I’m finally back with another Love Live review! Yeah it’s been a while, and I’m behind still, but this is a step in the right direction!

This time we’ve got a Rin ep as the spotlight shifts to her.

Here’s my review!

Continuing it’s dominating spring season run, Love Live! School Idol Project delivers with another heartfelt ep focusing on μ’s member, Rin Hoshizora. I’ll be honest here, Rin wasn’t my favorite character through season 1 but I came to like her just the same. This ep really took my like for her and turned it into a love. Looking back to season 1 of Love Live, the focus is mainly on Honoka, Umi and Kotori trying to save the school from being closed; Rin, Hanayo and Maki are all introduced in the same ep and all we really know about Rin is that she’s athletic, wanted to be on the track team and isn’t really confident in her appearance because she was mistaken for a boy when she was younger. This ep does a good job at taking what we know and expanding it a bit more, putting more depth into her character and having her come up against her demons from the past.

While that’s all front and center of this ep, the background story is on the three main girls, Honoka, Umi and Kotori as their class has taken a trip to Okinawa leaving Ericchi and Nozomi to handle Student Council matters which in turn leave Rin, Hanayo, Maki and Nico to conduct practices for an upcoming fashion show. Ericchi and the rest of the girls talk things over and decide that Rin should be the temporary leader for the performance as a first year should be taking up the mantle for when all the third years graduate. Before that point was mentioned, I was ready to say that Nico should’ve been made leader as she’s got experience, but Ericchi brought out a better point.

Rin however isn’t very confident that she has what it takes to be a leader. She’s very unsure of herself and ends up struggling with the weight of the responsibility. An example of this is when Maki and Nico get into an argument about how they should finish their routine, they both ask Rin to make the call, but Rin is too put on the spot and decides that she’ll put the question to thought and get back with an answer for them tomorrow. That’s really taking the easy way out as the obvious choice would be to pick Maki. So it’s things like that which Rin had a hard time dealing with.

Another part that I really enjoyed was when Ericchi and Nozomi present Rin with the dress she’d be wearing for the performance. Now as I’m not a girl there might be some integral part to all this that I’m not seeing, but in my eyes if you were asked to wear something like that, it should come across as an honor; after all it’s a very pretty dress and you’d look very beautiful wearing it. But then again that’s just my skewed way of seeing it from the male side of things. Moving along then, Rin is very shocked at this dress and passes the role of being center and wearing the dress to her friend Hanayo, although its very evident Rin is bothered by this. However, on the day of the event, Ericchi, Nozomi, Maki, Hanayo and Nico decide that Rin should be the one to wear that dress and they have it all ready for her. One a side note here: how did they get changed that fast? Like holy shit! One second they’re in school uniforms, the next they’re dressed as grooms. Also, Maki looked fabulous!

In the end the performance goes over perfectly and Rin looked so amazing in the dress. I had some feels moment at the end where Rin was finally able to battle her inner demons and come out victorious as she arrived at practice wearing a skirt. It’s a huge step for her as she’s gained important confidence in herself and she’s ready to express that outwardly now. I’m sure anyone will admit it, overcoming a long standing personal problem can be hard, yet once you finally reach that point where you’ve mastered said issue and can continue on in life with a positive outlook, things usually work out well for you. I felt so happy for Rin as this change in character has made her a happier and better person!

All in all this was another excellent ep that was full of heart. I enjoyed it so much and I’m glad to be finally back and watching Love Live once again. After this I can say that my love for Rin is great and I think I’ll like her a lot more from here on in. Next time we’ve got a Halloween ep so as I’m sure you’ve already seen it please don’t spoil my any more than I already am. I’ll have that review out soon so look forward to it!

Let’s take a look at some screen shots now!


 

I love how Nico just rolls into the shot
I love how Nico just rolls into the shot
lol what?
lol what?
Fun at the beach!
Fun at the beach!

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_13.56_[2014.05.15_16.21.49] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_14.02_[2014.05.15_16.21.58] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_14.11_[2014.05.15_16.22.12] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_14.24_[2014.05.15_16.22.29]

[FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_15.46_[2014.05.15_16.24.01] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_15.53_[2014.05.15_16.24.11] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_16.25_[2014.05.15_16.25.00] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_16.28_[2014.05.15_16.25.07] [FFF] Love Live! S2 - 05 [91ECEE98].mkv_snapshot_16.34_[2014.05.15_16.25.24]

Maki looking so beautiful
Maki looking so beautiful
Hanayo wearing her glasses. Haven't seen that since season 1.
Hanayo wearing her glasses. Haven’t seen that since season 1.
Rin featured in the ending
Rin featured in the ending

Alright then that brings this review to a close! I’m not sure what I’ll have out next, maybe another Love Live review or maybe WIXOSS ep 3, I’m not sure but it’ll be something. So before I leave you, I’ve gotta have some bonus pics!


Bonus pics!

Such a lovely Rin pic here! Click for full size!
Such a lovely Rin pic here! Click for full size!

Pixiv Link

Another one from this artist! Man he/she's got some great pics! Click for full size!
Another one from this artist! Man he/she’s got some great pics! Click for full size!

Pixiv Link

Lastly a beautiful Rin pic of her in that lovely dress. Click for massive full size!
Lastly a beautiful Rin pic of her in that lovely dress. Click for massive full size!

Pixiv Link


If you noticed any spelling and/or grammatical errors in this or any of my posts, please take a moment to let me know. You can leave a comment here or send me a Tweet.

Do you have an anime blog? Want to exchange links? Leave a comment on my Link Exchange page and I’ll be sure to add you!

I’m always tweeting things, make sure you’re around to see! Follow me today!

-Nick

