Hello and welcome back to one last look at all the summer anime I watched over the past few months. It’s time to score them up and put down some final thoughts.

Ai Mai Mi ~Mousou Catastrophe~

news_QSs6T0evnR2se4a

This is probably the only anime I’m happy that it’s only 3 minutes long because if it were any more, I think my brain would start to melt or something. I don’t mean that this is a bad anime, but given the fact it’s so manic, it’s best watched in these short dosages. There isn’t really a plot to this, rather it’s just really, really crazy random events happening, usually they’re ridiculously funny, but most of the time it’s just crazy random. You might be surprised to hear that Aya Uchida (Kotori from Love Live) actually voices one of the main characters in this one; along side her are Maaya Uchida (Futaba from Ao Haru Ride), Yuka Ootsubo (Tami from Hanayamata), and Ai Kayano (Shiro from No Game No Life). So it’s a very high tier cast in this 3 minute anime, and they each do a good job with the characters. I’m giving Ai Mai Mi ~Mousou Catastrophe~ a solid 6/10. Short and… kinda sweet.


Akame ga Kill!

Akame ga Kill! title card

As Akame ga Kill will be continuing on through the fall season, my thoughts here are only based on the first 13 eps. Off the bat I enjoyed ep 1 quite a bit; it had some action, it was funny and I liked the characters. Here we are at ep 13 and while that hasn’t changed too much, there are some new characters that I’m liking quite a bit. But before I get to that lets talk plot for a bit. All in all this is a really basic anime type plot: magical weapons, good vs. evil, crazy monsters, bloody battles, it’s just really standard. It’s not great, but it’s not terrible. This is more of an anime you watch for the entertainment value rather than the story, so on that level it’s pretty good to watch. So for characters, I’ve gotta say that Chelsea and Akame are my favorites, that much is obvious. But I’m starting to like Esdeath more and more by the episode. As crazy as she is, she’s got a cute side to her that makes her seem a lot more human. That said though, I have this fear that Chelsea might be killed at some point, just because she’s such a good character, that along is probably enough of a reason to kill her off. I hope they don’t, but I think they might at some point. As it stands now, Akame ga Kill is a 7/10. I’m enjoying it, but it’s something best kept on a entertainment level and not much more.

Read all the Akame ga Kill reviews from Justin and Chris here!


Aldnoah.Zero

Aldnoah.Zero Title Card

After watching the final ep, all that came to mind was: wow. I should’ve known though, this is Gen Urobuchi we’re talking about here, but still it was a finale that left a lasting impression. Obviously I won’t say what it is, because this is just one of those anime you really ought to watch, but I will say that I cannot wait for January to see how this will continue. However though, as good as this anime is, I still don’t like the MC Inaho. He’s way too much a Gary Stu and I hated how he just somehow knew everything about the enemy and just knew how to combat them. Antics like that really do annoy me and even though there were some really badass battle sequences, the fact he was just doing things without any real explanation pissed me off quite a bit.

There are quite a few good things to take away from this one though. The action sequences were really amazing, the music oh man the music! I so love Hiroyuki Sawano‘s music as it just adds another layer of depth to each scene and really gives it the soul to make it come to life. The story was really good too, putting you in the group of students and civilians trying to stay alive in an alien assault on Earth. All in all it’s one exciting ride from ep 1 to 12 and I’m sure come January it’s going to pick right back up where it left off, with that shocking plot twisting cliffhanger. Until then, I’m giving Aldnoah.Zero an 8.5/10.

Be sure to read all of Justin’s reviews for Aldnoah here!


Ao Haru Ride

[Mezashite] Ao Haru Ride - 10 [9F7F69BB].mkv_snapshot_01.11_[2014.09.14_18.55.15]

This one wasn’t on my radar from the start of the season, but thanks to Chris I decided to check it out. Once again a recommendation proving to be something really good. Thanks buddy! Honestly I do like a good romance anime, even if I won’t openly admit it all the time, but that soft spot in me enjoys the feels. I liked Ao Haru Ride as it was a very down to earth romance story about these characters. It’s a pretty chill anime too, not up in your face all the time, but very laid back and everyone is just chill. The music is calming, the OP/ED really nice, I enjoyed the characters, and from start to finish I just liked this anime. If voice actor/actresses are something you look at, then you should be happy to know that Yuki Kaji (Eren – Attack on Titan) voices the MC while Maaya Uchida (Haruka – Rail Wars!) voices the lead girl. Not really a Yuki Kaji fan (needs to stop yelling…) but it was nice to see him in a calming role for once. Maaya was really good as Futaba, I liked her a lot. All in all Ao Haru Ride was a very charming anime that I’m glad I decided to pick up and try out; it amazes me what I would’ve missed had I not tried out some of these recommendations. Tallying it all up, I’ll give Ao Haru Ride an 8/10. Very enjoyable from start to finish.


Captain Earth

2053932_original

Out of the gate I liked this one. It was exciting, it looked really amazing, mechs were cool and the story promised to be something pretty good. But soon after the start it turned into week after week of the endless train ride across the country fighting bad guy after bad guy, thus beginning a Monster of the Week anime. This would take us to about the half way point, and once all the bad guys were finally introduced, the story seemed to start again. That’s probably what killed it for me. Weeks of the same thing, literally the same thing, and it just killed the flow. The second half was pretty good though, Puck being a decent enemy, but by the end it was just like “what the hell is even going on anymore?”. While it sounds like I’m talking about this anime all in a negative sense, there were good parts to it namely the battle sequences. I also really liked the overall art to this anime, it was bright, colorful and vivid; Bones did a good job with that part. It’s funny though as when this started in the spring season, Chaika did as well, but it wasn’t as polished as Captain Earth. Haha guess they didn’t divide the budget between the two properly.

Other things I liked about Captain Earth: the first OP (totally one of my top 3 fav OPs of the season and maybe the year too) the second ED (also one of my very favorite EDs of the summer). For my favorite character…. based solely on looks I’d have to say either Moco or Ai. Yes, I did like those avatar’s bodies very much. Like always the ending is something I look at a lot, and with Captain Earth, as crazy as it was I guess it worked. Although it lacked a solid conclusion to it, and that really bothers me. I’d have liked there to be at least 1 more ep just to wrap everything up nicely. Also because I’m wondering if Daichi and Hana actually lived or did they die? Considering that thing did blow up with them in it. Whatever the case the ending didn’t sit as well with me as I’d have liked it to. Overall though I enjoyed the 25 week run of this action mech anime and I’m happy I stuck with it through to the end. With that said I’ll give Captain Earth a solid 7.5/10. Not perfect, but still pretty good.


Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

[HorribleSubs] Locodol - 11 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_00.52_[2014.09.14_18.58.26]

From start to finish this one reminded me of last winter’s Wake Up, Girls!, except they actually animated this one. It’s a pretty chill slice of life/idol anime that I found quite easy to watch, it’s enjoyable and funny and just something good to balance out other Thursday anime like Tokyo Ghoul and Zankyou no Terror. What drew me to Locodol was the fact it indeed is an idol anime, not of the caliber as Love Live or iDOLM@STER, but still it’s got the idol anime theme running throughout. The art was actually really good, feel. did a good job with this one. Music wise there weren’t many songs they actually sang, so I’d have liked it if there were more songs and performances, but as they were local idols and not the usual type, I guess I can’t expect Love Live style performances all the time. The final song in ep 12 was probably the best, I liked that one a lot. Overall though it’s still a slice of life anime so don’t expect any hardcore story to flow from start to finish, even so I liked the execution of it and it all ended in a usual slice of life fashion. All things considered, I’ll give Locodol a 7/10.


So that’ll bring part 1 to an end. I’ll have part 2 out when a few other anime (M3 and Magica Wars) end soon. If you also watched (are still watching) some of the anime mentioned, let me know what you thought of (or still think of) them in the comments below!

That’s all for me, I’ll cya in the next post!

**Pixiv Link!**


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

