[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_03.17_[2014.04.26_00.42.34]

Back again with another Knights of Sidonia review!

This time we see an elite team facing off against the deadly Gauna. It’s a 4 on 1 battle, but who will come out alive?

Here’s my review.

Last ep we had lots happen. The conclusion between the first battle against the Gauna, the death of Yamano, and Nagate having trouble with PTSD too. We were also introduced to the top team of pilots on Sidonia and a pretty interesting girl named Yuhata Midorikawa. I suggested that maybe the elite team was there to ask Nagate to join them, but looks like I was wrong, they were just there to congratulate him for fighting the Gauna in close quarters combat and actually surviving, not many people do that.

Also in this ep we have some insight into Izana Shinatose and her, I mean… it’s feelings towards Nagate. For sake of not going overboard with jokes that some could find offensive, I’ll refer to Izana Shinatose as a girl, even though it was clearly stated Izana is genderless. Unless you really want me to lay into some jokes here, cause I’m down for that. Anyways, Izana is still pretty frustrated and annoyed that Nagate is showing interest towards an actual female student, Shizuka Hoshijiro, and is trying to put her feelings together about this matter.

So the Gravity Festival takes place in this ep, something which actually isn’t really explained too much, if at all. I’m guessing it’s got something to do with that great gravity disaster that happened a billion years ago and trillions of people died during that, but honestly I was hoping for some back story as to why this festival happens. Maybe I’m just being picky now, bringing up things like that, but really it wasn’t explained aside form that poster seen in ep 2 and suddenly it’s happening in the next ep.

Anyways, there now in a competition that takes place at this festival, something else that wasn’t explained too much aside from a conversation heard in ep 2, and I’m guessing this is some big show to see which of the pilots are the best. Obviously pitting a full pilot against a trainee is pretty much no match, that one douche bag guy Norio Kunato is hell bent on winning this contest. Seriously I want that piece of shit guy to get killed in the next ep or something, he’s such an asshole. So he’s in this battle against Akai Mochikuni and obviously gets his ass kicked because Akai is a pro. Now royally pissed off, Kunato storms off.

During all this, Nagate and Hoshijiro are chilling out eating food and having a good time; Izana is trying to find Nagate to hang out with him, but after she sees him already with Hoshijiro, she’s pretty upset and decides to go off and do something by herself. We see Izana later eating some candy apple like thing (correct me if I’m identifying this food wrong) and as she’s strolling around she runs into Kunato who pushes her out of the way and Izana lands on the ground. Okay so first up, even though Izana isn’t… female, that was still a douche baggy thing to do on his part. Second, the wooden stick that the candy apple was on, I’m finding it a bit hard to believe that it could’ve punctured the skin of Izana’s thigh. Third, usually any sort of wound you inflict on your thigh is very bad, as I do know for a fact that there is a large artery down there and if damaged you’ll bleed to death. I think depending on where, blood can actually be spraying out of your wound… I think. Someone with medical knowledge please help me out here!

So that happens (not the blood spraying thing) and Nagate runs over to her help. I liked that even though he was hanging out with Hoshijiro, he still went over to help out the wounded girl. Plus that’s the correct thing to do. So he gets into a bit of a shoving match with Kunato and ends up in the infirmary once more, along with Izana too. There they’re met by Akai who asks them out to the sea the next day. What? I didn’t know they had a large body of water on Sidonia, but they do and they visited it. Personally as cool as it was, I was a bit let down. I don’t know why but I was expecting something really amazing, something really cool and yeah. I can’t really put my exact thoughts into words, but I was a bit let down, although it was still pretty cool. Also, spoiler alert incoming: massive death flags flying here. Yeah it was pretty obvious at this point, even without that guy cracking wise about this possibly being their last time together.

The battle arrives and the elite team is sent out, the whole school watching the battle live too. What starts out as good suddenly turns horrible and before they know it the top team is killed, leaving not only the commanding officers, but also all the students, including Yuhata Midorikawa, who’s brother was part of the elite team, stunned. The ep ends with everyone shocked by the events. I was expecting someone to die, that was obvious, but not everyone. My guess is that in the coming eps, Nagate and co will become the new elite team and face off against the Gauna. But that’s to be decided.

Let’s take a look at some screen shots from the ep!


[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_14.58_[2014.04.26_01.26.12] [Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_15.40_[2014.04.26_01.27.35]

 

 

[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_22.25_[2014.04.26_01.46.12]


 

So there you have it, ep 3 of Knights of Sidonia. I enjoyed this ep as the relationships between characters are starting to build, there was some good action, and the sudden death of the entire elite team was pretty unexpected. That’s it for this review, I’ll cya next week for more mech action in space. Up next I’ll have my weekend reviews consisting of: Date A Live II ep 3 and Mahouka ep 4. I’m really excited for Mahouka, more wincest hopefully, and I’m also looking forward to Sunday’s ep of the best anime this season, Love Live!. And of course we’ve got our weekly dosage of Nisekoi on Saturday mornings and then we can return to space with Captain Earth later on too!  Yep we’ve got a good weekend ahead of us and I’ve got 3 reviews between Saturday and Monday. I hope to see you back here and I’ll probably unload more rage on Date A Live II, so you don’t wanna miss it!

Let’s take a quick look at the preview for ep 4 of Knights of Sidonia now!


 

[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_23.57_[2014.04.26_01.46.27]

[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 03 (720p) [EB9F1C0D].mkv_snapshot_24.24_[2014.04.26_01.48.38]


 

If you notice any spelling or grammatical errors, please let me know so I can fix them. I hate having these small errors here and coming back later and only noticing them by chance. The first thing that goes through my mind is “oh shit did someone see that?!” so do me a favor please and point out any mistakes. My editing only goes so far.

I love being surprised by new anime! Got something that you think I might enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page!

Stop by and check out my brand new Twitter page! It’s pretty badass and that header pic of Maki is so sexy! Oh, be sure to follow me too!

-Nick

