Since watching the first season I couldn’t wait for season 2 to finally start, now that it’s back I’m completely overjoyed and literally can’t contain my excitement for this. Love Live is back guys!

Here’s my review of the season 2 opener.

I’d been waiting for the day Love Live returns for a while now. I’ve completely and totally fallen in love with this anime and it’s been on my mind since I completed the first season. And if that wasn’t enough I also recently went back and did a 14 Days of Love Live Marathon where I watched an ep each day in preparation for season 2. With my excitement building I couldn’t wait to watch ep 1 of season 2, and it totally delivered too! Let’s start with the review now!

Obvious spoilers for season 1, so don’t read this if you haven’t watched season 1!

Picking up where season 1 left off, Otonokizaka High School has been saved by the valiant efforts of the 9 girls in the school idol group µ’s (pronounced ‘Muse’). Things have changed a bit though as Honoka has now become the student council president! I didn’t see that one coming! Ericchi and Nozomi have both stepped down and elected Honoka, Umi, and Kotori to lead the student body from here. Although I’m surprised to see Honoka taking the top stop instead of the more capable Umi; season 1 showed us a Honoka that wasn’t exactly a straight A student, but I guess it’s her personality that won them over and what makes her a great leader.

Ep 1 wastes no time setting up the plot for the season, another Love Live contest! Yes with the huge success of A-RISE winning the last one, why not have another one, but this time make it bigger and better than ever! However as the rest of the girls are already planning how they want to proceed, Honoka startles them with a shocking statement of not wanting to participate in Love Live. Another thing I didn’t see coming. Not wanting to pass up this one in a lifetime chance, the girls try their hardest to convince Honoka to rethink her choice and enter Love Live. Back at home Honoka’s sister Yukiho talks it over with her, bringing out a few points that got Honoka thinking about why everyone was so adiment about entering Love Live. Nico even goes as far to challenge Honoka to a race the next day, wagering they if she can beat Honoka then they enter, but if Honoka wins then they don’t enter. Even though Nico was clearly cheating, jumping the gun like that, she ended up tripping and falling, giving Honoka the chance to win, but that’s not how Honoka plays. Stopping she helps her friend up and realizes why she was trying so hard to win. Turns out the contest conflicts with the graduation of the three 3rd years in the group, Ericchi, Nozomi and Nico, meaning this would be their only time to participate in this contest. After a rousing discussion, Honoka decides that they’re not just going to enter Love Live, but win it!

Overall I just loved this ep, it was by far the best season opener I’ve seen and it just got me right back into this anime all over again. It was so great seeing everyone back together again and it felt like they never missed a beat, season 1 blending so well with this that the transition was so smooth and it all flowed perfectly. So now some screen-caps from the ep.


Your new student council president!
Your new student council president!
Umi laying down the harsh reality for Honoka.
Umi laying down the harsh reality for Honoka.
Realizing things aren't all fun and games.
Realizing things aren’t all fun and games.
Nico is back!
Nico is back!
Yay! Maki is back too!
Yay! Maki is back too!

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_09.12_[2014.04.09_14.17.38] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_08.30_[2014.04.09_14.16.46]

Nico x Maki
Nico x Maki

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_10.59_[2014.04.09_14.20.37]

The gears are turning...
The gears are turning…

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_18.13_[2014.04.09_14.30.37]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_18.19_[2014.04.09_14.30.52]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_18.29_[2014.04.09_14.31.16]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_18.45_[2014.04.09_14.31.41]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 01 [954C4CE1].mkv_snapshot_20.36_[2014.04.09_14.33.58]

All the way to the top!
All the way to the top!

Bonus Maki pics!

Coming to a close I love the new OP for this season, it’s so awesome and the song is so catchy! I can’t wait for the full version to be out, I’m also looking forward to hearing the ED in the next ep too; I hope they have it like the first season where someone different sings the ED each time.

So overall ep 1 of Love Live season 2 was amazing to watch and I loved every moment of it; I’ve got high hopes for this as it continues and I’m sure it’s going to turn out great! Next week’s ep looks like a camping trip of some sort and I noticed a hot spring scene too, so that’s gonna be good. I’ll try to have the ep 2 review out sooner, but I’m not sure where I’ll be by Sunday, plus I’ve got other anime to review as well.

Hopefully you enjoyed this review and enjoyed ep 1 of this awesome anime! Up next I’ll probably have the Black Bullet review out then the No Game, No Life review probably by Friday or maybe late Thursday. Like I’ve said, I’ll try to have future reviews out sooner but this situation I’m in is making it quite hard to do things. Please stay with me though as I’ll still be putting these review out, just not as quickly as I’d like them to be. Still to air are Date A Live II and Knights of Sidonia, the two final anime I’ll be reviewing. And since I liked the first ep so much, I may also add Gokukoku no Brynhildr (Brynhildr in the Darkness) to my list of anime I’m reviewing, but I’m not sure yet.

That’s it for this review! Cya next time!

 

Hey, I’ve got this page you can recommend anime to me to watch at some point. Check it out!

I’m on Ask.fm if you’ve got some questions to ask me. You’ll have to make an account to ask though, this troll ruined it for everyone. Hate him for me okay?

Got Twitter? Wanna follow me? Please do!

-Nick

