With the summer anime season nearly upon us, it’s finally time I reveal what I’ll be reviewing for the next few months. Keep in mind this list might change depending on how things go. I’ve attached links for info on each anime and a video preview too.

EDIT: Please refer to the updated version of this post for my final picks of what I’ll be reviewing. If you want, you can still read this post as it lists the anime I will be watching at the end.

Confirmed for Review

These are anime that for sure I will be reviewing. This list might change as well, but for the most part I’ll be sticking with these anime through till the end.

Rail Wars!

60245l

Video Preview

I saw a PV for this one a few months ago and liked what I saw. Trains, guns, fighting, hot girls, yeah it was enough to get me interested to watch it. Since then I’ve learned that Manami Numakura and Maaya Uchida are voicing the two lead female characters, that right there is more than enough to get me watching. Numakura, after all, voiced Riko Kurahashi from Love Lab, an anime I really enjoyed,  and she also voiced the best girl Takao from Arpeggio. Uchida voiced characters such as: Rikka Takanashi from Chu-2 Byo, Kaguya Yamai from the currently airing Date A Live II, Mao Amatsuka from GJ-bu and Sharo Kirima in the also currently airing Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?. All in all I’m liking what I’ve seen from the PVs and I hope this one will live up to my expectations.

Aldnoah.Zero

aldnoah_zero

Video Preview

So I could name drop people like Gen Urobuchi and Hiroyuki Sawano and you might already be on board from there. Honestly I don’t know much about this one other than these two guys have a part in the staff and that the PV showed huge badass looking mechs doing badass stuff. Yep this one looks pretty good and I hope it lives up to the hype.


 

High Chance for Review

These are anime that I probably will review, but I haven’t fully committed to them just yet. As the weeks close in I’ll come to a better decision, but as of now these are still pending.

Akame ga Kill!

hY4GKWT

Video Preview

Another one I don’t know anything about really other than it’s getting lots of hype on Twitter and other places, so it must be good. Ha, that logic. Anyways this one is on my list and I’m interested to see what it’s all about. I’ve heard that it’s going to be a long one, 26 episodes or something like that, so if I do indeed review this one, I’ll be here for the long haul.

Glasslip

Glasslip-PV2-720p_001_4909

Video Preview

Another P.A. Works anime here and one that looks very nice already. I like P.A. Works a lot but I was disappointed with the last anime by them that I saw, that being Red Data Girl. Ugh, waste of time. Anyways being as I was let down by that one, I passed up their next one, that being Nagi no Asukara, and as I heard it was pretty good, I still wasn’t really ready to give it a shot. I’m liking what I’m seeing so far with Glasslip, and I think it’s got a chance to be something good, but I hope it’s not just another all style no substance anime.

Zankyou no Terror

1396204940096Video Preview

So another anime I don’t know much about other than watching a PV, but it does look interesting nonetheless.  I’m putting it in the high chance for review section but it may not make the final cut depending on what else I pick up to watch/review. From what info I can find, this one seems to be about a terrorist attack in Tokyo and the outcome from that. The PV had explosions, motor bikes and people looking serious while holding phones. Sounds like great times. Also is the English translation of this ‘Terror in Tokyo‘ or ‘Terror in/of Resonance‘? I can’t find a straight answer, so not that it really matters, but if you can square this question away for me, I’d be most grateful.


 

Possible Chance for Review

So these are anime I might review or might not. I’ll pick at least one or two from this category when I make the final choices, but until then I’ll just list off what I’ve got down so far.

Sword Art Online II

Terrible trigger discipline
Terrible trigger discipline

Video Preview

One of the most popular anime from 2012 is back with it’s highly anticipated second season. I’ll make it clear now: I’m not a hardcore SAO fan. I enjoyed season 1, bits and pieces here and there (wincest), but on a whole there are problems with many things. First and foremost Kirito. Fucking Gary Stu again. Don’t get me started on how he reminds me of Tatsuya from Mahouka, goddamn that fucking son of a bitch. So that kinda puts into perspective how I feel about SAO. I know lots of people will be watching this and probably reading reviews for this too, so I do feel like if I did review this, I’d have to really put some effort into it as it’s such a popular anime and everyone will be talking about it. I’m not sure I could do that though as my reviews will mostly likely be rants about what I liked and didn’t like about the ep. I hear this one has some guns in it, and if you know me I’m kinda into guns, so that’s why this anime is tempting to review. But whatever my final choice is, I’ll put this one up in the air for now.

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

0221locodolKEY

Video Preview

So another idol anime here, yes I’m kinda into idol anime at the moment. This one looks pretty charming and has potential to be fun to review, that’s why I wanted to add it to this list. Like the one before it, I’m not sure if I’ll actually review this one, but it’s nice to have some options. The PV reminds me of Wake Up, Girls! another idol anime that I enjoyed, and I’m also hoping this anime will have lots of catchy music too, as that song in the PV was pretty nice. Whatever the case, I’ll see how it goes before making a final call on this one.

Hanayamata

hanayamata-anime-visuel

Video Preview

Another music and dance themed anime here that might make the cut. Honestly I don’t know that much about this one except that it looks pretty decent and I’ve heard it’s supposed to be good. The studio behind this one is Madhouse and so far I do like their work, but not all their work. So as I don’t really know all that much about this one, I can’t exactly make huge predictions about it, but it’s up for the possibility of review, come July.

Jinsei

Adobe Photoshop PDF

Video Preview

What worries me about this one is the ‘ecchi’ tag I’m seeing for it, but I’m also getting a more slice of life vibe from this one. I don’t know but the read up makes it out to be a number of things, at least that’s how I’m interpreting it. Whatever the case is though, this one is among the ones I might review if I like it enough. However if it’s too ecchi or just too chill, I might not review it, we’ll see how it goes.

Psycho-Pass New Edit Version

m8hzTJCI’m kinda on the fence with this one. I really loved Psycho-Pass a lot and I’m looking forward to this one, but I’m just not sure I want to review it. At the same time I want to review it though. It’s got a dark atmosphere that I love, a gritty story, solid action and plot to carry it through too, but I’m not sure if I’m up for reviewing it. I’ll give it some thought and come back to it in a bit.

Tokyo Ghoul

14ad2318

Video Preview

Last up is what looks to be a more horror anime about monsters and weird shit happening to people. I’m intrigued as I haven’t watched many scary anime before (Another is the only horror one I’ve seen) so I’m looking forward to this one. The PV looks pretty violent and bloody, so I’m guessing this will be a more hardcore anime. I hope. Whatever the case is, I’ll make the choice later about if I’ll review it.


So that’s a quick overview on what I might be reviewing. Keep in mind I’ll be pushing to have the Selector Infected WIXOSS reviews out soon too as I’ve been promising them for a while now. As there are still a few weeks before the summer season starts, I’d like to ask for any recommendations for anime I might like to watch. I’ve got 15 already picked out, but if there is something else you think I might like, be sure to let me know. And just so you don’t recommend ones that I’m already planning on watching, here’s what I’ve got so far:

Ai Mai Mi ~Mousou Catastrophe~

Akame ga Kill!

Aldnoah.Zero

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

Glasslip

Hanayamata

Jinsei

Psycho-Pass New Edit Version

Rail Wars!

Sabagebu!

Sword Art Online II

Tokyo ESP

Tokyo Ghoul

Yama no Susume Season 2

Zankyou no Terror

For your usage too, here’s a handy chart that has all the currently planned anime for the summer season. I’m guessing it’ll be updated if there are any more anime that will be airing over the summer. I’ll also be continuing on with some of the spring anime, namely: Captain Earth, M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane and Mahou Shoujo Taisen. Like I’ve been mentioning for a while now, I’ll be dropping Mahouka come July as I’m not into it anymore. If it honestly and truly does get better and Tatsuya isn’t as he is now, I might considering coming back and watching it, but no promises okay.

So with all my picks out of the way, what are you planning on watching this coming summer season? Leave a comment below as I’d like to hear what you’re excited for.

***Here’s a Pixiv link to the bikini clad anime girl at the top of the page!***


If you noticed any spelling or grammatical errors, please be sure to tell me so I can fix them.

Do you have an anime blog, site or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

