and what I thought about it. Alright then, lets get started!

If you’ve read the light novel that this anime is adapted from, then you know the plot already; but if you’re new to this series (like I am) then I’ll give you a quick overview.

Magic.

Is a product of neither legends nor fairy tales, but instead has become a technology of reality since a time unknown to people. Supernatural power became a technology systematized through magic, while magic became a technical skill. A “Supernatural Power User” became a “Magic Technician”. Magic Technicians (in short, Magicians) are nurtured through Magic High Schools and Universities.

This is a story about:

A defective elder brother low achiever.

A perfect, flawless younger sister high achiever.

After both siblings entered a Magic High School,

The stage of daily turbulence was unveiled——.

(courtesy of  MyAnimeList.net)

Alright then so from that it’s easy to gather this will be an anime about magic wielding characters and the relationship between these siblings. Ep 1 starts off with a back story that sets up the setting of the anime before diving into our two main characters, Miyuki Shiba and Tatsuya Shiba. As brought out in the opening back story sequence Tatsuya seems to be quite an important player in the war we see at the start. From there we move onto the school these two are enrolled in: First High School, a very high end, top tier school for students with magical powers. However the school is divided into two different groups: the Blooms or upper class  honor roll students excelling in studies, and the Weeds, the low ranking students who didn’t score that high. We find out very soon that Miyuki is a Bloom while her brother, a seemingly very powerful guy, is ranked as a Weed. Hmm, strange. What’s also apparent from the start is that these two siblings are very close, and it’s evident that Miyuki views her older brother with a different type of love, a more romantic kind. Hmm, okay. A look below at how the Bloom view the Weeds, not very friendly.

The episode progresses as any series opener should, introducing you to other characters that will join the main group, maybe a few bad guys, and begins to set the plot in motion. Mahouka ep 1 was pretty much that, getting to know the folks you’ll be seeing and introducing you to this school the anime will be set in. I think that as first eps go this did a good job, it’s 26 eps long so don’t rush in right away and feel that you have to tell everything in 24 minutes. Obviously as things progress we’ll learn more about who all these people are, what exactly their powers are and if they’re good or bad. I didn’t have any issues with the plot so far, it’s hard to judge it all based on just one ep but so far it’s starting off nicely, nothing I want to rage about. So with that out of the way, I’ll talk about some points I noticed in this anime.

First up the voice actors/actresses: 4 of the main characters are voiced by people who did voices in Oreimo. Haha, I found that pretty funny actually, seeing them all back together again but in a totally different anime. A picture I retweeted on Twitter gives photographic evidence of it. Original tweet courtesy of @Xythar

BkfYR7iCcAAKjUY.jpg largeYuuichi Nakamura (voicing Tatsuya Shiba) is also notable for voicing the male lead in Oreimo, Kyousuke Kousaka, as well as the always entertaining Houtarou Oreki from the 2012 anime Hyouka. Moving down the list, Saori Hayami (voicing Miyuki) is notable for voicing Ayase Aragaki also from Oreimo. She also voiced a character in Hyouka too, surprise surprise, that character being Kaho Juumonji. Next up is the always amazing Kana Hanazawa (voicing Mayumi Saegusa); while she didn’t have a role in Hyouka, she did however voice Ruri “Kuroneko” Gokou from Oreimo or you may know her as Onodera from Nisekoi or Akane Tsunemori from Psycho-Pass. Lastly another favorite of mine, Satomi Satou (voicing Mizuki Shibata) who we all know and love as Eru Chitanda from Hyouka or Manami Tamura from Oreimo or maybe Ritsu Tainaka from K-On!. However you look at it, there are some pretty awesome VA’s in this anime, another neat thing I like about Mahouka.

Next I should mention the art and character designs, both of which I really liked. The uniforms they wear are pretty awesome, I haven’t seen many uniforms which have lots of white on them (as I think it looks pretty cool) so I liked that. The animation during the Tatsuya vs. ninja dudes fight was pretty tight and looked very cool. He’s totally got epic fight moves, I approve. Kinda jumping back to character design and uniforms, Miyuki’s uniform is pretty nice, she looks really good wearing that. 🙂

Another point I want to mention is the OST. Personally I didn’t really get into it that much, which isn’t a good sign, but I enjoyed the song at the end, which I’m pretty sure is the OP song, ‘Rising Hope’ by LiSA (also sung the Sword Art Online OP ‘Crossing Field’) I’m looking forward to hearing the actual ED, that being sung by ELISA and it’s titled ‘Millenario’ you can hear it in this PV at the 25 second mark actually. Hopefully the OST will pick up in the following eps and I can’t wait to get the full OP/ED songs when they’re out.

Up next let’s take a look at some screen-caps from the ep!

Episode title card.
Episode title card.
Magic: 2095 Edition
Magic: 2095 Edition
No more Canada... eh?
No more Canada… eh?

[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_02.15_[2014.04.06_23.48.52] [HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_02.17_[2014.04.06_23.49.06]

The simply lovely Miyuki Shiba.
The simply lovely Miyuki Shiba.
[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_05.02_[2014.04.06_23.54.20]
Student Council President in the house!
She's cute!
She’s cute!

[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_06.27_[2014.04.06_23.57.41]

Important stuff here.
Important stuff here.
Hmm....
Hmm….

[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.00_[2014.04.07_00.20.55] [HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.04_[2014.04.07_00.21.29]


Lastly before I bring this already way too long review to a close (you were right Polaris, I overdid it) I’d like to mention one more thing that I briefly touched on above and in the title of this post. It’s pretty obvious to realize that there are incest vibes coming from Miyuki. Ever since watching Oreimo and the incest themes present in that anime, that concept in anime hasn’t bothered me at all. Clearly in reality it’s gross, but in an anime setting I honestly don’t mind it. While I’ve heard that the two aren’t actually siblings it’s not exactly incest, but until I see it all played out, they’re still coming across as siblings. A few more screen-caps of those intimate moments between Tatsuya and Miyuki. By the way, feel free to join the #WincestRevolutionary on Twitter too.


Overall I really enjoyed the first ep of Mahouka, I’ve seen so much hype for it and I’m liking how it’s started out so far. True not much really happened, but as it’s a first ep you can’t expect to have everything laid out for you. I may or may not assign ratings to each ep, I’ll think that over, but so far it’s got a high rating in my books. If you’re not watching it then I suggest you try it out, it’s got an interesting plot and I think that once it gets rolling it’s going to be really good. I’ve seen some folks liken to this last season’s Mahou Sensou (Magical Warfare) and I can see the coloration between the two, but I’m pretty sure this one will be a lot better.

Alright then, I guess I’ve said too much probably and have made this review way too long, so I’ll try to make sure future reviews aren’t this long and not all over the place. Don’t worry I’ll get better in time, it’s my first time doing anime reviews so I’ve got a bit to learn. So if you’ve seen the first ep, what did you think of it? Liked it? Hated it? Right down the middle with it? Feel free to chat it up in the comments, but please no spoilers from the light novel. I’d still like this to be a surprise okay? I’ll have the review for ep 1 of Love Live! School Idol Project Season 2 later on in the week as I’ve got housing issues involving me and it’s actually very important, so when I’ve got time, and a place to live for a while, I’ll get to that review. In the future I hope to have reviews out much faster, maybe even the same day, but I can only do so much.

Thanks for reading, I hope you liked this!

Cya next week!
Cya next week!

Remember, I’ve got a cool page for you to recommend anime you think I might like. Check it out!

Got a question for me? Check out my Ask.fm profile to ask me a question. You’ll have to make an account to ask a question though as some douche bag trolled me for a bit and ruined something I made specifically for this blog. Fuck him for doing that.

I’m also on Twitter so if you’re on Twitter too, be sure to follow me!

-Nick

lkjlklkllkjkhjhjhjhjhh hgkhk

khMagic is a product of neither legends nor fairy tales, but instead has become a technology of reality since a time unknown to people. Supernatural power became a technology systematized through magic, while magic became a technical skill. A “Supernatural Power User” became a “Magic Technician.” Magic Technicians (in short, Magicians) are nurtured through Magic High Schools and Universities.

Thi a story about:

Tatsuya, a defective elder brother low achiever.
Miyuki, a perfect, flawless younger sister high achiever.
After both siblings entered a Magic High School,
The stage of daily turbulence was unveiled—.

Read more at http://myanimelist.net/anime/20785/Mahouka_Koukou_no_Rettousei#Sk0I1Ighfq4gJPHt.99

Magic is a product of neither legends nor fairy tales, but instead has become a technology of reality since a time unknown to people. Supernatural power became a technology systematized through magic, while magic became a technical skill. A “Supernatural Power User” became a “Magic Technician.” Magic Technicians (in short, Magicians) are nurtured through Magic High Schools and Universities.This is a story about:Tatsuya, a defective elder brother low achiever.
Miyuki, a perfect, flawless younger sister high achiever.
After both siblings entered a Magic High School,
The stage of daily turbulence was unveiled—.Read more at http://myanimelist.net/anime/20785/Mahouka_Koukou_no_Rettousei#Sk0I1Ighfq4gJPHt.99
Magic is a product of neither legends nor fairy tales, but instead has become a technology of reality since a time unknown to people. Supernatural power became a technology systematized through magic, while magic became a technical skill. A “Supernatural Power User” became a “Magic Technician.” Magic Technicians (in short, Magicians) are nurtured through Magic High Schools and Universities.This is a story about:Tatsuya, a defective elder brother low achiever.
Miyuki, a perfect, flawless younger sister high achiever.
After both siblings entered a Magic High School,
The stage of daily turbulence was unveiled—.Read more at http://myanimelist.net/anime/20785/Mahouka_Koukou_no_Rettousei#Sk0I1Ighfq4gJPHt.99
