Last part!

Mahou Shoujo Taisen/Magica Wars

[HorribleSubs] Mahou Shoujo Taisen - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_00.59_[2014.07.03_03.33.14]

It’s a short anime, only clocking in a 4 minutes, but it’s actually pretty good. It’s mainly about different magical girls that represent different regions in Japan. It’s kinda neat actually as each girl has a different personality and their own way they view being a magical girl

What I liked: I really like the OP actually, even though it’s like 30 seconds or something, but it’s a livetune song with vocals by Anna Yano. Anna Yano also sung the OP for Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu, which was her debut actually. I really like Naruko Aoba in this anime, the magical girl representing the Miyagi prefecture. I’m hoping that at some point we’ll see more of her as she’s my favorite out of them all so far.

What I didn’t like: The sidekick/familiar thing that each magical girl has can be pretty annoying actually. That and the fact it’s only a 4 minute anime are the two main things that I really don’t like that much. Honestly if this was even a 10 minute anime or something longer, then I’d like it more, but packing stuff into 4 minutes is just too frustrating. Kinda like Pupa.

Thoughts & score: So as this is going to 26 episodes, I can’t give it a final score now, but after 13 eps I’m really enjoying this nice 4 minute anime each Tuesday. I hope in the coming eps we’ll see the return of Naruko Aoba and maybe even a team up of all the magical girls to fight one big bad guy. That’d be neat. So after 13 eps I’ll give Mahou Shoujo Taisen or Magica Wars a 7/10.

 

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei/The Irregular at Magic High School

[HorribleSubs] Mahouka - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_05.05_[2014.04.20_14.27.51]

Read all the reviews here.

I was caught hook, line and sinker for this one. I liked what I saw and I was amped up and ready for something amazing. Yep it looked like it had all the things to make something good, but that all the fell flat. I enjoyed the first few eps as it wasn’t fully apparent to me yet, but I should’ve caught on that Tatsuya is just some endless OP MC who does whatever and no one can lay a finger on him. So there goes any chance of me liking this or wanting to continue watching it. Ugh, I’m just sick and tired of talking about this one.

What I liked: I liked all the cute girls, they were probably the only reason  kept watching as long as I did. But at some point, no matter how cute the girls are, enough is enough. Another thing I actually really enjoyed about this one is the music. I loved the OP/ED as well as the OST and I look forward to downloading the OST once it’s out to grab that one track I really like.

What I didn’t like: Need I really get into that again?

Final thoughts & score: Overall it had hope but Tatsuya is a con too big to be out weight by the pros (the pros being cute girls) so I have to let the ax fall, I just wish I’d done it sooner. Looking back on this one, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei or The Irregular at Magic High School gets a 6/10. Only because I liked things about it.

I’d like to send a special thanks and shout out to Little Cloud Curiosity, RABUJOI and OniiChan Reviews for the reblogged posts. Thank you so much and you did an excellent job writing the reviews. Be sure to stop by and follow these awesome anime blogs during the coming summer anime season!

No Game, No Life

No Game No Life title card

Read all the reviews here.

From start to finish I felt this one was a roller coaster of an anime. It had it’s highs and lows, but it ended on a high note and I’ve gotta hand it to Madhouse, I did enjoy this one by the ending. The story was pretty decent, nothing too specular or anything, and it carried through till the end. Obviously there is going t have to be a season 2 as there are still questions left unanswered as well as that cliffhanger ending but I haven’t heard anything as of yet. All in all No Game No Life was fun and enjoyable for the most part, but there were times where I just wasn’t that into it nor enjoyed watching and reviewing it. While I still don’t think it deserves the hype as many are giving it, it’s still an above average anime that offers something for everyone.

What I liked: I liked the bright colors of this anime, I’m sure the Blu-Ray will look stunning! Other then that the music was pretty good too, well the OP/ED at least. I’ve downloaded both and I prefer the ED to the OP, but both are still enjoyable to listen to. The characters in this anime are the main focus as Sora and Shiro have to solve the mysteries in each game the play to come out victorious. I liked Sora most of the time, but there were parts where he was just too silly. My favorite character is probably Jibril or Steph. I also liked the bath scenes too and I really hope the Blu-Ray removes the steam because… well it was adding to the grain. Why else would I want to rewatch each bath scene on the Blu-Ray?

What I didn’t like: While the colors were very bright and nice to look at, the grain that resulted from the colors was just atrocious. NGNL lacked the overall crispness and polish, so I really hope the Blu-Ray makes the needed change. While the pro abilities of Sora and Shiro were nice, I felt like there were times were it seemed like they were Gary Stuing their way through things, having it all nicely turn out well for them. While this could be once again argued that it’s because of their pro gaming skills (and cheats sometimes), I can’t shake the feeling though. Whatever the case that’s probably my biggest qualm with this anime, how everything just worked out for them all the time. My other beef with this anime is mainly just a personal one as there were times it got too silly and me being me, I don’t really like overly silly things at all.

Final thoughts & score: Don’t get me wrong, I still got enjoyment out of this one and I’d probably recommend it to someone else to watch, but I just don’t see all the hype around it. I never once thought “holy shit this anime is totally fucking the best” or anything like that; sure ep 11 was pretty amazing and ep 12 ended it well, while still leaving questions open for season 2, but I just couldn’t get the ultra hype going for this one. Looking back on it all now and tallying it all up, I think No Game No Life gets a pretty solid 8/10. Waiting for season 2 now.

Another special shout out and thanks to The Anime Rambler and RABUJOI for the reblogged reviews! Top notch job writing them, good work. Be sure to follow both these kick ass anime blogs during the summer anime season!

Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin/Nanana’s Buried Treasure

ryuugajou-nanana-no-maizoukin-0105

From the first ep I was pretty excited for this one, but as things moved along, I became less and less thrilled to sit down each week to watch the next episode. Story wise it was pretty much good to go, it had all the pieces there for a great adventure anime set in a really cool location, but it just didn’t really have that much adventure to it. Honestly I was quite disappointed with this anime and the ending just leaves us with lots of unanswered questions. Open endings are something I really hate, unless there is for sure going to be a season 2, but as of now I haven’t heard if this one is getting a follow up. Hopefully it will so I won’t hate it as much, but if that really is the ending, then they dropped the ball big time here.

What I liked: The location of the anime, it was so amazing! An island with really cool stuff on it, almost like a futuristic look to some things, I really like that stuff. I liked the character design too, Nanana was pretty cute and the rest of the characters looked pretty decent too. I also enjoyed the treasure chest sequences where they had to get through the puzzle and unlock the chest, those were always really fun.

What I didn’t like: For starters I wanted more exploring in this anime, more adventure. When it comes to hidden treasure in a cool location like this anime had, I want something really exciting and National Treasure like (which is a good movie by the way, the first one at least) but the puzzle sequences were too short and they were solved too quickly. Had there been more puzzles to solve in different ways, going back to National Treasure here again, then I’d have enjoyed this one a lot more. I also didn’t like the back story of Juugo, it was too out of place and it just didn’t work with the overall story. That being said, characters like Yukihime Fugi and Shuu Todomatsu were pointless to have. Honestly they could’ve done without that bit and just had a more conventional back story to Juugo. Lastly the ending leaves too many questions unanswered, and that’s a big no-no. Like I said, open endings are pretty bad and they just leave you to assume everything works out well, or just leave you with too many questions. That being the case, Inception‘s ending was still really good, hell that whole movie was amazing! But in this anime they just plain old didn’t tie up loose ends, which shows lack of execution in the plot and it doesn’t flow well either. If there is a second season then I can retract these words, but until I hear something, this ending is not one I like.

Final thoughts & score: So looking back at this anime, I’m not left happy like I entered. It was good at times, but overall it just wasn’t what I wanted from an adventure anime. The plot had too many holes left unfilled at the end, and there were points, and characters, that were just unneeded. I can’t really recommend this one as it’s not all that good or enjoyable to watch. Unless you’re a die hard fan of the voice actors/actresses or just like A-1 Pictures a lot, this one to pass up. Will we get a season 2? I’m not sure, but there are things to point to one maybe. But to bring this to a close now, Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin or Nanana’s Buried Treasure gets a 5.5/10. It had it’s moments, but not enough of them.

Selector Infected WIXOSS

selector-infected-wixoss-001

This one wasn’t on my radar until it was about 4 eps in. I kept seeing these tweets about it from a guy I follow on Twitter, and he was just raving about it saying how amazing it was. I decided to try it out, just to see what all this hype was about, and holy shit am I glad I did. This one is probably one of the more underrated ones of the season as no one seems to really talk about it, but it’s so damn amazing! I was drawn in from ep 1 and I loved the atmosphere it created. If you’re a fan of Madoka Magica and Black Rock Shooter then you should take a look at this one as it’s quite similar to those too. Also if you love anime where everyone suffers endlessly, then this should be one to watch. There moments where it’s just “ahh man… the suffering can’t be this bad” but yes it is and it gets worse with each ep. I highly recommend you to check it out as I’m sure you’ll come to love it.

What I liked: Like I said, the overall atmosphere is something I really love about this anime. It’s dark, gritty and unsettling, and the art really amplifies that too. Had this been a really flashy, clean animated series, I don’t think it’d have been able to bring across that same feeling. I also really loved the characters in this anime; each played a central role and they all added to the overall plot nicely too. It’s pretty clear this is a very character driven anime, something that I like as it really has to have a good plot to make things progress well. Also, there is a little bit of wincest in there too with Yuzuki’s wish.

What I didn’t like: Honestly there are probably points I didn’t like, but I can’t really think of much now. Sure there are unanswered question, like a shit ton, but it’s got a confirmed season 2 this fall so I can’t complain about that. Hmm if anything I wish there was more Yuzuki x Kazuki stuff, but maybe we’ll have to wait till season 2 for that.

Final thoughts & score: After watching the finale, I was left stunned. Wow that was some good stuff there. Things are just going wild now and I can’t wait for season 2 this fall. Selector Spread WIXOSS is what it’s called and I’m sure if you’ve enjoyed this anime thus far, then you’re amped for season 2 like I am. And I’d like to also say that I will be reviewing Selector Spread WIXOSS this fall. Right then, after thinking it over and writing out my final thoughts, I’m going to have to give Selector Infected WIXOSS a 9/10. This is good stuff here, so check it out and get ready for season 2 this fall. #TeamHYPE

Sidonia no Kishi/Knights of Sidonia

[Watashi]_Knights_of_Sidonia_-_02_[720p][98818CD8].mkv_snapshot_01.13_[2014.04.24_16.42.23]

Read all the reviews here.

Much like Arpeggio of last year, Knights of Sidonia uses an all 3DCG animation style that can lead to many people passing it up due to that. Huge mistake. Sidonia is a really awesome space mech action anime that follows humanity as it battles for survival against the alien threat known as the Gauna. If you liked Attack on Titan then this one might be for you as it’s just very similar themes going on. I really loved the action sequences in this anime as the 3DCG really took center stage and added that layer of depth needed to make the battles look so much better. Honestly speaking, 3DCG can be bad at times, but other times when it’s done right, it really does look amazing. Sidonia is a good example of that as each ep comes across being detailed and polished. The depth is amazing too and it makes space seem like the big, empty, cold, dark and scary place it is.

What I liked: Like mentioned, the animation style really excels in this anime. They also didn’t skimp on the action either. There were solid battle eps that really were intense and super action packed too. I loved those eps so much. The OST is also another thing I really loved about this anime. During the battles the OST picked up and matched the sequence very well; during the slower parts, the music carried across well too. There are also slightly ambient tracks on the OST for those info dump moments or just showing around Sidonia and deep underground.

What I didn’t like:  Probably what I didn’t like was the fact we don’t really learn that much about the Gauna in this season. Yes I know they’re saving that for season 2, but still I think we should’ve learned a bit more about the enemy and maybe like some partial origins about them or something.

Final thoughts & score: So from start to finish I really liked this anime and I recommend it to anyone who likes sci-fi or mech anime. This one has a lot to offer and I’m really looking forward to season 2 in the coming future. Tallying things all up, Knights of Sidonia gets an 8.5/10 from me. Good stuff here.

I’d also like to have a special shout out and thanks to RABUJOI for some of the reblogged reviews. Thanks guys, you did an awesome job writing them! Be sure to stop by and follow their awesome anime blog for the coming summer anime season!


So that bring me to a close for this part and this whole 3 part section. If you want to discuss any of the anime mentioned in the three parts, please drop me a comment about your take on the anime as I’d love to have some feedback.

Looking ahead here I’m really excited for the summer anime and I can’t wait to get reviewing them as soon as possible. So I think Glasslip and Rail Wars will be among the first that I review and I’ll try really hard to have the reviews out on the same day their released. Moving forward I want to aim to have reviews out much faster and just streamlining my process to get things posted faster and have people enjoy the content. I’ll be working on this as it’s always an ongoing process, but I will be making an extra effort this anime season to really make a difference.

Alright then that’s all I’ve gotta say here, once more if you’ve got comments, questions and such feel free to leave a comment and I’ll get back to you as soon as I possibly can.

Thanks for reading and I’ll cya in the next post!

**Pixiv Link!**


 

If you noticed any spelling or grammatical errors, please be sure to tell me so I can fix them.

Do you have an anime blog, site or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

