No Game, No Life is back for another awesome ep. I think this one might be the best ep yet too!

Here’s my review!

Sora/Shiro vs. Kurami in the most awesome game of chess I’ve ever seen! So this ep picks up where last weeks ep leaves us with Sora, Shiro and Steph on their way to challenge Kurami who is about to be crowned the new King of the land. In a classic “speak now or forever hold your peace” moment, Sora and gang crash the crowning calling out Kurami that she’s working with the Elves and challenges her straight up to a game. You know, for someone who has a “communication disorder” as it says in ep 1, Sora can really hold himself in a conversation and really do things. I’m impressed with him as he’s got a lot more social talent than it leads us into believing. His observational skills are also very good too as he can survey the board and make calls according to what’s happening. He can read his opponent very well, I think that’s what I’m trying to say.

So Kurami has the game and location set and picks up Sora, Shiro and Steph in her chariot to take them to the venue. En-route Kurami talks about how she’s actually trying to do the right thing here, saying that the only way to ensure protection for the land is to have another stronger group protect them, thus teaming up with them. While it may be a good idea on paper, Sora is harder to convince and doesn’t play into Kurami’s words. Steph on the other hard is quite the airhead actually, she’s way too trusting and just goes with the first offer that comes up, I can’t imagine what she’d be like ruling an entire kingdom.

Arriving at the location, we find out the game Kurami’s chosen is chess and we all know that Shiro is a master at chess. This should be a walk in the park for her. But it’s not exactly normal chess. The players stand up on a balcony and call out the moves, then the pieces move on their own. Interesting, I wonder what trickery Kurami has planned. So the game begins and Shiro is doing well, until things heat up. You’d think she’d be able to keep a cool head under pressure and stay calm, but remember, this isn’t normal chess. The pieces have a life of their own pretty much and won’t move into a position that would willingly get them killed. This trips up Shiro as her plan to sacrifice some pieces now isn’t working. It’s all part of Kurami’s plan.

Having been watching for the whole time, Sora now jumps in and saves his cute little sister, calling the troops to action with some rousing words of wisdom. Haha Steph and Kurami’s reaction during that part! From there it’s balls to the wall excitement as the pieces go all out fighting each other. Kurami isn’t ready to go down yet and plays another move, brainwashing Sora’s pieces and taking them over. With troops and options running out, Sora make a ballsy move and jumps into the action to save his king from being executed by the sword of the enemy queen. In a series of crazy events Sora’s bold moves strengthens the troops and now filled with motivation they prepare to face Kurami in the final push.

I loved this ep so much actually, it’s gotta be my favorite so far in this anime. The story is also picking up more too, as we’re introduced to the Elves and we find out they’re the most powerful group there with their magic. I’m sure it’s not the last we’ve seen of them or the girl helping Kurami along the way either. I’ve gotta admit, I wasn’t as into this anime as I was hoping, but after this ep I’m really getting into it a lot more. Still though one of my main complaints is that due to the very colorful and bright art style, it comes across as grainy when watching it. This is totally one of those anime worth going back to rewatch on Blu-Ray because it’ll have that crispness to it and be an overall better viewing experience. I noticed that with Valvrave too, being as there were brightly colored explosions, pink and green jets from the mechs and pretty much any space battle had that grainy-ness to it. But overall that’s just a small thing that’s not really worth getting all amped up about.

So that’s it for this bit of the review, let’s take a look at some screen shots from the ep.


[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_04.32_[2014.04.23_20.58.51] [HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_06.00_[2014.04.23_21.00.33]

Haha this part!
Haha this part!

Alright then, I hope you enjoyed this ep and review too! Up next I’ll have the long overdue review for ep 2 of the 3DCG space mech anime: Knights of Sidonia. Until then, cya later!

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_23.41_[2014.04.23_22.57.45]


 

 Bonus Pic!

 

Click for full size!
Click for full size!

Pic courtesy of Pixiv

I try to catch most of my mistakes during the editing process, but I might not get them all. If you notice a spelling or grammatical error, please let me know so I can fix it. I’m always aiming to make my writing better and with your help I’ll be able to accomplish that. Thanks!

If you have an anime I might like, let me know on my Recommendations page!

Back to being members only, Ask.fm is there is you’d like to make an account to ask me question. I’ve got a pretty good idea who the troll is, but I won’t name names at this point. I know at some point I might call him out on it, but I’ll need a bit more info before I can make that claim that it’s actually him. So for now if you’d like to ask me a question, you’ll have to sign up first. Sorry about the inconvenience once again.

I’ve got that new profile look on Twitter. Check it out and follow me too!

-Nick

