While last week was the official end to Amaburi, this week we get a bonus ep about the gang trying to make a PV for the park. What could possibly go wrong?

Here’s my review!


So much to my delight last week was the final ep, meaning I really enjoyed the ending to this one a lot. Man it’s been ages since I last liked the ending of an anime. Wonder what that’s saying? Anyways this week (last week by now, so lazy!) the gang needs to spice up a PV that Tricen made for the park. Honestly there wasn’t too much wrong with it. I mean sure I personally would’ve liked to see a few shots of the sexy Fairies, as we all know that kinda stuff sells well, but aside from a little tweaks here and there, it was pretty good. But as we all know, Seiya has the final say when it comes to the PV. Telling Tricen it’s not good enough, Seiya places the lovely Isuzu in charge of helping Tricen make a rockin’ PV for the park.

So with Isuzu’s help (although she’s not good with film making) they should be able to get some ideas and put them into action. Right? Wrong. Asking the mascots for anything is a surefire way for trouble. Each mascot gives pretty terrible ideas actually. Explosions, sexual content, violence, stuff that should work, but after Tricen puts it together it looks horrible. Honestly the Micheal Bay route with more explosions is probably the worst thing you can do. Although I will say that his use of supercars is not to be frowned on, those are some sexy cars. Oh yeah the girls are hot too, but man those cars.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tricen also asks around for ideas from everyone else, things that range from the Fairies looking sexy (I approve), nearly naked men (nope), Ashe doing some crazy skydiving ironing thing (wut), Dornell getting off to dams (not actually, but it’s implied), Indiana Jones, horse births (gross) and even mining. In the end the video is absolutely horrible and Seiya hates it as he should. So they stick with the original cut, much to everyone’s disapproval. However Tricen “leaks” the other cut he made, the horrible one, online and it receives millions of views. I guess it’s confirmed people have shit taste.

So as an extra ep, a bonus ep, side story ep, OVA, BD special, or just ep 13, call it what you may but it still was an enjoyable watch. No more pressure of getting the guests, it was just something done on the off day, which actually took place over a few days. I had a great time with this ep, I mean anytime we see sexy shots of Isuzu and the Fairies, hey that’s a bonus for sure. Isuzu should be going down as one of the best girls this season. Damn she is so good. Anyways, as of now, Amagi Brilliant Park has officially ended it’s TV broadcast.


Final Thoughts

I was extremely skeptical coming into this one. KyoAni, a studio I long loved, hadn’t really done anything in the past while that gave me the feeling I got with their other work. Chuunibyou S1 & 2 were enjoyable (S1 being the better IMO), Tamako Market also cute and fun but mediocre IMO, Kyoukai no Kanata probably being the best (Mitsuki Nase totally the best girl, I loved her so much!) but the ending faltered and it fell short of amazing, and I didn’t see Free! as I’m not into that. I held true to Hyouka being their last amazing anime, that one truly being a top favorite of mine. Anyways, Amaburi rolls around and seeing how it’s got promise I decided to check it out. The “slap-stick drama” line really got me wondering, as those two aren’t something you see together that often.

Anyways I decided to go in with an open mind, trying to see the good in it, but honestly even if I went in with a closed mind, Amaburi totally caught me by surprise and ended up being one of my favorites of the season. I enjoyed every moment of this as it had so much to love. The KyoAni animation, the music, comedy, characters, cute girls, solid story, the execution, it was something really well done and I’m glad I gave it the chance it deserved.

As a result of this experience I can say that my love for KyoAni has returned, something I’m glad did too because the PV for their new anime, beginning in April, looks like another winner for sure. The KyoAni I came to love is finally back once again and maybe they’ll retake that top spot as my favorite studio. But as these are final thoughts about Amaburi I guess I should give this one a score as well. Honestly based on pure enjoyment, and how much fun I had, but also taking into account music, animation, characters, cute girls (Isuzu mainly), story and execution of said story, I’m giving Amagi Brilliant Park a 9/10. This is one to watch as I’m sure you’ll have a great time with it.


So that’s it, I’m finished reviewing all the fall anime I set out to review (minus Sorameso). I’ve had a blast writing reviews for Amaburi and I hope you’ve enjoyed your time reading them, and if you watched this one too, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. I’ll miss this one but I’ll leave you with the promise that if there are any OVA’s in the future, I’ll review them as well.

Andrew will be continuing on with the Shirobako reviews as that’s entering it’s 2nd cour, so I hope you stick with him for those always enjoyable reviews. For a full detailed look at our winter anime plans, I’ll direct you to our Winter Anime Preview post, as it’s got all our thoughts about what you can expect to see reviewed here on the blog.

Once again I’d like to thank you for sticking with me for these 13 weeks of Amaburi and I hope to see you once again for the winter season. But before you leave, here’s some final bonus pics. Enjoy your New Year’s celebrations (be safe!), and I’ll be back with new reviews in 2015.


Bonus Pics!

Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the ‘Contact’ page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

