[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_10.51_[2014.04.20_14.35.13]

Oh, ho! Tatsuya is really making a name for himself at First High.

We get some good stuff this week!

Here’s my review!

Obviously we have to start where we left off last week: Tatsuya vs. Hanzou fight with Hanzou getting his ass handed to him. Yeah that guy talks big but he was a rookie compered to the pro skills of Tatsuya. Suzune, Mayumi, and Mari are left speechless as the try to ponder over what they just saw, as I’m sure anyone would. We get some more details about Tatsuya’s power level here, but I’ve got a feeling we’ve only just scratched the surface with him. His ninjutsu skills, courtesy of Yakumo Kokonoe, really play a central part in this ep, as not only did he use them on Hanzou, but during the fight in the gym at the end. I’m sure ep 4 will start us off back there for the conclusion of the fight, because I’d love to see more of his awesome fighting skills.

I thought the whole explanation about Tatsuya’s powers was pretty decent, very detailed and technical, but it seemed to bring across the point that he’s just a supercharged guy you don’t want to get into a fight with. I’m fine with a main character being powerful, I know it can be annoying to some, thinking it’s plot armor, but why can’t a (the) main character be strong? It’s better than some weakling MC who runs at the sight of danger or just gets his ass kicked over and over again. I’m sure Tatsuya will fight someone more on his level at some point, that guy in the red we see in the OP probably being that someone. Just a side point here, but speaking of powerful main characters, I can’t help but think of one of my favorites, Tsubasa Kazanari from Symphogear. Seriously in season 2 there were moments where I was at a loss of words at what she was doing. Her powers are just insane, especially One Thousands Tears, Fiery Windblades and Early Silhouette. Plus the names of those attacks just sound so epic too! She just had to exist and she was badass, so powerful main characters aren’t something to get all annoyed about. If it’s at the point where the MC just one hit kills everything, then yeah it’s not cool anymore.

So as for other events in this ep, Tatsuya has officially joined the Disciplinary Committee, being the only Course 2 student among the Course 1 guys, but even though he might not be as “skilled” in their eyes, I think it’s pretty obvious here that Tatsuya is more than qualified to be on the committee. Also, surprise, surprise, Shun Morisaki (that guy from the school yard fight) is also on the Disciplinary Committee too; he’s still a hardass about having a Course 2 student on the committee, and still thinks of himself as high and mighty. Man I hope that son of a bitch gets his fucking ass dropped like those other guys at some point, he could use it. Also, Mari Watanabe had more of a central role in this ep too, and as also find out she her a younger brother also on the force, although she’s pretty embarrassed about him calling her “Big Sis”. She also voiced her opinion about the whole “Weed/Bloom” thing and how she’s not liking how deep the rift between the two ranks is. I can understand what she means with the likes of Morisaki running around and such, so I’m guessing she’s going to push for both parties to be on equal ground and not have this discrimination between them.

Of course I couldn’t finish this review without mentioning that scene in with Tatsuya and Miyuki. Yeah my face during that part. Anyways that got me sitting up in my seat as I wasn’t really sure what was going to happen. Usually, in anime, when a girl walks into a room usually wrapped in a house coat, only a few things happen (or nothing at all), but from the moment she entered the room I was already on edge waiting for something big to happen. When Miyuki mentioned she just wanted her CAD upgraded or whatever, I kinda sat back in my seat, thinking this was it, then she dropped her house coat and yeah, that was a sight I enjoyed. I just want that Tatsuya x Miyuki pairing, that’s pretty much what this all boils down to. They’re seem so perfect for each other, but anyways yeah that was a pretty enjoyable scene.

I'd like to thank Divine from Randomc.net for granting me permission use this pic, and to Stilits who wrote excellent the review in which this pic is taken from. Thank you very much guys.
I’d like to thank Divine from Randomc.net for granting me permission use this pic, and to Stilits who wrote excellent the review in which this pic is taken from. Thank you very much guys.

I hope that in future eps we get more personal moments with those two as Miyuki clearly wasn’t too thrilled about her brother spending so much time with other girls when she’s there for him, always looking so beautiful. On the flip side, that scene also showed off yet another power of Tatsuya’s, his save point feature. While that was pretty cool, I’m starting to wonder if this guy is even human or if he’s some advanced cyborg or something. Also, I’m pretty sure that was the first time seeing Miyuki using her powers on a larger scale; ep 1 where she starts freezing the counter top doesn’t really count.

Another shout-out to Stilits from Randomc.net. Be sure to check out his review of this ep too!
Another shout-out to Stilts  from Randomc.net. Thanks for granting me permission to use this pic! Be sure to check out his review of this ep too!

 

So looking back on this ep, I really enjoyed it a lot. It had some awesome fight scenes, progress on the wincest front, and Tatsuya just being a badass.

Let’s take a look at some pics from the ep now.


 

 

Being recruited for a club this much
Being recruited for a club this much
Then it just turns to groping.
Then it just turns to groping.
Not on his watch
Not on his watch
Everyone looking stunned as that dude goes down
Everyone looking stunned as that dude goes down
Hey! His expression actually changed
Hey! His expression actually changed
Another thank you to Randomc.net for letting me use this pic. Be sure to check out Stilts review of this ep too as it's where the pic came from.
Another thank you to Randomc.net for letting me use this pic. Be sure to check out Stilts review of this ep too as it’s where the pic came from.

 

An embarrassed Erika is pretty cute~!
An embarrassed Erika is pretty cute~!
What was there to really see? She was still wearing something, it was just some cleavage that we all saw. And liked too.
What was there to really see? She was still wearing something, it was just some cleavage that we all saw. And liked too.
HE ACTUALLY ACKNOWLEDGES THAT HE MADE A MISTAKE AND SAYS SORRY. WHEN DID THAT LAST HAPPEN IN ANIME?
HE ACTUALLY ACKNOWLEDGES THAT HE MADE A MISTAKE AND SAYS SORRY. WHEN DID THAT LAST HAPPEN IN ANIME?
Then Erika kicks him in the shins, but that has no effect on him. Seriously, this guy isn't human.
Then Erika kicks him in the shins, but that has no effect on him. Seriously, this guy isn’t human.

 

 


 

So there you have it! Ep 3 of Mahouka was a great ep that I enjoyed so much! I’m looking forward to ep 4 as this battle will probably continue into next time and hopefully we’ll have another Tatsuya x Miyuki moment too. #WincestRevolutionary

Until then I’ll cya in the next review, that being for ep 2 of Date A Live II. Spoiler alert: I’m raging in that review so be warned of bad language.

[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_23.37_[2014.04.20_15.33.07]

 

Bonus Pic!

Lovely pic of Tatsuya and Miyuki here. Click for full size!
Lovely pic of Tatsuya and Miyuki here. Click for full size!

Pic courtesy of Pixiv (lol the title!)

 

If you have an anime that you think I might like, drop me a comment on my Recommendations page!

Ask.fm is back and open to everyone! Why not stop by and ask me a question?

I’d love to see you as a follower on Twitter!

-Nick

