The fall anime season is nearly here! We’ve got some great anime coming up so I hope you’re just as excited about this as I am. So in preparation for that, I’ve decided to write this post up about what anime will be reviewed here on Anime Corps, and I’d also like to introduce the three new writers too.

Shall we begin?

Selector Spread WIXOSS

vlcsnap-2014-06-20-11h30m10s128

First up the big anime of the fall season, at least for me, has to be Selector Spread WIXOSS. By far the most underrated anime of the spring season, then again with Love Live! S2, pretty much everything else got pushed out of the spotlight. But if you haven’t seen WIXOSS, man you’re missing something amazing. Season 1 left us on a massive cliffhanger and the twists and turns of the plot left us speechless. What I expect from season 2 is nothing short of spectacular and with how things are progressing now, I’ve got full confidence in J.C. Staff to pull this off and leave us amazed like we’ve never felt. Selector Spread WIXOSS starts Friday October 3rd on Tokyo MX and I’m guessing FUNimation will also be picking it up once again. Since FUNi hard subs their releases, I’ll be going with the Asenshi Subs release which might be a day or so later. I’ll aim to have this review out quickly as I’m really into this one and will want to get it posted for discussion ASAP.


Amagi Brilliant Park

Amabri-13-episode-3

So here we are with KyoAni’s latest anime, Amagi Brilliant Park. An amusement park, cute girls in the PV, and it’s got a director who did other things such as the Haruhi movie and Hyouka, so I have hope in this one. I want this to be good so much as I just would like a reason to love KyoAni again like I used to so much. I’d talk about how P.A. Works has gone to hell with Glasslip, but that’s for another post. Amagi Brilliant Park begins airing Thursday October 2nd and I’m not sure who will be subbing this one, but hopefully a good group like Vivid or something. I really like them these days. I’ll be striving to get this review out quickly as well, but with WIXOSS so close, I’ll have to do some planning to make sure I’ll have timely postings for each of them.


Sora no Method

Sora-no-Method-Visual-2

The last fall pick up I’ve got planned is Sora no Method. I saw a PV for this one many months ago and was intrigued with it. Looks like another loli anime kinda (no problem with that) but it also has some sci-fi vibes going on and such, so it looked like something I might like. I’ll probably wait till I’ve seen ep 1 before I make a final call on if I’ll be reviewing it or not. I’ve read it might have feels (no problem with that) so that makes me wonder if the story will be quite engaging too. Whatever the case Sunday October 5th is when this one touches down, so I’ll see how it goes before making a final call.


Strike Witches: Operation Victory Arrow

Strikes

The only OVA review I’ve got planned so far is the action, military, fan service anime Strike Witches: Operation Victory Arrow. Strike Witches is actually a pretty big favorite of mine as I enjoyed both seasons a lot, not so much the movie, and it’s one I’ve always wanted more of. I’m really excited for these OVA’s as it’s finally the more Strike Witches I’ve wanted. I still hope for a season 3 at some point (I’ve heard rumors out there) but I’d be so happy to have a season 3. Operation Victory Arrow hits Japanese theaters September 20th with ep 2 in theaters January 10th, while ep 3 will be out sometime after. Episode 1 flies onto DVD & Blu-Ray December 12th, while episode 2 and 3 should follow sometime in the New Year.


Aside from those four, other anime I plan on watching are the following, I may add some to this list too:

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai
Denki-Gai no Honya-san
Girlfriend (Kari)
Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle
Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de
Sanzoku no Musume Ronja
Psycho-Pass 2

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
SHIROBAKO
Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete
World Trigger
Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

For the OVAs:
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou Special
Nisekoi OVA
Sekai Seifuku ~Bouryaku no Zvezda~ Shin Zvezda Daisakusen
Suisei no Gargantia ~Meguru Kouro, Haruka~
Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! OVA

And I’ll be continuing on these from the summer as well
Akame ga Kill!
Sword Art Online 2
Yama no Susume Season 2

So to continue this preview, I’ll pass it off to one of my new writers, Andrew, and he’ll have a preview for what he’s reviewing for the fall season.


Shirobako

PyN9vF5

As an entry from P.A.Works in the autumn/fall season of 2014 we have Shirobako, an anime showcasing the daily lives of five girls as they pursue their ambition to make anime of their very own. Our cast consists of; the director Miyamori Aoi, the animator Yasuhara Ema, the VA Sakaki Shizuka, the 3DCG artist Toudou Misa and last but not least the resident writer Imai Midori. From the PV it would seem that these five make up something of skeleton production team for whatever the anime that they are making. Interestingly, it’s set up look that the five of them are part of a larger studio as opposed to being an animation club or something similar, rather than the high school theme that one might expect which should offer a rather refreshing change of setting. In reality the concept of just five people making a full production anime is somewhat unrealistic (unless of course they are all workaholic prologues who have transpired the need for sleep or something), a real production team would need to be quite a bit larger. However one would imagine that keeping track of several hundred characters may be a little taxing at the best of times, besides this isn’t supposed to be a documentary. No Shirobako is basically a variation on the “cute girls doing cute things” genre, in it being essentially just “cute girls making anime”.

As for my own personal thoughts and expectations of Shirobako, they are heavily coloured by a tweet made by the director, Tsutomu Mizushima on the 28th of August:

He stated that Shirobako would be devoid of all panty shots, a statement that was later revised to “he would consider including them” but is still interesting. This kind of statement, at least in my opinion, says a lot about the kind of direction that Mr. Mizushima wants to take the anime in. Trying to make the series more of a heart warmer rather than a heart racer, if you get what I mean. Don’t get me wrong I like my ecchi shows as much as the next person (perhaps more so, he thought whilst looking at the various Strike Witches figures on his shelf) but honestly, it can get a bit much for me at times especially when it seems that almost every show I’m watching can’t go an episode without at least some form of fanservice. So personally, if this is what the director wants to do, I welcome his direction. An anime that is fun and interesting to watch whist relaxing with a cup of tea after a long day is an anime that’s alright in my books.

Shirobako starts Thursday October 9th on Tokyo MX.


Here’s what Deven will be reviewing.

 Trinity Seven: 7-nin no Mahoutsukai

ss-2014-09-03-at-08-29-45

Anime News Network calls this little gem a ‘romantic comedy but sometimes serious magical school story’. That’s got me in right there. Mostly because it reminds me of Sora no Otoshimono minus the magical school part.

Anyway I’ve got good and bad visions for this one. It could go good like Sora no Otoshimono with the fanservice and comedy being funny and the action being awesome. Or it could be like every failed harem anime out there, too much fanservice and plot murdered and left on the side of the road. No pressure though. 🙂

The cast is pretty good. Yoshitsugu Matsuoka from SAO II will be the lead, Arata Kasuga (ironic since SAO II will still be airing when this premieres so he’ll be competing against himself.). Ayaka Suwa from Akuma no Riddle will have a part. She needs to get some points back with me after Jinsei… And finally Aya Uchida from Love Live School Idol Project and Ryoka Yuzuki from Naruto Shippuden will have parts. Hmm Kotori Minami and Ino Yamanaka I think we’ve got something good. Unless the studio screws up.

Trinity Seven starts on October 8th.


Here are the three fall pickups that Justin will be reviewing.

Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

Hitsugi-no-Chaika

Hey guys, it’s JustintheThief. Just wanted to give my thoughts on the anime I’ll be reviewing. First of all will be Chaika the Coffin Princess season 2. That was a favorite of many people when it aired in the spring, and it was in my top five favorite shows, probably number 2 right under Love Live Season 2. There were many unanswered questions and plenty of the old kings remains to be found, so I’m excited about this part two. I expect it to be a funny, action packed serious with a bit of heart and a feels or two. I’m expecting it to be as good as season one, and always in my top five shows. And Chaika and the way she speaks is just so freaking cute.

Chaika starts on October 8th on Tokyo MX.


Denki-Gai no Honya-san

1410545173_denkigai-no-honya-san

Second is Denki-Gai no Honya-san. It’s a “Youthful Bookstore comedy” about the folks who work in a manga shop in the middle of a Denki-Gai, which is a type of shopping area that usually specializes in electronic goods, much live the much beloved Akihabara. It’s a Seinen Comedy, which I’m very excited to be reviewing, as this season has been nothing but heavy action, which I do love, admittedly, but my heart goes with Slice of Life and Comedy, especially those geared towards Seinen. It seems like a funny show and my cup of tea. I think it’ll be a blast to review. I have another slice of life I may pick up if these two don’t keep me too busy… watch for news of that!

Denki-Gai no Honya-san starts October 2nd on Tokyo MX.


Suisei no Gargantia ~Meguru Kouro, Haruka~

suiseinogargantiaova_1

And finally, I’ll be reviewing the OVA of Suisei no Gargantia, or Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet, which I have pre-ordered for myself in English when it comes out. The show was incredible and when I found out there’d be more, I jumped at the chance to review it. It is probably among my favorite anime ever, and possibly takes the spot of my favorite Sci-fi anime ever (It’s either that or Stein’s;Gate). It’s just hard to go wrong with this. I don’t know what it’ll be about, all we really know is it’s a continuation of the story from the special I believe? And it’s two episodes. Hopefully it’ll be a bit of the daily life/slice of life stuff we got after the big battles were over. That’s what I want. But just having more Gargantia is enough for me.

Part 1 of the Gargantia OVA lands in Japanese theaters on September 27th, with a Blu-Ray release on November 21st. Part 2 reaches Earth on May 27th 2015.

And that’s all for me! Look forward to my reviews this season! Thanks Sky for letting me do this, and our three new-bloods, MarshyMello, Ynda, and DevenLuca! Great to be working with you guys!


Here’s what Chris will be reviewing!

Grisaia no Kajitsu

bg

Grisaia is one of my favorite visual novels.  It’s a nice, funny eroge that was compelling, and delivered on the emotional front.  I liked all the heroines in the VN; they were all funny, cute, and had pretty interesting back stories. But I’m afraid the anime will hurt the characters, and all the charm will be lost in translation. The visual novel wasn’t for everyone, it was dirty.  It made lots of sex jokes, and it had lots of sex in it.  I think the anime will cut back on these things to widen the potential audience.  But I’m afraid that hurts characters like Amane, Sachi, and Makina; all of which had constant gags that heavily revolved around dirty jokes.  There could be problems depending on how they adapt the routes and if they choose to have a “main girl” or not.  There’s also the issue of the series length, which is completely unconfirmed at this point.   I’m worried Grisaia will be like most other adaptations of visual novels and end up just another bad harem anime.  My love of the VN is what makes me want to review this show, and why I hope it manages to keep the charm of its source material.

Grisaia no Kajitsu starts October 5th on Tokyo MX


Chris is also reviewing the latest mecha action anime from Sunrise:

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo

Ange.(Cross.Ange).full.1755990

Notable voices in this anime include some of my top favorite voice actresses: Nana Mizuki, Eri Kitamura, Yukari Tamura and Yui Horie. From the PV we see lots of action, explosions, hot girls and mechs a plenty. Looks like another Sunrise anime for sure.

Cross Ange launches on October 4th on Tokyo MX.


So there you have it, the fall anime you can expect to see reviewed here. All in all I’m looking forward to this coming season as it should be pretty awesome. So I’ll take this time to open it up to you readers, what are you looking forward to this fall? Any season 2’s you’re really excited about? Got any plans to try blogging about anime? Sound off in the comments below!

As the time draws near the anticipation builds and soon we’ll be swept up in another season of new anime. I’ve got high hopes this time, so I just want something to pay off and not leave me disappointed. I hope you’re looking forward to all the new reviews and if you want to take a look at all the airing anime for this fall season, take a look at the well detailed list here.

That’s it for this post, I hope to see you back here on Anime Corps for another season of great anime reviews!

 **Pixiv Link!**


Bonus Pic!

39569577

**Pixiv Link!**


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

