The 4th anime I’m reviewing this spring season has started: No Game, No Life. Ep 1 was a fun filled ride into a virtual world of games cute girls and more games.

Here’s my review.

Brother and sister duo Sora and Shiro are the best of the best gamers. Between them they control 4 characters in a game and have become unbeatable, taking down anyone who challenges them. But one day that all changes when they’re pulled into another world where games decide everything. Being at the top of their game, Sora and Shiro see this new found world much to their liking and as their unmatched skill could land them at the very top, with seemingly no one to stand in their way. Or so they thought.

From the opening few minutes of this anime I’m already impressed by the visual appeal of the anime. It’s bright, colorful, vivid and dazzling! Hats off to Madhouse for making such a gorgeous looking anime, this one will be a treat to watch on Blu-Ray later. Aside from the overall look of the anime, the characters also looked pretty neat too, and I liked their designs a lot. I’m looking forward to when more of the cast is introduced in the coming eps.

Story wise I’m liking how it’s going so far; it’s got slight Sword Art Online vibes with people being pulled from the real world and thrust into a game to battle things out, but unlike SAO all the battles are decided with games. I like the main two characters so far, Shiro and Sora, they’re both funny and easy going, until they start playing a game, then we see their serious side. Other characters introduced in the first ep include Stephanie Dola, the granddaughter of the late king. We meet her in the middle of (losing) a card game to see who will become the next king. The girl she’s playing against, known so far as Kurami, seems to have some skill and will probably pose a threat to Sora and Shiro in the coming eps. As seen in the OP there are many more characters and I’m sure we’ll meet more of then in ep 2 and onwards.

Overall I jumped into this anime only seeing a PV before hand and I’m enjoying it a lot already. It’s not a super in-depth plot heavy anime, as far as I can tell, so I don’t expect to be blown away by anything ground breaking, but I’m looking forward to seeing how these games will play out. I expect more cute girls, lots of games and epic visually stunning sequences as this anime progresses. I’d recommend you pick this one up and check it out, it’s going well so far and I’ve got a feeling that it’s going to finish on a high note.

Let’s take a look at some screen-caps from ep 1. And yes I’m still using JPG’s. PNG’s will return soon.


Meet our man Sora
Meet our man Sora
Our cute loli Shiro
Our cute loli Shiro
Aww~
Aww~
Challenge accepted!
Challenge accepted!
*dies*
*dies*
Ominous as ever.
Ominous as ever.

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_07.30_[2014.04.11_00.58.22]

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_09.15_[2014.04.11_01.51.55]

Nice looking landscape.
Nice looking landscape.
Nice place
Nice place
Meet Stephanie Dola
Meet Stephanie Dola

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_14.32_[2014.04.11_01.06.24]

The mysterious Karumi
The mysterious Karumi

 

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_18.20_[2014.04.11_01.13.10]

I gotta try this on someone.
I gotta try this on someone.

So after a fun filled ep 1 I’m liking No Game, No Life so far. It’s got a lot to like about it and it’s going to only get better as it continues. Totally check this one out as I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too!

Next week!

Thanks for reading this review, I hope you enjoyed it and I’ll cya next week for ep 2!

Up next I’ll have my review of the highly anticipated battle/action/harem anime: Date A Live II. And stay tuned for my look at the 3DCG epic space mech anime Knights of Sidonia.

 

My Recommendations page is for you to recommend anime that you think I might like to watch. Have a look!

I got an Ask.fm account specifically for this blog! Feel free to ask me questions about anime, writing or some other general stuff. You’ll have to make an account though as some troll has forced me to disable anonymous comments.

I’m always tweeting fun stuff on Twitter. Why don’t you join me there too?

-Nick

