Finally my most hyped anime has started!

Here’s my review!

If you follow me on Twitter, then you’ll have seen me talk passionately about Rail Wars as being my top anime of the season. Yes I’ll understand if you haven’t heard of it, being that it’s airing along side anime such as Free! Eternal Summer, Sword Art Online II and Akame ga Kill, but still it should be one you should check out. Why? Well if you like trains (which I’m sure everyone likes to some degree) hot girls, said hot girls shooting guns, and violent fist fights, then Rail Wars should be something that now sounds more appealing. If you’re sold with ‘hot girls’ then telling you to expect boobs too is probably just icing on the cake. Right then, let’s get this review started!

We start off with our MC, Naoto Takayama, as he’s going to to his first day at the training school for Japanese National Railways (JNR for short). On his way to the school, he has a run in with best girl Aoi Sakurai as she’s helping out a kid who’s balloon got stuck in a tree. Right away I love Sakurai, why? Well for starters she’s got red hair, she’s super agile (climbing the tree with ease) and later we learn that she’s pro and handling firearms. We also meet, not officially, Haruka Koumi who will be the fan service girl of this anime.

So as for opening scenes go this one is pretty standard, nothing too big happens and we see 3 out of 4 of the main characters. After the OP, which is sung by the totally awesome Minori Chihara I must add, we see Naoto arriving at the JNR Academy, where we officially meet Haruka Koumi. For you trivia fans, Haruka is voiced by Maaya Uchida, while Aoi is voiced by the awesome Manami Numakura. Back to this scene now, we also meet the other guy in the main four group, that being Shou Iwaizumi.

So the class Naoto is in happens to be the Public Security Squad (PSS for short) and over the next while, Naoto and gang will undergo training to work in this field. Hitomi Gonou captain of the Public Security Riot Police, will be their teacher for the next month too. First of all, holy crap! Riot Police captain! Damn she’s hardcore then to be in that group. I love the part when Hitomi asks Naoto a question of what to do if a molester tries to escape without turning himself in; as Naoto fumbles for an answer, Aoi pokes him in the back and tells him that the best way to deal with that problem to just to shoot the bastard. Haha, I’m going to like Aoi as this goes on!

As expected this anime does have some fan service, as the scene with them running on the track will show. Isn’t that why they made sports bras, for situations like that? The following situation at the shooting range is both cool and not cool. First of all it’s cool because they’re rolling out the guns in ep 1, and Aoi is super pro, getting a really good grouping, but I also noticed a massive continuity error too. Check out the pics below.

So the disappearing ear protection is something I noticed right away. Wow not cool for the first ep. Had it been something less noticeable then I would’ve have cared too much, but that was a rather big one.

Naoto and gang continue on their training, moving closer to the day when they can be out in the field doing their job. One big test they face though is the task of getting a steam engine going over 100km/h, if they don’t they fail the test. Sounds easy enough, so Naoto’s team is up first with this task. I didn’t really like the pairing up of the team though, having both girls and both guys in separate engines, seemed like they should’ve had one guy and one girl to each engine, but whatever the case they’re set off on their task of achieving 100km/h in this train.

It all starts off well, them shoveling coal like mad, but no matter how much the shovel, they can’t get up to speed. Thankfully Naoto realizes their mistake and is able to correct their method so that they can get the speed they’re looking for.

Having reached the end of their in class training, it’s time for them to get out in the field for the on hands training! So right off the bat they’ve got an assignment, well at least Naoto and Haruka have one: recover a lost dog heard in the cabin of a train car. Not super exciting or anything, but things get interesting when Haruka takes a fall from the ladder and Naoto ends up on top of her. Yeah another one of those scenes.

After finding the lost dog they bring it back before being swept up in more action. Two guys steal the purse of a woman and make an escape onto a departing train! Determined not to let these thieves escape they’re able to hop aboard another train and beat them to the station, where they physically beat them at the station, well at least Iwaizumi and Aoi do. From there the ep comes to an end with the four of them being assigned to work on the same team from now on!

So as first eps go this was pretty average actually. I wasn’t blown away by it, but it was still enjoyable to watch. I’ve got high hopes as this on continues as it looks like it’s got much more to offer. So if you’re watching Rail Wars, what are your thoughts on the series opener? Was it to your liking? Do you have a favorite character already? What are your thoughts looking ahead for this anime? Let me know in the comments!

Let’s take a look at some screen shots now!


 

[FFF] Rail Wars! - 01v2 [C4EF87C0].mkv_snapshot_21.55_[2014.07.06_23.03.59] [FFF] Rail Wars! - 01v2 [C4EF87C0].mkv_snapshot_22.04_[2014.07.06_23.04.40]


So there you have it, Rail Wars ep 1! I’ve got high hopes that this one will be good down the line, so stick with it and give it a chance! Up next I’ll have a look at the premier of Aldnoah.Zero followed by Akame ga Kill!. Now my schedule will be changing come Monday as I’ll be busy for the next 6 weeks, but I’m going to try my hardest to keep reviews coming. If this gets too rough or I feel I can’t keep up then I’ll be asking anyone if they want to become a temporary writer on my blog for a bit; if you end to to be pretty decent then you can stay on till the end of the season. So if that interests you, drop me a line and we can chat about it.

Thanks for reading this opening review for this anime, I hope to have next week’s a bit more timely, so expect it late Friday or early Saturday morning. Alright then, I’ll also have bonus pics with each review, so here’s your first one!

[FFF] Rail Wars! - 01v2 [C4EF87C0].mkv_snapshot_24.09_[2014.07.06_23.08.11]

I’ll cya in the next post!

Dat sexy end card!
Dat sexy end card!

 

Bonus Pic!

Awesome pic of Aoi here. This one happens to be my new Twitter profile pic too. Click for full size!
Awesome pic of Aoi here. This one happens to be my new Twitter profile pic too. Click for full size!

Pixiv Link!


 

If you noticed any spelling or grammatical errors, please be sure to tell me so I can fix them.

Do you have an anime blog, site or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

