And here we are at the final part of this seasonal wrap up. Let’s finish this!


Sora no Method

Sora no Method title card

What started out as something good ended in something…. kinda disappointing. Going into Sorameso I was hoping for something pretty good, and it had the premise down, but the execution felt off. It’s another one of those supernatural drama series (reminded me of Glasslip actually) but unlike Glasslip, they were able to make the plot interesting by adding a giant floating disc in the sky. Honestly the disc itself is probably the most unused character in the anime. Sure it causes some problems, but it’s Noel who the attention is centered on for the most part. I wanted this anime to be more sci-fi less drama as I think that would’ve made it a lot more interesting and would’ve kept me seriously watching till the end. So while I wasn’t too impressed with this one overall, there are small points that I did like. The animation was very good, P.A. Works-esque I might add. The music, ED in particular, was really something I liked; the group fhána preforming the ED song as well as an insert song too (the ep 7 ED). While the OP was good too, the ED is where it really shined. Objectively speaking Sorameso isn’t a terrible anime, but it’s just one that didn’t click with me as much as I’d have liked it too, hence why I’ve got such negative feeling about it. Anyways, that’s enough about this one; tallying things all up I’ll give Sora no Method a 6/10. My wish for a good anime wasn’t granted.

Check out my reviews for Sora no Method here!


Sword Art Online II

[HorribleSubs] Sword Art Online II - 23 [720p].mkv_snapshot_01.04_[2014.12.23_13.38.28]

Since 2012, Sword Art Online has been one of the biggest, most popular and most talked about anime out there. I guess Attack on Titan was a big hit too, but that’s beside the point. Given how well season 1 of SAO did, A-1 Pictures returned once again reuniting fans with their favorite characters in another 24 week adventure in the virtual world. While the first half was about Kirito entering the world of Gun Gale Online, the back half of the season was split between the Excalibur Arc and the Mother’s Rosario Arc. Starting with Excalibur, honestly this was a boring arc for me. Sure it had the battles, Leafa and Sinon were there, but overall between the giant ass flying squid/elephant thing and Thor, it was an arc to forget. The second arc, Mother’s Rosario was by far the best of the season, better than the GGO arc too. Why? Well first of all it took the spotlight off Kirito and placed it on Asuna. Next they split the arc between the virtual and real world, something that I really liked. Further they added some serious feels to this arc as well, introducing us to a lonely girl dying from AIDS, Yuuki Konno, and we get a relationship between her and Asuna developing. From the get go this would only end in heartbreak, so it didn’t come as a shock that Yuuki died. What I wasn’t ready for were the feels that brought. I rarely tear up in anime, unless it’s some hardcore feels, but this arc tugged on my heartstrings a bit more than usual. I didn’t full out cry during ep 24, but I watched most of that ep through watering eyes. By the end the door is still wide open for a season 3, and given the extremely popularity of SAO, I’m sure they’ll make another one. While season 1 captured the world and was hailed the best anime ever (by some), I personally enjoyed season 2 a lot more so. Granted I still gave season 1 a 10/10. Anyways I’ll give Sword Art Online II a 9.5/10. Had the Excalibur Arc been better, I’d give this a 10/10 as well.


Trinity Seven

[HorribleSubs] Trinity Seven - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.19_[2014.12.23_13.40.53]

Realistically speaking, Trinity Seven is pretty much exactly the type of anime I don’t like watching. Ecchi, harem, silly, obnoxious, yet I watched this one and had an absolutely great time. Honestly I was expecting a 3 eps and out experience from this, yet I stayed till the end because it just didn’t let up with the humor. The plot is pretty basic: magic high school, hot chicks with magical powers, boobs, ecchi situations, demons and shit, but the sheer humor and tolerable level of silliness kept be hooked and I couldn’t break away. Yeah sure the boobs had something to do with that too. But another aspect I enjoyed about Trinity Seven was the MC was among the few harem MC’s that consistently kept on par with all the jokes and wasn’t a dense as a rock. I actually really, really liked Arata as he nailed all the jokes perfectly and sure he was beaten for this, he kept going and continued the jokes, making it even funnier. Trinity Seven also included some top notch voice talents too such as: Yumi Hara, Ryoka Yuzuki, Aya Uchida, Yoshitsugu Matsuoka, Ayane Sakura, Nao Touyama and even Rie Kugimiya. So while the ending sets it up for another season, I’d love to see one as this was among my top most enjoyable anime to watch, even if it was very silly. Looking back on Trinity Seven, I’ll give it an 8/10. It’s so silly and ridiculous, yet such an enjoyable watch too.

Check out Deven’s reviews for Trinity Seven right here! 


Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete

[Penguin] Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete - 03 [720p][99F61317].mkv_snapshot_02.33_[2014.12.23_13.42.52]

Waremete is one of those anime where I read the synopsis and liked what I read. I knew nothing else going into this one (like that it’s based off an eroge) yet I still watched it. My first though when I watched it was “man this animation is shit” and sadly it doesn’t get better. The studio behind this one, feel. just came off Locodol and Jinsei, two anime that had solid animation, so I’m not sure what happened here, maybe they were trying to keep true to the original art, but either way it wasn’t pretty to look at. The story behind Waremete has lots of promise actually, as it was enough to draw me in, but after ep 1 things died down a lot and never picked up till the end of ep 8. Sure you know from ep 2-7 there was a serious problem, but honestly it just felt like filler eps until it reached ep 9, then the real things started to happen. By the end things more or less got wrapped up and you’re left confused about everything, at least I was. Honestly what this anime probably needed were some of those sex scenes from the eroge, at least they’d be entertaining fillers until ep 9. I honestly can’t really recommend this anime based on the fact the plot takes too long to really start and the hints they keep dropping aren’t enough to compel you to keep watching. I’m not even sure why I watched till the end, yet I did and was disappointed by it all. Looking back at this lack luster experience I’ll give Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete a 5/10. Had the plot been moving along at a better pace, this anime would’ve probably been more interesting.


Yama no Susume 2nd Season

[Doki] Yama no Susume Second Season - 19 (1280x720 Hi10P AAC) [61058EA9].mkv_snapshot_00.20_[2014.12.23_13.44.42]

Back in 2013 there was a 3 minute anime that I’m not sure many of you watched, that anime was Yama no Susume. Well here we are in 2014 now and Yama no Susume has gotten another season; this time with 13 minute eps complete with OP/ED. Nice! Much like S1, this season is more hiking (some mountain climbing but mostly hiking) lolis and moe goodness. It’s one of the most chill anime I’ve seen so I was really happy to see another season for it, also like season 1 I really enjoyed this one as it stayed true to the formula that worked the first time. They didn’t add anything really new other that making each ep longer, so it provided that same chill experience that I came to love in S1. I also love the fact that Aoi’s house it absolutely fucking massive! A running joke I had was that Aoi doesn’t actually live in a house, but rather a building as it’s way too big for a normal house. Asuna (from SAO) also lived in a building too as her home was fucking huge as well. So like I said, this is a perfect transition from season 1 into longer and even more enjoyable eps for season 2. If only more anime would keep the same vibes into season 2, I’d be a lot happier. Tallying it all up I’ll give Yama no Susume 2nd Season an 8/10. Pure enjoyment.


Yuki Yuna wa Yusha de Aru

[HorribleSubs] Yuki Yuna wa Yusha de Aru - 02 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_01.03_[2014.12.23_13.46.18]Yes another magical girl anime. Anything new with this one? Well also no, not really. Yuki Yuna wasn’t on my radar at all, let alone one that started with the majority of the other fall anime. When Yuki Yuna did start a couple weeks after most, I decided to check it out and man what a good idea that was. Let me tell you, going into this one you’re in for a real treat. Yuki Yuna is one that you’ll experience nearly every range of emotions as it takes you on a roller coaster of a ride as we follow a group of middle school girls who just wanna be heroes and save the world. Little do they know that being a hero comes with an extremely high price too, one that will push each other them to their physical, mental and emotional levels. When shit started happening, it really started happening. I wasn’t prepared for the events to take place like that, so this anime kept me on the edge of my seat each ep, tugging on my heartstrings, getting my pulse pounding, my nerves going like mad, I was honestly jittery watching this anime as I wasn’t sure what it would dish out each ep. I won’t say what happens, as it’s one you should really just see and experience for yourself. Taking the season by surprise and exploding to the top, Yuki Yuna wa Yusha de Aru gets the much deserved 9.5/10. Totally one that captured the fall season by surprise.


 

So that’s it, I’ve reached the end of all the fall anime I watched. Shigatsu, Shirobako and Parasyte will be continuing on through the winter, so I’ll see you back in late March for my final thoughts of them. Until then I hope you’ll enjoy our reviews of the winter anime that are starting right now. Lastly, if you watched or are still watching any of these anime that I mentioned, what are your thoughts on them? Let me know in the comments below!

Pixiv link for the header pic!


Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the ‘Contact’ page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

