Here are the second wave of fall anime I’ll be taking my final look at.

Spoilers included


Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

[Anime-Koi] Hitsugi no Chaika Avenging Battle - 08 [h264-720p][920E9AD3].mkv_snapshot_00.26_[2014.12.12_12.23.47]

What started back in April of this year, the 10th to be exact, has finally come to an end. At first I wasn’t really into Chaika, it seemed pretty bland and boring, but as I continued to watch I got more and more into the story and what was happening. Season 1 ended with a pretty big cliffhanger, so I was eager to see how things would continue in season 2. Overall I enjoyed the events that took place, it brought the quest Chaika was on to an end, even if it felt rushed and like they left out some details at the end. The animation seemed better this season too, something that wasn’t really rolling in S1. I loved the combat scenes like always, Toru always shredding and getting some crazy kills. But what I didn’t like, as mentioned was the rather fast and unresolved ending. All the Chaika’s apparently died, so what are White and Red Chaika still around, and when Toru made his contract with Fredrica, did that mean he’s never a Saboteur again? Also what was with the Iron Blood Transformations, they were never explained either. Honestly if Saboteur’s are that OP fighting just a few guys, what were Toru and Akari like during the war then? I’d hate to face them. But on a whole, as this is one big story, I enjoyed it from start to finish and I’m glad I didn’t give up on it. Looking back at this one I’ll give Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle a solid 8/10. Good stuff.


Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de

[HorribleSubs] Inou Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de - 10 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.10_[2014.12.12_12.25.38]

Their first anime since the huge hit Kill la Kill, Trigger is back with it’s latest production. That’s about all I knew going into this one, that it was by Trigger so it must be worth watching. Honestly I wasn’t sure what to expect, nor was I sure I would even like it but once I watched ep 1 I knew this would be a good one. Inou Battle reminds me a lot of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!, except this time around instead of just having chuunibyou, they actually have powers too. As I enjoyed Chu-2 Byo (season 1 more than season 2) I liked that aspect of the anime, them having powers was nice too as it wasn’t just all talk and nothing else. For the first little bit it was looking like Inou Battle would be yet another silly anime, yet it got serious and a story started to happen too. I liked this as I do have a threshold of silliness I can handle before I get annoyed, but the shift in Inou Battle was something I liked. Things were really rolling and ep 7 was probably what most people will think of when they look back on this anime. I’m sure you know exactly what I talking about here, the scene where Hatoko has a meltdown and goes off an a nearly 3 minute rant. So much respect to her voice actress Saori Hayami, as that was among the best voice acting I have ever heard. Seeing it down in writing is even more amazing. But after ep 8 I felt the show lost something, it’s charm that I loved up until that point. After such a dramatic episode I was expected ep 8 to follow it up perfectly, but it didn’t and that really let me down. Eps 9-12 tried to get this feeling back but I just wasn’t feeling it anymore. The ending didn’t really answer any question raised in that ep or the previous ones so major loss of points there. Sure it’s probably one of those “read the light novel” endings (as I’ve seen it been called) but not everyone will, so this was even more of a let down. On a whole this isn’t a bad anime per say, I liked it but after ep 8 failed to live up to the expectations I wanted it to, I lost that love for it and it I never got it back. The more I think about it the after taste isn’t the best either, as annoyance is what comes to mind the most. But this isn’t a time to rant about it, so I’ll end this here. And lastly, Tomoyo best girl. Tallying this all up I’m giving Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de an 7/10. I had a good time, but 8 ep till the end ruined it.


Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu

[Underwater] Parasyte - the maxim - 11 (720p) [249EC532].mkv_snapshot_01.45_[2014.12.12_12.27.17]

Another example of an anime I wasn’t planning on watching initially, but ended up checking it out and liking it. While I don’t see the hype for Parasyte that much, it’s still a pretty decent watch. I had some trouble getting into it though, I mean a guy with an alien in his arm that constantly wants to jack him off, I have a hard time taking things seriously when this is the case. Okay fine, Migi isn’t constantly trying to jack him off, but there were implications made. That’s enough right there. Moving on then, story wise I think things are fine, I mean aliens taking over people, it’s classic stuff that’s hard to mess up. I like the battle scenes though, the dubstep OST being a bit… well yeah I’ll leave it at I’ve moved on from listening to that. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike Parasyte, but I just needed time to warm up to it, getting over those bumps along the way. As Parasyte is also continuing on through the winter season, I can’t give it a final score now but I’ll give it a half way point score. Tallying things up, I’ll give Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu (Parasyte -the maxim-) a 7.5/10.


Psycho-Pass 2

[HorribleSubs] PSYCHO-PASS 2 - 10 [720p].mkv_snapshot_05.28_[2014.12.12_12.29.02]

Following up to the 2012/2013 favorite of mine, Psycho-Pass finally returns with another season. After a summer of the Extended Edition to prep myself to get back into this world, I was ready to be blown away again by something amazing. I personally enjoyed parts of this one, it was an good follow up to the first one, not better than it, but a good follow up. The ending wasn’t the best, given it kinda all wrapped up pretty quickly, but with only 11 eps this time around compared to the 22 of season 1, time just wasn’t there to flesh out the story. Character wise I liked seeing the battle hardened Akane as she’s really changed since season 1. The rest of the returning characters, Ginoza, Shion and Yayoi remain pretty much the same, not much changing with them. I did like how they brought back Saiga though, I liked him in season 1 and I liked him again this time around. Villain wise we’ve got Kirito Kamui who is pretty much like Makishima all over again, unable to be read by Dominators, and that was a bit overused this time around. Kamui didn’t live up to the likes of Makishima as he just wasn’t bad enough to. With Makishima he gave off this aura of pure evil, but Kamui just didn’t really do that. Something that S2 did that S1 didn’t was give us a bloody ride; there were much more gory sequences in S2, some just being pretty twisted the longer you think about them. I liked this aspect as it added to the chaos, but still it didn’t make Kamui a better bad guy than Makishima. All in all I enjoyed this follow up season, it wasn’t nearly as perfect as season 1 was, but it some of the right notes. I’ll give Psycho-Pass 2 an 8/10.   


Selector Spread WIXOSS

[Asenshi] selector spread WIXOSS - 01 [17787284].mkv_snapshot_02.36_[2014.10.04_15.41.29]

After a long summer wait, Selector Infected WIXOSS got it’s follow up season, Selector Spread WIXOSS. The hype going into this one was through the roof as Selector Infected was my second favorite of the spring season (Love Live S2 taking first place obviously). Needless to say I was super excited to watch and review Selector Spread, and now that it’s over I can say that I really enjoyed it a lot. As amazing as Selector Spread is though, I like Selector Infected a bit more. Selector Spread continued the story in a great way, it didn’t really fail there, but there were just some things that they could’ve done a better job at explaining. True mostly everything is wrapped up by the ending, but there are some lingering questions that are kinda left up to the viewer to figure out. I like that when it’s done sometimes, but this time I kinda wanted a more concluded ending. That’s just what I thought about it though. Character wise Ruuko takes a step down from main character status as I feel Hitoe, Yuzuki and Iona/Yuki really played a bigger role this time around. True Ruuko was there all the way till the end, but I feel the supporting character played bigger parts this time. Like Selector Infected, the suspense and mystery was still very much there in Selector Spread, they didn’t let up on that. One part where I also felt they could’ve done more on was with Futase Fumio. She was a mysterious character we see in the OP each week, yet there only is one ep for her story. Had she been a more central character through this season, I think that would’ve helped greatly. Chiyori also had a bigger role this time around, but while she was there for a bit, once her wish was overturned, she dropped out of the picture and is only seen once again during the montage in the final ep. All in all I really enjoyed Selector Spread and it will be one I’ll remember for a while to come. Tallying this all up, I’ll give Selector Spread WIXOSS an 8.5/10.

Read all my reviews for Selector Spread WIXOSS right here!


Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

[Commie] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 09 [51AD6876].mkv_snapshot_04.38_[2014.12.12_12.29.58]

As yes more A-1 Pictures doing what they do best, make some amazing anime. Honestly this is another story that started back in March when I saw the first PV for it, I loved the animation, the bright colors, I heard Risa Taneda’s voice and I just fell in love with it. Here we are at the half way point, and I’m calling this one of the best of the season. It’s so enjoyable to watch, I love how much focus this anime has put on the music too. I don’t think I’ve seen such a musically centered anime since K-On! (which I loved, by the way) so I’m glad to see this working out so well. After 11 eps I’m enjoying this one a lot and I’m looking forward to the back half of it even more. I get the feeling that the feels will begin soon. I’ve got a theory about how things might progress (no alternate dimensions, don’t worry) but I’ll keep it to myself for now. This is a must watch for sure, so with that said I’m giving the first have of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie in April) a 9/10. I’m sure it’ll only get better from here on in.


Shirobako

ep2sc11 (feature image)

Coming of the disaster called Glasslip, many (including myself) were skeptical of what P.A. Works would give us this time. Thankfully P.A. Works learned from their mistake and decided to give us an anime about… anime. Shirobako is a very different concept that takes us behind the doors and shows us what goes into making the anime we watch and enjoy. Sure it’s not exactly like that, but I’m sure they did lots of research into to this one to make sure they got all the details accurate. I’m enjoying this one a lot as well, not best of the season material, but still an extremely solid anime that is worth your time for sure. I’m eager to get back into this as it’s been on a two week break for Christmas and New Years, but January 8th sees the return of this one. I’ve liked this one so far, so I’ll give Shirobako an 8.5/10. Let’s go nuts!

Read all of Andrew’s reviews for Shirobako right here!


I’ll end it here. If you watched (or are still watching) any of these, what are your thoughts on then? Leave a comment below if you’d like to!

I’ll cya in the final part!

Pixiv link for the header pic!


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the ‘Contact’ page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

