Wow what an amazing ep! I totally loved this one as we get to see all the hard work of the girls pay off as they duke it out in the preliminaries against the reigning champions, A-RISE.

Also, Maki looked so pretty!!

Here’s my review!

Things are moving along quickly for the girls and it’s finally come time to perform for the preliminaries! There are a few new rules added though, one being that they don’t have to perform in a standard concert hall, but they have a choice of using a new stage this time. If they chose the right one too, their performance will be broadcast to the entire country! Wow talk about putting on a show for the country eh? However though, it’s not going to be easy to find a new stage as they’ve already performed all around their school; on the rooftop, at the front gate, in the auditorium, and on the field, and Umi isn’t up for preforming right in the heart of Akiba as it’s A-RISE’s home turf, meaning it’d be like a direct challenge to them. Makes me wonder about in season 1 though as they preformed at the cafe where Kotori worked, wasn’t that also in Akiba?

Anyways while they’re down looking around the city, they stop by UTX, the home of A-RISE. There on the huge video board they’re playing an A-RISE announcement saying they’ve got a brand new song they’ll be singing for the upcoming performance, that really got the crowd pumped as their other hit song “Private Wars” is actually pretty decent. But as the girls are standing the watching the video board, a person walks up to Honoka, that person being the leader of A-RISE, Kira Tsubasa. Honoka was totally shocked by this (as I’m sure anyone would be) but before she has a chance to say anything, Kira whisks her away so the two of them can talk. But Hanayo and Nico (being huge fans of A-RISE) tag along to get an autograph.

The following scene is the first time we really get a good look inside UTX and wow it’s a nice place. I really like the white uniforms the girls have although I noticed that the black detailing on the blazer collar and cuffs of Kira’s uniform seemed to be a bit inconsistent scene to scene. It started out as a thick bold black detailing, but in another frame it was only a thin line. Not that it’s a huge issue, but I’ll sometimes notice continuity errors like that when watching stuff. It can be pretty obvious sometimes, but usually they’re subtle details not many would notice. Anyways, so their uniforms are really nice. I haven’t seen that many anime where the girls uniform boasts a lot of white like that, I actually really like that style, it looks very neat.

Down to business now, obviously Kira didn’t invite Honoka and co in for a friendly chat, although it started off like that, but it was more of a meet your challenger talk. Kira was obviously in full command of that conversation, her two friends and other A-RISE members Erina Toudou and Anju Yuuki, chiming in with side points when needed. Okay one thing that did bother me, Erina’s voice sounds way too deep, in my eyes it does not match her at all. I’m not sure what I envisioned she would sound like, but I wasn’t expecting that. What about you, was that something you noticed? Anju’s voice matched her fine, no problem there, same with Kira’s voice, but Erina… yeah that’s something I’ll have to get used to next time she’s in a scene.

Continuing on here, after stating that A-RISE would be giving it their all and not losing this contest, Honoka is a bit rattles by this, remembering that their still rivals competing for the same prize. I liked that part when all the girls in  μ’s stood up to face Kira and co before they left, Honoka being the leader she is, saying they’d also give it 110% and not lose either. Surprise, surprise, Kira also mentions that if they need a stage to use, they’re more than welcome to use their rooftop stage, something Honoka instantly agrees with.

So the day comes, it’s time for the performance. All the girls are looking so pretty in their white and blue dresses with the flowers in their hair. They’d finally face A-RISE for the first time. Being the home team here, A-RISE goes first and wows the crowd with their new sparkling song. I’ve gotta admit, they’re pretty damn good at what they do. I liked their song a lot, it was really upbeat, catchy and something that could easily get a crowd to their feet and moving. Also DAT BASS! Holy shit their song had some serious bass. Maybe it’s just the settings I’ve got for my audio on my laptop, but damn their song was rumbling my ear with bass.

A-RISE finishes their performance leaving the μ’s girls standing clapping and looking pretty blown away by seeing them perform live for the first time. Although they all know it’s a long shot to actually beat them, at their own school, but Honoka leads them in a motivational pep talk and readies the group to take the stage. With classmates there to support them, μ’s takes their place and begin the show. Wow I must say, I really liked their performance a lot. It was the first one of this season so it was pretty special and they pulled it all perfectly. I was nervous that something bad might happen, maybe someone would fall or mess up, but no, all that hard training led by Umi really showed and they all did a fantastic job. Even Kira looked pretty impressed, something which I’m sure is hard to do when she’s already at the top looking down at everyone.

So this ep finishes on a very high note with Honoka and co coming out of that performance with smiles at seeing everything come together so well. I’d have started cheering had it not been so late when I was watching this, but yeah my face when it had ended, I was all smiles. For three straight weeks Love Live has delivered and holds the top spot as my favorite anime this season. My hopes coming into season 2 were very high as I was hoping to be totally amazed, and you know what, I was. This is the Love Live I want to see, something that wows me and makes watching it so fun and enjoyable. I get this good feeling when thinking about this anime and I’m so pleased that it’s surpassing my expectations and being something that I can always eagerly await each Sunday.

Alright I’ve talked long enough, let’s look at some screen shots here.


[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_06.11_[2014.04.21_12.59.42]

Maki blushing is too cute~!
Maki blushing is too cute~!
Tsundere to the end
Tsundere to the end
After the fun in the broadcast room...
After the fun in the broadcast room…

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_08.54_[2014.04.21_13.02.57] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_09.19_[2014.04.21_13.03.34]

Umi's not having any of that
Umi’s not having any of that

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_09.36_[2014.04.21_13.04.04]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_16.02_[2014.04.21_13.15.57] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_16.10_[2014.04.21_13.16.15]

Ericchi looking good!
Ericchi looking good!
Maki looks so pretty!!
Maki looks so pretty!!

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_19.05_[2014.04.21_13.21.10] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 03 [079896E4].mkv_snapshot_19.09_[2014.04.21_13.21.31]

Honoka motivating the group
Honoka motivating the group
Yay! They made it!
Yay! They made it!

So there you have it, another amazing ep of Love Live. I enjoyed this one so much and I can’t wait for next ep! If you’re watching this anime too, how are you enjoying it? Living up to your expectations? Sound off in the comments if you want.

So that’s it for this week’s ep, I’ll cya next Monday for more Love Live fun!


Umi is in the ending now
Umi is in the ending now
Hmm, this looks interesting
Hmm, this looks interesting

Bonus pics!

Another amazing pic here featuring Honoka, Umi and Kotori. Click for full 1920x1080 size! Your next wallpaper awaits!
Another amazing pic here featuring Honoka, Umi and Kotori. Click for full 1920×1080 size! Your next wallpaper awaits!

Pic courtesy of Pixiv!

A very fitting pic of the A-RISE girls: Erina, Kira, Anju. Click for full size!
A very fitting pic of the A-RISE girls: Erina, Kira, Anju. Click for full size!

Pic courtesy of Pixiv!

Got an anime you think I might like? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point!

Ask.fm is always there for you to ask me questions about stuff. Try it out!

Hey, hey! Do you have Twitter? I do! Why not follow me then?

-Nick

