So here we are, the finale of No Game No Life. Let’s begin.

Here’s my review!

Izuna has entered demon mode. Not good. Guess she can’t take losing that well. Huh, kids these days… always sore losers.

This surprises Sora and Shiro, who weren’t expecting her to get that riled up over a game, but you know the drill. Landing heavily on the ground they scramble to stay out of Izuna’s way, ducking, dodging, and returning fire along the way. Quick side note here: I really liked the sound in this whole chase sequence it was really well done; the glass shattering, Izuna zipping around, it just all flowed together well and came out sounding really nice.

So meanwhile, Sora and Shiro are having trouble trying to predict her next move, as she’s left the realm of physical limits and ascended to something nightmarish. Sora, of course, has a plan. Yes the old run to a gun trick again, because it worked well the first time, so why not try it once more? So off he goes, valiant as ever running down the gauntlet towards Izuna, only to be tricked and ends up getting himself and Shiro shot in the process. IS THIS THE END OF THE BLANK?! HAVE THEY FINALLY MET THEIR MATCH?!?! Sora and Shiro are both down and out, headshots with no trickery out of it. Izuna starts to celebrate her long awaited victory, BUT WAIT! WHAT’S THIS?!! Remember Steph? Well she was part of the plan Sora and Shiro had worked out over the course of the last ep, and now it’s finally time for her to step into the game. Shooting Izuna in the back, Sora and Shiro are released from her love spell and are back with us. Wow that was a close one. I’d get into detail about how they pulled off their crafty plan, but you’ve watched the ep so I don’t need to explain it again.

So back in Elkia, why not celebrate the victory by taking a bath? Yeah that’s good. So while in the bath the Shrine Princess, Miko shows up and we’re then whisked off to her land where we have more shit go down. More politics here as Miko wants to rule her area while Elkia has control over everything, and she’s all mad about that and such. Anyways the long and short of this is that it ends in a coin toss. Wow okay. So we’ve got this coin toss and Miko thinks she’s got this all down and knows that she’s gonna win, but she’s failed to take into account that The Blank never lose, so obviously there will be a problem in her plan. Trickery again as Sora ends the toss in a draw and gives Miko the option that they either both win or both lose. Miko chooses that they both win, so while Elkia controls all the land, Miko still keeps her part and rules in it. Seems fair I guess.

So some stuff happens here and there and they all end up watching the sunset from their positions atop one of those big arch things (I can’t remember the name) and Sora and Shiro go on to talk about how they want to beat Tet, to which everyone is shocked to hear. Sora talks about the Race Piece and I’m guessing alludes to how the final game will be chess as pretty much everything in the whole world points towards it (as if those huge ass chess pieces on the horizon weren’t enough of a hint). So before they all walk off, Sora asks Miko if she has… one. One what? I don’t know, but instead of answer the question like anyone normally should, Miko suddenly undergoes some crazy transformation and turns into… Old Deus. I guess that’s a big deal as Steph’s reaction got me in stitches but before we get anymore on this, the ep, and subsequent season, end.

Oh…

So more or less that was ep 12. Sure I left out many parts and didn’t really explain that much, but honestly I just wanted this review to be over. If you need to read another one that much more detailed and brings out all the points, you’ll have to find another one, like this one. So with that, No Game No Life is over, well for now. Obviously the door is off the hinges and gaping open for another season, so maybe Madhouse will get their act together and make one. Still waiting for that Magical Warfare season 2 guys. So I’ll move onto my final thoughts now.


Final Thoughts

Looking back on this experience I’ve gotta say I’ve got mixed reactions about No Game No Life. While I did enjoy it for some parts, it on a whole failed to really draw me in and engage me for a full 24 minutes. I liked what I saw, eps 3, 6 and 11 being my favorites, but I just wasn’t all that really into it that much. Sure there are good parts about this anime and overall it’s enjoyable, I just had moments where I wasn’t really excited about watching/reviewing it or just having anything to do with it. I’m happy I did stick to the end though as it ended on a high note and I liked how some things got wrapped up, but overall there was just too much that wasn’t answered.

Another thing I kept thinking since the start was that this should be a 24 ep anime, not 12 eps. Why? Well given the world Sora and Shiro are placed in, 12 eps doesn’t really do the best job at really exploring this world and getting to know things about it. There were only a few main locations the eps took place in and overall it just seemed really confined to such a small place. There are what, 16 lands out there, well let’s go see ’em then! I hope if there is a season 2, which there kinda has to be, I hope we see more of the world of Disboard as there is just too much to leave untouched.

Lastly the thing that bothered me from start to finish was the grain. Geez that grain! It’s like fucking Valvrave all over again! Had this anime not been so damn bright then the grain wouldn’t have been so bad, but by God was this a grainy anime to watch. I’d go back to rewatch it on Blu-Ray just so it’s not as grainy (and if those bath scenes are uncensored) but the grain was something that really did bother me.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I hate this anime, I still thought it was pretty good, but I just didn’t like it at times. There are things I did like about NGNL; Jibril and Steph being the two main points. Like I said above too, eps 3, 6, and 11 were by far my favorite too, especially ep 6 as it was pretty damn awesome. But I’ve said about all I want to on this anime, so I guess it’s time to rate it and move on. Looking back at things and tallying it all up, I’ll give No Game No Life a solid 8/10. It’s not worth the hype at all, but it’s still pretty enjoyable for the most part.


 

That's because we want to see you naked.
That’s because we want to see you naked.
Lovely
Lovely
Dat ass doe
Dat ass doe

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_09.27_[2014.06.26_21.46.40]

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_10.55_[2014.06.26_21.48.01]
Hey there, hot stuff.
[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_10.11_[2014.06.26_21.47.28]
DAT GRIN DOE
[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.30_[2014.06.26_22.02.54] [HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.34_[2014.06.26_22.04.48] [HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.37_[2014.06.26_22.04.56]

[HorribleSubs] No Game No Life - 12 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_16.41_[2014.06.26_22.05.03]


So that’s an end to No Game No Life. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my reviews and I hope you enjoyed this anime too. Up next I’ll be having my final look at Knights of Sidonia, with my ep 12 review. Now I have heard that will be getting a season 2, and I’ll answer that burning question now: yes when it comes out I’ll review it too. Whether or not I’ll be back to review season 2 of No Game No Life… well I’ll have to think that one over.

I’d also like to take a moment to give a special shout out and many thanks to RABUJOI and The Anime Rambler for the reblogged reviews. Please check out both those awesome anime blogs and be sure to follow them too!

Alright then, thanks for sticking with me till the end and please enjoy the final bonus pics!

Cya in the next post!


Bonus Pics!

Nice pic of Izuna and Miko here. Click for full size!
Nice pic of Izuna and Miko here. Click for full size!

Pixiv Link!

Yes another kazenokaze pic. Might as well end with a good one. Click for full size! Oh and that panty shot too!
Yes another kazenokaze pic. Might as well end with a good one. Click for full size! Oh and that panty shot too!

Pixiv Link!


If you noticed any spelling or grammatical errors, please be sure to tell me so I can fix them.

Do you have an anime blog, site or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

