Hello and welcome to a very special post!


So yesterday I was tagged by Cloudy, the writer from CuriousCloudy (an anime blog you should be following) for The Inspector Green Tag. As for what exactly that means, I’m not sure. Anyways the long and short of it, the writers of Anime Corps have been tasked with the challenge of answering 8 questions. Alright then, sounds pretty easy. Let’s take a look at our answers now!


1. When was the last time you went to a store containing anime?

Andrew: It has been quite a while, the last time I can remember was probably back in mid-November when I went and bought volume 6 of the Nisekoi manga.

Chris: Does Best Buy count?  If so, then Best Buy.  Though I wasn’t really there for that.

Deven: Last time I went to the mall. I went to FYE and took a look at the Date A Live DVD/BD set from Funimation. But I had already bought a new battery for my computer so I was out of money…

Mitzuka: Last month.

Tsuyuki: About a month ago.

Nick: Wow it’s been some time now. I’m guessing probably a couple of months. That store being HMV in Victoria. Hillside Mall if you must know. I nearly bought Love Lab and Date A Live. Wish I did.

2. Do you usually watch anime online? On what website?

Andrew: I do watch a fair bit of anime online and when I do it is usually on Crunchyroll, I also like using Daisuki.net as they have a really nice looking site and on the occasions that I have seen them at conventions they have been really friendly but sadly they don’t have all that big of a selection (particularly for those outside America).

Chris: CR, Hulu, and FUNimation when I do use streams.

Deven: Yes and No. I watch some of my anime online. However since my internet connection sucks so much of the time, I typically download episodes to watch later so I don’t get impatient with the buffering times. I typically watch anime on AnimeGet.com

Mitzuka: In my laptop.

Tsuyuki: I do usually watch anime online; I use KissAnime as of now.

Nick: Honestly I download all my anime. I find it works easier for reviews, as streams usually aren’t the best quality, and getting screen shots is tough because the player is most of the time crappy. Plus for those Internet-less days I’ve got anime on one of the many HDDs to keep me happy.

3. First Japanese word you learned from an anime?

Andrew: I can’t say that I remember what the first one was. Probably “Hai” or something simple like that.

Chris: Probably “gomen” or something.

Deven: Less of a word more of a name. Fuuka which means Summer Wind from the manga/anime Suzuka. It was the first manga that I ever finished and the story really resonated with me. That’s why in most of my books, you’ll typically find a character named Suzuka and a character named Fuuka.

Mitzuka: 愛してる(aishiteru)

Tsuyuki: Gomenesai

Nick: The first… 4 anime I watched were all English dubbed. Yeah I watched dubbed. Hate me if you must. But for the record, I love the dub for The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. As for when I got around to subbed anime… probably “ohayou gozaimasu” (did I spell that right?)

4. Best animation style in your opinion?

Andrew: In my opinion the best animation style has to be SHAFT. It is beautifully abstract and conveys so much meaning though its symbolism whilst still being really fun to watch. I struggle to imagine how series like Monogatari and Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei would work without it. SHAFT style animation is undoubtable one that gets mentioned quite a lot in these sorts of things though so I will also extend a mention to styles used by Silver Link in shows like Non Non Biyori, Fate/kaleid liner and C3. Whist not as visually distinctive as SHAFT the animation styles employed her go a long way to help their respective shows and fit them very well.

Chris: A-1’s style during The Idolm@ster.  Also love their work on more recent shows, like A.Z and KimiUso.

Deven: Hmm. It has to be a toss up between Ufotable and P.A. Works. Ufotable wasn’t even on my radar until they did the Fate/Zero adaptation and ever since then I’ve loved their stuff. Then again the fact that they adapt all the Nasu-verse stuff now is a good reason I watch them now. As for P.A. Works, I love the sheer realism that the anime they make have.

Mitzuka: Depends entirely on animation director.

Tsuyuki: J.C.Staff with ufotable at a close second.

Nick: Much like Cloudy mentioned, I love KyoAni. I think they’re at the top of my list for best animation. Hyouka stands out for me as that is probably one of the most beautiful anime I’ve ever watched. Just amazing. P.A. Works is pretty good too, I loved Tari Tari as well and dare I say it, Glasslip looked stellar too. And after watching Bakemonogatari, SHAFT deserves a mention here. Bakemonogatari was not only amazing to watch, but I spent so much of the time admiring the animation too. After watching probably 10 straight eps of it, watching other anime felt totally different. I loved the visual style SHAFT used in Bakemonogatari, totally in a class of it’s own.

5. Best anime pet?

Andrew: Probably Sakamoto from Nichijou. I quite like the idea of having a talking cat that acts like a condescending middle-aged man

Chris: Cat Fredrica from Chaika.

Deven: Hmm It would be Luna from Sailor Moon. She’s the entire reason that I have a healthy love of cats.

Mitzuka: Dog (F*** you cat lovers!)

Tsuyuki: I honestly have no answer for this question.

Nick: Uh… I really can’t think of any.

6. What is the longest anime you’ve ever watched?

Andrew: In truth the longest anime I have watched should be listed as Naruto as I watched it all the way up to the start of Shippuden (220 episodes) before I gave up. This is a boring answer though so instead I am going to work on the basis that both Toaru Majutsu no Index and Toaru Kagaku no Railgun are part of the same series (which they kind of are) and list that with total of 96 episodes and a movie (it is still nowhere near as long as Naruto is it?)

Chris: Slam Dunk

Deven: Longest anime would have to be Prince of Tennis. I’ve seen the original series, all the OVAs, Prince of Tennis:Nationals, New Prince of Tennis, and all of the New Prince of Tennis OVAs. As for an anime that’s still going that I’m watching it would have to be Naruto.

Mitzuka: Hitman Reborn

Tsuyuki: Keroro Gunso (358 episodes)

Nick: I hear the Monogatari series is long, so I think that might be the longest series I’ve seen. I’m not into those 1 billion plus ep anime, not enough time to invest into them.

7. What is the shortest anime you’ve ever watched?

Andrew: The shortest anime I can think of is Plastic Nee-san with only 12, 2 minute episodes.

Chris: Rec

Deven: Definitely FLCL. It’s one of the shortest anime I’ve seen. Only 6 episodes but it’s a good ride. I recommend it to anyone who hasn’t seen it yet.

Mitzuka: Anime songs.

Tsuyuki: Nekomonogatari (4 episodes)

Nick: Go! Go! 5-7-5 is probably the shortest anime I’ve seen. Only 3:30 long for each ep, and it’s only 5 eps total. Trivia fact: the full OP song is longer than an ep.

8: What is your Favorite anime couple?

Andrew: Hmmm this one is perhaps the most tricky one for me to answer as, whist I do watch –probably more than- my fair share of romance anime doing direct comparisons between canonical couples is quite hard for me to do and as for fan couples, I can’t say that I really go in for them much. Deliberating on this is not overly helpful though, so if I had to pick I would probably say; Rintarō Okabe and Kurisu Makise from Steins;Gate. There is a certain charm to the awkwardness between the two of them and the cuteness of the fact that, in spite of her prestigious academic, Makise is out of her depth when it comes to romance.

Chris: Lawerence and Holo of Spice and Wolf.

Deven: I’ve got a few. Gray x Juvia from Fairy Tail. They always seem to get closer every arc and it’s so cute that Juvia always is so close to Gray. Shiro x Saber is second because of the mystique of it and the tragedy of Saber’s pain and her getting over it.

Mitzuka: My fave anime couple ain’t a thing!!!!!! They’re not items!!!!

Tsuyuki: Amu and Ikuto from Shugo Chara.

Nick: Come on. Anyone who follows me on Twitter knows the answer of this before they’re even finished reading the question. But also like Cloudy did, I’ll list off a few other couples I like. Honestly I do like Shido x Tohka from Date A Live (just a bit more than Kurumi), Chiyo x Nozaki is a more recent one, but they’re so perfect together. And taking things back to where they started, Kyon x Haruhi is a classic I can’t not mention. For yuri couple, well, do I even need to mention Maki x Nico from Love Live? Sure there are other yuri couples I love, but all that comes to mind is Maki x Nico. Although after Deven’s recent Love Live yuri post, I’m liking Eli x Nozomi a lot more. As for incest couples, because I’ve gotta say this, but long time favorite Kyousuke x Kirino remains up there. Although I’ll give recognition to Tatsuya x Miyuki as well. And after recently finishing Nisemonogatari, that should get a nod as well (dat toothbrush scene doe, wow). Honestly I could be talking about this for a while, so I should stop now.


So that’s all for us here at Anime Corps I hope this post has helped you get to know us a bit more; I had lots of fun writing this as I’m sure everyone else did too. Of course I’d like to extend yet another big shout out to the wonderful Cloudy for giving us this opportunity. From one fellow anime blogger to another, thank you so much. And if you don’t follow her blog & YouTube channel already, here’s a great time to. Be sure to check her out on Twitter too!

Before I end this too, I’ve gotta tag three other people to do this next. Those three people I’ll tag will be:

The guys and girls over at Rabujio

Kai from deluscar

Joe from Joeschmo’s Gears and Grounds

And the questions you’ve gotta answer are exactly the same:

1. When was the last time you went to a store containing anime?
2. Do you usually watch anime online? On what website?
3. First Japanese word you learned from an anime?
4. Best animation style in your opinion?
5. Best anime pet?
6. What is the longest anime you’ve ever watched?
7. What is the shortest anime you’ve ever watched?
8: What is your Favorite anime couple?

I don’t think there is a set time limit as to when your response has to be out, but in a timely fashion would be nice. Don’t forget to tag three others too!


 

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the ‘Contact’ page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

