The next anime on my list of spring series I’m reviewing is out, the action sci-fi anime Black Bullet.

Let’s jump in with the review.

Not even 90 seconds into this anime and shit is already going crazy. We have fighter jets screaming through the sky, a huge ass monster crashing though the walls, people being tossed like rag dolls, and explosions all around. Yeah, that’s how Black Bullet starts.

The premier ep of Black Bullet shows us a post-apocalyptic Tokyo that’s in the process of recovering from an outbreak of a deadly virus that spawns creatures known as the Gastrea. They’re big, ugly, gross and just something that gives you the knee jerk reaction of wanting to kill it instantly. Meet Rentaro Satomi, a teenager part of the Tendo Civil Security Agency who kill these monsters for a living. He’s a pretty serious guy with a strong personality and expert fighting skills; all in all he’s a pretty solid MC as of ep 1, I see no reason to dislike him. Imagine that on your resume, eh? He’s got a partner, an Initiator and cute loli, Enju Aihara who helps him fight the Gastrea using her special powers within her. Turns out she’s got part of the Gastrea virus in her that gives her the power to fight the Gastrea, thus coining the title of being one of the “Cursed Children”. Ep 1 also introduces us to Kisara Tendo, the leader of the Tendo Civil Security Agency; it’s note that she has deep feelings for Rentaro and I’m sure we’ll see some conflict between her and Enju in the coming eps.

Some points I liked about ep 1: the setting. I got instant Guilty Crown, Attack on Titan, Psycho-Pass and Unbreakable Machine Doll vibes from this anime (I don’t mean this in a bad way) as there are similarities to all four of those anime. First up Rentaro is voiced by Yuki Kaji who we all know as Shu Ouma from Guilty Crown and of course the one and only Eren Yeager from Attack on Titan. I mentioned Psycho-Pass because Rentaro is the Inspector like character and Enju is the Enforcer like character, so there is that similar relationship between those two characters. Enju also reminded me slightly of Yaya from Machine Doll, being the cute girl with kickass powers.

Another point I liked about Black Bullet was the art. The opening sequence had some nice looking explosions and the huge flying Gastrea looked very menacing as it trashed that safe zone. The characters all have a nice look to them, notably the stylish clothes worn by Rentaro and the nice black uniform Kisara was wearing too. I’d like to mention the sound too; the fighter jets sounded pretty awesome as they flew over the buildings during that opening part, and the Gastrea have that weird monster sound, giving them that extra layer of monsterness to them. The gun Rentaro has also makes a cool sound when fired; a high pitched whine that makes it seem like a very powerful weapon.

All in all I think ep 1 of Black Bullet was a pretty enjoyable experience. They set up the story pretty well and they give you a pretty good overview of the characters too. I hope they take some time in eps 2 and 3 to expand on the cast a bit more though before jumping in with the action and monster killing. I’d recommend this one to fans of action/sci-fi anime and to those who enjoyed Guilty Crown, Attack on Titan and Psycho-Pass.

Here are some screen-caps from the first ep! I’m back to using JPG’s too as PNG’s take too long to upload with this connection. I’ll return to using PNG’s at a later point. Sorry if that bother’s you a lot, but I’m doing what I can.


Time skip!
Time skip!
Meet our main man!
Meet our main man!
That epic gun action!
That epic gun action!
Yeah, no shit.
Yeah, no shit.
First order of business: kill this bastard.
First order of business: kill this bastard.
Our loli of the day, Enju Aihara.
Our loli of the day, Enju Aihara.
He's dead.
He’s dead.
Insert joke here.
Insert joke here.
Words of wisdom.
Words of wisdom.
I'm calling her the best girl.
I’m calling her the best girl.
[HorribleSubs] Black Bullet - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_11.25_[2014.04.10_14.59.59]
She’s voiced by the always amazing Yui Horie too!
She's got that awesome black hair!
She’s got that awesome black hair!
Ooh!
Ooh!
Nice~
Nice~
Love this banter between them!
Love this banter between them!

[HorribleSubs] Black Bullet - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_19.55_[2014.04.10_15.08.21]

[HorribleSubs] Black Bullet - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_19.58_[2014.04.10_15.08.33] [HorribleSubs] Black Bullet - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_20.17_[2014.04.10_15.09.02]

Cute loli action!
Cute loli action!
Hmm?
Hmm?

[HorribleSubs] Black Bullet - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_21.25_[2014.04.10_15.11.12]


 

So ep 1 was a pretty good start to what looks to be an enjoyable anime. If you’re not watching it then I recommend you give it a shot, if you like lolis then be sure to give it a shot too. I think I’m going to like this one a lot, but we’ll see how it goes in the coming eps! Thanks for taking the time to read this review and I hope you liked it! Cya next week!

Up next I’ll have a look at ep 1 of No Game, No Life and be sure to come back to my first look at Knights of Sidonia and the highly anticipated action/battle/harem anime of the season: Date A Live II.

 

I’ve got a recommendations page if you’ve got an anime you think I might enjoy. Be sure to check it out!

I’m on Ask.fm if you want to ask me questions about nearly anything. You’ll have to sign up though before you start asking, some troll ruined what I had made for this blog.

I’d love to make it to 100 followers on Twitter, maybe you’ll be the one to help me reach that milestone!

-Nick

 

