We have arrived at the end of this trip ladies and gentlemen; thank you for reading my reviews on Anime Corps and I hope you’ll join us again for another adventure into the fall season. Please watch your step on the way out.

Here’s my review.

This ep can really be summed up pretty much in one or two sentences, and maybe I should because there really wasn’t anything amazing that happened. Okay fine, I’ll make this a bit interesting then.

So following up from last week, Takayama and Iida are on their way back to Tokyo after giving their apologies for the antics pulled in ep 12. Iida mentions that she did indeed did tell Takayama to act how he saw fit, but even so there is fall-out to be dealt with from the actions taken. While we don’t actually see any of this happen, it’s mentioned briefly before the two begin the long train ride home.

Takayama also happen to smash his face in between Iida’s large boobs as she wakes him from his slumber. Yeah it can’t be Rail Wars! without having some interaction with boobs at least once. The fact this ep had the most Iida in it was nice as she was rarely featured in an ep other than talking on the phone or giving them orders and letting them have at it.

For the majority of this ep, it’s pretty much Takayama and Iida on the train dealing with one problem after the other. One thing breaks and once they fix it, something else breaks, followed by another thing and so on. Honestly it was just getting annoying by the half way point but this is Rail Wars and you can’t expect something really decent to actually happen. In a nut shell that’s pretty much the ep right there, I wish there was more, some other exciting thing that happened, but no, just another filler to end on. Aside from the usual fan service that we’ve come to expect in this anime, nothing else exciting really happens

Oh yeah, Noa shows up in the last few minutes.


Final Thoughts

So after the first ep I knew this wasn’t going to be exactly like I thought. It was going to be a silly, fan service-y anime with trains as a kinda central theme that’ll run from start to finish. That wasn’t too far off from true either. What I thought going into this one, was that there would be action and adventure, fist fights, gun battles, and while all that was technically there, the overall execution was poorly done. Take ep 2 for example, a bomb threat to the station. It’s a real world possibility that could (can and does) actually happen yet that ep not only had terrible animation moments but the overall execution of that ep was pretty bad.

A running theme through Rail Wars! is that they do indeed have situations that are a foundation for action and excitement, but like I love to keep saying, the execution was never up to par. Most eps ended lack luster and disappointing and as much as this let me down, I had to accept this this anime won’t be getting better and this is what we’re stuck with.

Character wise, I’ve gotta talk about the best girl Sakurai. Yes as violent and aggressive as she is, you look at her and you see that red hair and it’s just yes. By the ending I was watching solely for Sakurai as she was totally someone your eyes gravitate to her while she’s in a scene. We got to see all sides of her too, being quite nice, quite aggressive, quite helping, quite tsundere; she looked good in her uniform, in a swimsuit, in lingerie, and while in various stages of getting dressed. I really liked her voice actress too, Manami Numakura, as she’s a favorite of mine after having voiced characters such as Riko in Love Lab, Hibiki in The iDOLM@STER, Machi in the currently airing Hanayamata, and of course Takao in Arpeggio. I look forward to her future roles as hopefully they’ll be in some good anime.

Other noteworthy names in this anime include: Maaya Uchida, Yui Horie and Minori Chihara. I should also add that Minori Chihara sang the OP for Rail Wars! too, which is probably why I liked it so much. But even with this good cast, solid premise and good situations the characters are placed in, Rail Wars! can’t get it’s act together and in the end it’s a mess of the side of the tracks. I want to like this one for the girls, but there is a point where the line needs to be drawn. I’m giving Rail Wars! a 5/10.


 

Yellow doesn't suit Sakurai.
Yellow doesn’t suit Sakurai.
CHECK OUT THOSE TRAINS!
CHECK OUT THOSE TRAINS!
Yes, they just realized that they are in a compromising situation.
Yes, they just realized that they are in a compromising situation.
Why hello there, sexy.
Why hello there, sexy.
Okay for real, how the hell do those even fit on an ass like hers? Seriously no stretching in the world will make 'em fit.
Okay for real, how the hell do those even fit on an ass like hers? Seriously no stretching in the world will make ’em fit.
Maybe... not right now. If the train crashes and you all die, you'll never get any of that ass. Save the train first then get all the ass you want.
Maybe… not right now. If the train crashes and you all die, you’ll never get any of that ass. Save the train first then get all the ass you want.
IT'S GETTING HOT IN HERE, SO TAKE OFF ALL YOUR CLOTHES!!
IT’S GETTING HOT IN HERE, SO TAKE OFF ALL YOUR CLOTHES!!
Getting those bombs in your back.
Getting those bombs in your back.
Aww, so much for the welcoming party.
Aww, so much for the welcoming party.

[HorribleSubs] Rail Wars! - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_20.27_[2014.09.21_15.35.10]

Yeah, you do.
Yeah, you do.

[HorribleSubs] Rail Wars! - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.07_[2014.09.21_15.35.46]

Holy shit that face! I love it!
Holy shit that face! I love it!
The End~
The End~

And there you have it, Rail Wars! is over! Thanks you sticking with me through all these reviews, sorry if some were late, but in the end it all worked out. I had an… okay time with this anime, not the best but not the worst either. After seeing all 12 eps, what are your thoughts on it? Enjoyed it? Hated it? Do you agree when I say Sakurai is the best girl? Let me know in the comments below!

So up next I’ll have the review for the finale of Hanayamata. 12 weeks in the making and it all comes down to this one last performance, I hope it goes well. Since there isn’t a preview pic for Rail Wars!, I’ll just end the usual way.

Cya in the next post!


Bonus Pic!

1568f564df16b7fdd405e3b3a5c45394Source Link!

46098147

Pixiv Link!

And just a reminder of the best girl.

44663703Pixiv Link!


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

