So as I’m reviewing only 6 anime out of the massive line up of airing shows, I’ve decided to make this post to mention a few other anime I’m watching and really enjoying. I’ll also score them up using the ratings I’ve given them on MAL.

Captain Earth

2053932_original

I decided to give this anime a shot about a week ago, and I was pretty impressed by it. It’s a mech anime by the studio Bones and what strikes me the most about this is the presentation of it. It looks fabulous and the art is really amazing, I wasn’t expecting that at all, but it’s just another small thing the makes this anime pretty enjoyable. The story is pretty good so far, but it being a 25 ep anime I expect the development to take a while before things start shaping up. All in all it surprised me as I wasn’t expecting it to be that good, but I had a fun time watching it; lots of things are brought up in the first ep and I’ve got a feeling there are going to be some epic battles along the way too. I’m giving it a 7/10 after ep 1 so far and I hope it continues to impress me.

Isshuukan Friends/One Week Friends

42806989

This one looks like the feels anime of the season. It’s charming, enjoyable to watch and is a character driven anime. The plot follows a girl who loses her memories every week and thus is having a very hard time trying to make friends with people, as she’d only forget them. Yuuki Hase is determined to not let this get in his way of being friends with her, so he’s willing to keep trying to be her friend, week after week. The art is very soft and adds to the overall feel of the anime and the OST is calm and emotional. I’ve got a feeling as this continues the feels will start coming on, but I don’t really mind. For an anime to get me all emotional it’s gotta be the likes of AnoHana or Angel Beats. While I highly doubt this will roll the feels in like those two powerhouse series, I’d like to be moved by this anime if possible. As of ep 1, I’m giving it a 7/10 as well.

Gokukoku no Brynhildr/Brynhildr in the Darkness

891446_original

There’s something dark and mysterious about this anime, but it’s got me hooked and I’m eager to unravel the mystery. Ep 1 sets the tone with a story of Ryouta Murakami who’s childhood friend, a girl he knew only as Kuroneko dies one day; years later though a transfer student joins his class and bears a shockingly similar resemblance to his long dead friend, her name being Kuroha Neko.  While Kuroha denies being his lost friend, Ryouta can’t shake the feeling that something about her seems off. After ep 1 I’m excited to see how this story will unfold as it’s vibes are really intriguing and have definitely sparked my interest. So far I’m giving it an 8/10, this one looks promising.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?/Is the Order a Rabbit

Gochuumon.wa.Usagi.Desu.ka..full.1687998

If you loved the 2013 summer season anime Kiniro Mosaic, then by all means you need to watch this one. Ep 1 is wave after wave of cuteness and this anime will fully satisfy your loli needs and then some. While it’s a pretty standard slice of life anime, it’s still worth a shot as it’s so calm and enjoyable to watch that it you can easily watch it without having to worry about getting your head around some complex plot and confusing things. Plus the OST is charming and very enjoyable, as it’s by Ruka Kawada, who did the OST for Kiniro Mosaic also. All in all it’s just a cute anime to watch and one that you’re bound to love it. It’s got an 8/10 so far, this one’s gonna be good to watch.

Akuma no Riddle/Riddle Story of Devil

akuma_no_riddle_ggh1

Another dark and serious anime, Akuma no Riddle is the tale of assassins and yuri. Haha, got your attention now? We follow the cold and heartless Tokaku Azuma as she’s sent on a mission to kill fellow classmate Haru Ichinose; but after the two are rooming together in the same dorm, Azuma starts to develop feelings to Haru, making her seemingly easy job a lot harder. It’s got Mirai Nikki and Danganronpa vibes as it’s set in a school environment and involves students killing each other, there’s just that added bonus of yuri too. If you enjoyed either of those anime, then this should be something to check out, plus it’s got yuri too. After ep 1, Akuma no Riddle currently holds a 6/10.

Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin/Nanana’s Buried Treasure

ryuugajou-nanana-no-maizoukin-0105

The opening 50 seconds of this anime are something straight out of an Indiana Jones movie, just swap out our timeless adventure hero Indy for three high school girls and you’ve got something pretty awesome. Honestly I was skeptical about this anime, and not because of the fact that the main girl is actually a ghost (spoiler alert, she’s a ghost), but because the synopsis I read made it sound pretty average and something I should pass up. Thankfully I didn’t and ep 1 was another surprise. A-1 Pictures is at the helm of this one (I like A-1) and they’ve made this anime look very pretty. The setting is quite spectacular and the general art for the characters is very nice too. I’d like to see more Indy Jones moments in this anime about searching for lost treasure, but we’ll have to wait and see. After ep 1 I’m holding this one at an 8/10.

Selector Infected WIXOSS

selector-infected-wixoss-001

Honestly this one wasn’t even on my radar until I saw it being mentioned on Twitter and it sounded pretty good. Now I’ve never seen any card game anime before, so this is quite new to me, but after ep 1 it’s definitely sparked my interest. What came to my mind first was how similar this is to Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, and being that I really liked Madoka★Magica, I think I’ll enjoy this anime a lot too. Right off the start it’s got an eerie feeling and has dark mysterious vibes running though it. I found it rather chilling as this lonely high school girl Ruko Kominato is quickly being sucked into this dark world of card games, but the more I watch it, the more I’m also being sucked into this anime. I’ve got a feeling this anime has the potential to be something very good in the long run, but only time will tell. After ep 1 I’m enjoying this one a lot and I’m giving it an 8/10.


So there you have it, a quick overview of all the other anime I’m watching from this spring season. Being that the season is just starting, maybe you’ve seen some anime I haven’t and like to recommend them for me to try out. I’m always looking for something new and exciting to watch and this is a great time to try new anime out. Drop me a comment here or on the recommendations page if you’ve got something you think I might like.

 

I got an Ask.fm account specifically for this blog! Feel free to ask me questions about anime, writing or some other general stuff. You’ll have to make an account though as some troll has forced me to disable anonymous comments.

I’m always tweeting fun stuff on Twitter. Why don’t you join me there too?

-Nick

