The second wave of summer anime.

Glasslip

Glasslip title card

What started out as something that I thought would be another amazing P.A. Works anime ended in horrible disaster. Glasslip was something that should’ve been good, the PV led us to believe it would be good, then pretty much after ep 3 it just turned to shit and it never got better. I stayed all the way on till ep 9 (still not sure why) but by then I was so sick and tired of it I just had to stop, even if I did have the fascination to see how it’d all turn out. Sure it was another visual masterpiece by P.A. Works, but just looking good isn’t enough. I feared this might be all style no substance way back in my summer preview, and looks like I hit the nail on the head. An overall disappointment with a confusing “plot”, unlikable characters, and events that were barely strung together happening episode after episode. Ugh, what a huge mess this is. Glasslip has made me seriously doubt P.A. Works now and after this one, I’ll be very careful to put trust in their future work. Tallying it all up, I’m giving Glasslip a 3/10.

Read my Glasslip reviews here.


Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

[Underwater] Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun - 02 (720p) [03AF5332].mkv_snapshot_01.43_[2014.09.14_19.14.52]

I knew going into this that I’d enjoy it, hell I’ve enjoyed every Dogakobo I’ve seen, and like all the others before this one, Nozaki-kun was hilarious and super enjoyable to watch. Also like the other Dogakobo anime I’ve seen, Nozaki-kun featured a super cute main girl you’ll fall in love with the moment you see her. That super cute girl this time around happens to be Sakura Chiyo, who would go on to be the best girl of the summer. Yes she is, don’t say other wise. What I love about this one so much though is that each ep was so damn hilarious, like I was laughing so much while watching this anime. It’s really great when you watch something like this where on a consistent basis, for 12 weeks, it delivers laughs after laughs without being too much. I’m not sure what Dogakobo has planned next (hopefully Love Lab season 2 in the future, I can only pray) but I’m sure that it’ll be another hilarious one that I’ll love. Easily one of the best anime of the summer season, I’ve gotta give Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun a 9/10. I had so much fun watching this and it’s one you should really check out if you haven’t.


Hanayamata

Hanayamata title card

Another anime that really took me by surprise, Hanayamata proved to be something amazing while having an almost Love Live! vibe to it as well. I love the heart and soul this anime has, and each ep draws you more and more into the lives of Hana, Naru, Yaya, Tami, and Machi as they strive for greatness. I got really caught up with this each week; I couldn’t wait to sit down and enjoy another 24 minutes with these characters. Madhouse did a fantastic job bringing this anime to life with vibrant colors in the art style and making each scene look great. I look forward to see what this will be like on Blu-Ray, as it should be even more amazing in full HD. I’ve pretty much run out of good things to say about this one after writing my final review so I may as well tally this one up now and give it a score. Hanayamata is one I highly recommend you put time into as it really is worth it. That said, I’m giving Hanayamata a 9/10.

Read all my Hanayamata reviews here.


M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane

[Chyuu] M3 - Sono Kuroki Hagane - 21 [720p][924D8BC1].mkv_snapshot_03.57_[2014.09.14_19.17.03]

Another anime that started in the spring season, M3 was yet another mech anime about a group of high school kids battling the forces of darkness. Not much new here actually. Anyways I’ll start by saying if you started and dropped it soon off the start, I can’t blame you for doing that; the first few eps were very confusing (at least to me they were) and things just seemed all over the place. It wasn’t until the half way point where it calmed down and you started to get a grasp on things. By the ending you more or less got the gist of what was happening and who you should be rooting for. While I felt the story and such were pretty standard, nothing out of the ordinary, this wasn’t a mind blowing mech anime at all. Then again what mech anime are mind blowing? Probably what I liked a lot about this anime was just how insane everyone became as time went on. All the events affected everyone slightly differently and they each had their own demons to face. Aside from that, I liked the opening themes quite a lot too, they weren’t on the same level as Captain Earth‘s OP1 but still pretty good. So by the ending I was just happy this one was over as it had run it’s course and I just wanted it to be over so I could finally move on. It’s not a bad anime, but it’s nothing amazing either; it’s pretty much one you can check out if you want, but there are much better things to invest time into. Tallying it all up, I’ll give M3: The Dark Metal a 6.5/10.


Mahou Shoujo Taisen

[HorribleSubs] Mahou Shoujo Taisen - 01 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_00.59_[2014.07.03_03.33.14]

Like most short anime, you can’t really expect greatness from it as there just isn’t the time to dive into things that a 24 minute ep can. Magica Wars started 26 weeks ago in the spring season and has been quietly running it’s course since. Don’t worry if you haven’t heard of it, you’re not missing much. Pretty much it follows different magical girls of different prefectures as they battle enemies. Each girl has a 4 ep arc where you learn some back story about her, there is usually a personal challenge she has to overcome, and do all this while battling bad guys. As a 4 minute anime it works, and as it ran each week I was hoping that maybe at the end there would be some Avengers style team up where they all join forces to fight the final boss.

This needed to happen.

But even though they never teamed up nor had a moment pictured above, it was fine… well not really as that would’ve been cool, but yeah. Favorite character, well I liked the first girl, Naruko Aoba as she was pretty cute, but Yuri Inuwashi was interesting as well. Probably my only complaint with this one was that each girl’s sidekick thing was usually so damn annoying all the time. They got better by the end, but for the middle part, oh my god I wanted to strangle the little shit every time it started speaking. Aside from the fact it was only 4 minutes, that’s my only complaint. So looking back at Magica Wars, I’ll give it a 5/10. Better than average, but that’s about it.


Rail Wars!

Rail Wars title card

Going into this one, I didn’t expect anything ground breaking, mind blowing nor something that’ll change my life, but even so I still wanted something that I’d enjoy and look forward to watching. Ep 1 was the warning that this anime isn’t exactly what I hyped every living soul on Twitter up for, but rather a weekly dosage of large bouncing boobs, short skirts, and ass like no other. If that sounds like something you’ll enjoy then good news, I’ve got an anime for you. Overall Rail Wars! is a train wreck of an anime, it wasn’t the unbridled train violence like I was hoping for, nor was it an anime with a plot that carried from start to finish. It’s pretty much just a collection of random events that happened each week that left you more or less aroused or just plain frustrated that nothing exciting was happening.

Yes I speak mainly of the negative qualities of this anime, as there are quite a few, but there are, believe it or not, a few good points. For starters, our lovely (yet quite violent) red haired lead girl Aoi Sakurai was something that kept me coming back week after week. I’ve really liked her voice actress, Manami Numakura, ever since Love Lab, so seeing her in another role was a main reason I wanted to watch this one. Also the fact she was a sexy red head was probably the main reason I wanted to watch this anime. Yes, I do like girls with red hair, but given my obsession with Maki I’m sure that was probably quite evident at this point. Other noteworthy voice actresses to mention are: Maaya Uchida, Yui Horie, and the very awesome Minori Chihara. From a fan service stand point, they sure delivered that quite a bit and never let up on the boobs and ass. I’ll give ’em credit for that as I can’t ignore the fact this anime has some good ass in it. But even with Sakurai being the violent, sexy, red haired female lead that you’d love to have on your own team, this anime was doomed from day 1. Strictly on an entertainment level, it’s okay to watch, but anything more than that and you’re in for a huge disappointment. Time to step off this ride. I’ll give Rail Wars! a 5/10.

Read all my Rail Wars! reviews here.


So there you have it, the second part of this three part summer anime review. If you’ve got any final thoughts and opinions on any of the above mentioned anime, be sure to leave a comment.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll cya in the final part.

**Pixiv Link!**


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

