This week’s round of No Game, No Life, we get some back story on Stephanie Dola, some rock-paper-scissors, learn about the world Sora and Shiro are in, and have more of the story unfold too.

Here’s my review!

Continuing where we left off last week, Steph has come to see Sora and Shiro late at night. We learn later that she’s wrapped in a blanket because she obviously lost that game she was playing in ep 1 and because of that she lost her pretty dress she was wearing. Not that I mind her being wrapped in just a blanket or anything…

So we open with a game of Extreme Rock-Paper-Scissors, Sora totally walking Steph into that one. I gotta say that guy knows his way with words, he can really talk people into things easily. I’m liking that this MC isn’t like our usual guys we see, Sora’s got the skills to make things happen. Anyways, Sora plays Steph in a game of Rock-Paper-Scissors, one which I had to watch a few times to get my head around the dialog there, and Steph obviously loses as she wasn’t able to figure out Sora’s ruse he was rolling with.

As you’ve gotta uphold your bet, Sora says that the favor he wants is for her to fall in love with him, and Steph falls in and out of some daze where she has strong feelings for him and where she’s her normal self. I thought this could’ve been explained maybe a bit better as I caught a bit more onto this during my second watch, but in the grand scheme of things it’s not a huge issue worth getting worked up about. So from there Sora and Shiro are off to the castle where we got a bath scene with Shiro and Steph (nice).

We later some back story about the world the anime is based in, including the different groups there and where Imanity lies in it all. I’m glad they had this as I was curious about the world and I’m sure as the anime continues there will be more details that are revealed. We also learn that Sora and Shiro always have to be in close proximity of each other as they stop functioning properly when they reach a certain distance apart. Kurami has been busy too, working her way up to being king; the interaction between her and Steph and the end really shows that Steph can’t keep her composure in tense situations and caves pretty easily, proving Sora’s words at the start of the ep correct.

All in all this ep builds on the plot and characters of the anime and gets the ball rolling, so to speak, as Sora and Shiro are going to be helping Steph clear her grandfather’s reputation of being foolish, but it looks like Sora has a plan of his own, becoming King in the world. I’m interested to see how this all plays out (pun intended) and I’ll eagerly await next week’s ep.

Let’s take a look at some screens from the ep now.


 

Nice bath scene
Nice bath scene

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 02 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_12.22_[2014.04.17_01.11.39]

I'm sure we all do
I’m sure we all do
Looking sharp!
Looking sharp!
Head banging has a bloody price
Head banging has a bloody price
The Savior has arrived!
The Savior has arrived!
Hmm?
Hmm?
Hmm?
Hmm?

So there you have it, a bit shorter of a review this time of ep 2 of No Game, No Life. I’m liking where this anime is going so far, it’s fun to watch and I’m enjoyed it quite a bit.  What about you, how are you enjoying this anime? (considering you’re watching it)

So next Wednesday we can look forward to this:

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 02 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_23.41_[2014.04.17_01.25.37]

Up next I’ll have a review for the 3DCG action space mech anime Knights of Sidonia (at least I’m sure that’s what’s next), but I’m sure you’ll be either here way.

Also keep this in mind too:

Cya next time~

 

Bonus Pic!

Lovely art here of the main girl, Shiro. Be sure to click for the full size!
Lovely art here of the main girl, Shiro. Be sure to click for the full size!

Courtesy of Pixiv

 

My Recommendations page is there for you to tell me about great anime I might not have seen yet. Who knows, maybe I’ll even review it too!

Ask.fm is now back to being open to all! I’ve removed the “members only” thing in hopes that no more trolls with spam me; I’m putting trust in you guys that you can behave like mature people and not fuck around with this, okay? It’s there for you to ask me questions, nothing super personal or generally stupid, but it’s mainly to just have some fun with. So lets try this out and see how it goes, okay? Thanks

I’m also on Twitter @SkyCorps is you’d like to follow me.

-Nick

