Following up last week’s lackluster season opener, Date A Live II continues with the introduction of two more new characters, the Yamai girls: Kaguya and Yuzuru

Also, Tohka was kinda acting a bit more like herself, Kurumi wasn’t even in this ep *cries*, and that bath scene was way too long.

Here’s my review.

 

Honestly I wasn’t happy with this ep either and from the preview for ep 3, I’m not sure if that’s going to make my feelings towards this anime change. So this time around the school field trip that Shido mentioned in ep 1 (although I remember him calling it a camping trip… or maybe I’m mistaken) and the gang set off of their adventure. First up, those antics at the starting about sleeping in the same room with Shido, yeah that was more the Date A Live I expected, the classic Tohka/Origami battles. Said battle continued onto the plane as they make their way to the island. We also are aware that Ellen has become the photographer somewhere along the way and she’s taking pics of Tohka, who is kinda put off by this. I think you’re supposed to ask permission to talk someone’s picture before snapping one, at least that’s kinda what I think about that.

So they land on the island and Tohka and Shido instantly run off from the group. Seriously, what are they, high school students now? Geez every time I went on a field trip when I was a kid, among the first things they always told us was to stay with the group so you don’t get fucking lost. Or in Tohka and Shido’s case, run into a freak storm and get knocked the fuck out by fucking flying garbage cans. Seriously Tohka, don’t make me embarrassed to say that I like you by doing stupid shit.

Anyways here’s where Kaguya and Yuzuru make their entrance and literally hit the ground already in an argument. So I don’t know much about these two as I haven’t read the light novels, but from what was explained they used to be one person but somehow along the way became two people and now they have to battle to see which side will be the better half. Or something like that. Carrying on now, my first impressions of these two girls are pretty mixed. For starters they look nice and I like that about them, but the sudden let’s-battle-to-see-which-one-of-us-Shido-likes-the-most was kinda… hmm…. meh. It felt like they just jumped into that and never really explained much else about their eternal battle. Anyone who’s read the light novel, without spoiling it for me, is there more to elaborate about when we first meet these two girls?

Watching some riveting drama on TV.
Watching some riveting drama on TV. Probably HBO or something.

What’s more is that their fight to seduce Shido sorta became the rest of the ep there and I was starting to wonder when something else was going to happen. A moment to tell where I’ve become bored to death with an anime ep is when I stop paying attention to reading the subs and start spinning around in my seat waiting for it to end. This ep made me do that. Honestly I’ve seen that scene where two girls fight over a guy for half an ep before, and guess what, it wasn’t actually funny the first time. This felt like they ran out of things to do in this ep and just wanted to show boat the sex appeal of these two girls by putting them in a bath with Shido and have them try to win him over. Wow that sentence sounds weird, but whatever. Seeing Tohka run and jump into the bath with them was kind of a relief, seeing as something new might start to happen. She’s was able to evac Shido (push him off the cliff into the ocean below) to save him from hell, but even that felt like it was overused. Can’t an MC ever get himself out of a bad situation? Seriously while Kaguya and Yuzuru were arguing, Shido could’ve just slipped under the water, swam away, climbed out and leave and they’d probably never notice. But no, he stayed and sat there watched with some retarded look on his face wondering why they were so worked up. Geez, fuck you man.

I can’t really think of any “good” parts of this ep, maybe Yoshino watching TV, but honestly Date A Live II is killing me with this bullshit every ep. What the hell went wrong? I really enjoyed season 1 but this is just painful to watch and I had such a hard time going back to rewatch this to collect screen shots for this review. Out of all the spring anime I’m watching now, this one has the highest chance of being dropped first. I’m extremely disappointed with how this is playing out so far and I just wish they’d get back into the action or Kurumi killing random people or just anything that’s not what’s currently happening. From the preview, ep 3 looks like the beach ep, and for once I’m not that excited for the beach ep. I’ve seen Tohka in a swimsuit in season 1 so unless she’s got something new I’m guessing that ep is going to be a bunch of ecchi/harem/fanservice shit that I can live without.

Fuck it.

Rant over.

I’m done.

Look at these pics and I’ll meet you at the end.


 

The bath scene was way, way too long
The bath scene was way, way too long
Yeah
Yeah

[FFF] DATE A LIVE II - 02 [5454BAD6].mkv_snapshot_17.54_[2014.04.20_21.56.35]

Suddenly a wild Tohka appears
Suddenly a wild Tohka appears
Nice!
Tohka’s got a nice body.
More nice!
More nice!
Cya Shido!
Cya Shido!
Breaking into your teachers room, wrapped in a towel... really?
Breaking into your teachers room, wrapped in a towel… really?
Not giving a fuck
Not giving a fuck
This was me at the half way point.
This was me at the half way point.

I just don’t know what to say or think about this anime; it’s disappointed me two times in a row and ep 3, judging from the preview, looks like I may be going three and out with this one. It’s sad too as I really wanted this one to be awesome, but it’s totally lost it’s feeling from season 1. It’s all standard harem shit with fanservice. I don’t like ecchi harem anime to begin with but I enjoyed season 1 of this, but this is exactly the shit I don’t want to spend 24 minutes of my life watching. Maybe if you’re into this type stuff yeah great, but I’m not and this is just frustrating me very much. At ep 2 I’m seriously considering dropping it but just because I for some reason or another feel obligated to do so, I’ll go one more ep before making the final call.

Ugh… I’m so done with this review. I’ll cya guys next time for the totally awesome Love Live! School Idol Project Season 2 ep 3 review, where I’ll fanboy through the whole review. I’ll be back next Sunday for ep 3 of Date A Live II as we’ll be dealing with this:

[FFF] DATE A LIVE II - 02 [5454BAD6].mkv_snapshot_23.39_[2014.04.20_22.00.22]

 

Bonus pic!

Click for massive full size!!
Click for massive full size!!

Pic courtesy of Pixiv

If you know an anime I might enjoy, tell me on the Recommendations page!

My Ask.fm account is back up and open for everyone! Stop by and ask me a question today!

Join me on Twitter to hear me rant and rave about shit.

-Nick

