So here we are, the end of the fall season! While it’s a time to be sad about your favorite fall anime ending, it’s also a joyous time as new winter season anime are starting too! But before we get to that, it’s time for me to take a look back on what I watched this past season and how it all turned out! Keep in mind I’m talking only about the anime I personally watched and my scores are always out of 10. Also I should mention that I rarely (okay, never) take a look at the what said anime is adapted from (be it manga, light or visual novel) so my thoughts will always be based on the anime and what I thought of it. If the adaptation is total shit I probably won’t know about it, so if my score seems high when the majority hated it, that’s why.

Spoilers included.


Akame ga Kill!

Akame ga Kill! title card

If you remember back to July 7th, that’s when this anime first started. Wow, seems like another lifetime again now. After lasting through the summer and fall season, Akame ga Kill! has finally come to an end. By the way, before I get too deep into this, I should point out that I haven’t read the manga, so so impressions are based solely on the anime. From start to finish I enjoyed this anime, even if almost every character died in it. Story wise the plot was pretty well executed (no pun intended) and I liked how it was one solid story from start to finish. Most anime that are 2 cour usually have one plot for the first 12 then another plot for the second half, but AgK stayed with one for the whole way through and I liked how it worked out. It gave me the sense that for Night Raid to overthrow the Empire, it would be something that took time and by the time ep 24 rolled around they had accomplished that, even if there were only 2 members left standing. Other factors I liked about AgK, the animation was solid too, the battle scenes really looking slick. I liked the Night Raid group too, Chelsea being my favorite but sadly she died much like almost everyone else. I did like Esdeath too, she was such a cold, imposing and ruthless female antagonist, who really put Night Raid to the test. So by the end of this 24 ep run I was felt satisfied at the events that took place; Night Raid achieved their goal, evil was defeated and good triumphed, even if many had to die for it. I enjoyed my time watching Akame ga Kill! so after all is said and done, I’ll give it a 7.5/10.

Check out Justin and Chris’ reviews for Akame ga Kill! here.


Amagi Brilliant Park

Amaburi title card

My first few anime I ever watched were by KyoAni, so naturally I liked them from the beginning and was eager to check out whatever they did. However ever since Hyouka none of their anime really made me go “wow this is amazing!”. Not to say that Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!, Tamako Market, Kyoukai no Kanata and Chuunibyou S2 were horrible, but they fell just below amazing for me. Maybe I expected too much out of them, but whatever the case it’s made me doubt KyoAni. I didn’t mention Free! as I wasn’t interested in that. Oh and for the record, out of the above mentioned anime I enjoyed Kyoukai no Kanata the most, even if it fell a step short in the very end. So fall 2014 rolls around and KyoAni’s latest, Amaburi, starts. From the get go I was enjoying it and from there is only got better and better. Honestly Amaburi is one very enjoyable anime, and one that made me come to love the KyoAni I knew from when I first started watching anime. Amaburi has it all, slick KyoAni animation, cute girls galore, an enjoyable story, lots of laughs, feels as well, great music, likable characters, and yes explosions too. Looking back on it’s 13 ep run I can only say that this anime took me by surprise and I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. Each week was so much fun to watch this one and now that it’s over I really would like to see either more of this or another KyoAni production that can continue my love for them. And I can’t end this without mentioning best girl Sento Isuzu. She is such a babe, wow! One of the best girls this season for sure. And for you trivia fans, Sento’s voice actress, Ai Kakuma, actually voices Ruuko Kominato from the Selector series too. Totally wouldn’t have know that if I didn’t look it up. So tallying this all up, my time in Amagi Brilliant Park certainly was a fun filled one from start to finish, and that’s why I’m giving it a 9/10. LOOK AT THE SKY IT’S MAGIC HOUR~!!

Check out all my reviews for Amagi Brilliant Park right here!


Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

daitoanime 53

Had I known that this anime was based off a visual novel, an eroge to be completely exact, I’d have passed up on it strictly because of that. Why? Based on previous experience with anime like that,I really didn’t like them at all. Just something about them gives off this unexplainable vibe that I pick up on and just can’t really make myself excited to watch them. But with Daito I didn’t know this at all and went in totally blind; and I must say I was surprised yet again! Yes that’s right I had a pretty good time watching this anime, something I was totally not ready for. Honestly I expected to be out within 3 eps, but I stayed in all the way till the end, loving every step of the way. The story actually started reminding me of the 2011 movie The Adjustment Bureau which I actually really love a lot. If you haven’t seen it then totally check it out. Anyways this anime gave off vibes of that which I really liked; although they didn’t bring those vibes into the foreground and make it something totally like The Adjustment Bureau, there were definite whispers of them through the middle half to the end. Character wise no one stood out as amazing, but Nagi Kodachi was the best girl by far. I liked the other main girls too though, none of them worth any serious hate. I mean they each had some points to them that I liked, but Kodachi was the girl I gravitated to first and sticked with. Plus as Kodachi was yet another cute, adorable imouto, how could you not love her? So while this wasn’t some groundbreaking amazing anime, it was a surprisingly enjoyable one that I’m glad I watched. Tallying it all up I’ll give Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai a 7.5/10. Good stuff.


Denki-gai no Honya-san

Denki-Gai no Honya-san Title Card

From start to finish Denki-gai was able to maintain it’s enjoyment factor despite being quite silly through and through. As expected from a slice of life type anime there isn’t a in depth plot but more of an episode by episode story with elements that ran from start to finish. As so many anime out there are based in a school setting, I was happy this one took another direction and not have yet another school life theme to it. Not that I’ve got anything against that, it’s a time tested method that works well but having variety is nice too, so when there is an anime that’s not a school life one, I’m slightly more drawn to it. Given it’s got something to catch my interest and hold it that is. You can’t really go into plot execution and such with a slice of life type anime as there is little plot to execute, but when there were small story moments they pulled them off well. I enjoyed the characters too, each adding something to the plot and having an ep or two to get to better know them. I’m not sure I had a favorite really, but Sensei was a pretty good character, so I guess she’d be my favorite. Lastly I liked the OP as well, as it’s sung by a favorite of mine, Ayana Taketatsu. So looking back at it’s 12 week run, I enjoyed Denki-gai and I’m glad I stuck with it till the end. Tallying it all up I’ll give Denki-gai no Honya-san a 6.5/10.


Girlfriend BETA

[HorribleSubs] Girl Friend Beta - 09 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.02_[2014.12.12_02.13.31]

Probably what drew me to this one was the cast. Literally I have never seen a cast of the best voice actresses all in one anime before. Forget the plot of the anime, just look at the extensive list of voices for this anime, it’s amazing! For that aspect alone I enjoyed this anime because I had such a fun time trying to places the voices of the characters to other anime I’ve heard said voice in. I mentioned plot before, well there isn’t really any as this is another slice of life anime. Honestly I’ve got no problems with slice of life anime, I enjoy them because they’re always chill and relaxing to watch, so I’m not sure why there is hate for them. So this anime is actually based off some smartphone game I believe, and I’m not sure exactly what the game is like, but I’m guessing you (the player) have a girlfriend (one of many…) and you interact with them. Correct me if that’s way off base. Hmm, what else… well I mentioned the cast, but as for the girl I liked the most… probably Akane Sakurai, the radio host. Not just because my Gravatar is a lovely kazenokaze pic of her… wait that might actually be why. Anyways I liked her. I’m sure you’ve heard her voice actress,  Rina Satou, before in many other anime. That said I still liked the main girl (I guess you could call her) Shiina Kokomi, mainly because she was in the rhythmic gymnastics club. When was the last time you saw that in anime? I never have. Plus her VA Satomi Sato is a favorite of mine too. So in this end this anime was pretty much a mash up of the best female VA’s out there as they voiced really cute girls. Hey, when you get that, why complain about having some huge plot woven into all that? I was fine with it and it’s one I really enjoyed this season. Tallying it all up, I’m giving Girlfriend BETA an 8/10. Pure enjoyment and chillness to watch.


Grisaia no Kajitsu

bg

I wasn’t actually planning on watching this as it didn’t really interest me from the get go. Another anime based off VN, not really a fan because of previous experiences with anime like that, so I passed it up. But when the hype continued I decided to check it out, maybe it would be worth it. My main feelings I had through out this anime though was frustration and maybe annoyance. I know it’s based off a VN that I will go through at some point (in the far, far, far future), but I just couldn’t connect with this one, no matter how hard I tried. Usually I put forward some feeling or emotion into what I’m watching, but I felt very out of sync with and constantly like I was missing… something important. Back story or something, but whatever it was that was missing probably attributed to me feeling this way. I get that the story is good, I’ll admit that, but no matter the feels or whatever I couldn’t get into this one. It also felt like they kept over complicating situations that shouldn’t have been so hard to deal with. Logic seemed to go out the window in some parts and I was felt baffled as to why they didn’t act/say/whatever in a normal way that would probably fix said problem faster. It got good around the end though, as much as I complained (which I did a lot), but the final arc is probably my favorite as it was about Amane Suou, the girl I liked the most. It ends with a lot of questions, including two guys fighting the coast guard, but with two more series based off the VNs coming soon I’m sure questions will be answered by then. But based on my experience going on to this one having known nothing about the VN, I wasn’t too amazed by this one. Also Yuuji was yet another OP MC, something I’m not a fan of. More so as he reminded me of that dude from Mahouka. I’ll watch the other two only because my curiosity has gotten the better of me, but looking back at this I’ll have to give Grisaia no Kajitsu a 7/10. Couldn’t connect with this one really.


And that’s all for this part. If you watched any of the anime mentioned here, what were your final impressions of them? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

I’ll cya in part 2 now!

Pixiv link for the header pic!


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the ‘Contact’ page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

