Lilith has finally made her debut, which might have been a bit lackluster, but don’t worry she’s back this week and still determined as ever to get Tooru to be her Duo partner. Can Tooru hold fast to his vow with Julie, or will Lilith’s charm sway him to reconsider?

Here’s my review!

After last week’s thrilling conclusion, I was hoping we’d dive into the mystery of who exactly Lilith is, but looks like we’ll have to wait a bit longer before we uncover that. The key events this week start after the opening credits; Tooru, Julie, Hotaka, Tomoe, Tora and Tatsu are all leveled up to Level 2, meaning they’ve got increased power now. We get a demo of this during a pool scene actually as the gang are trying out their newly acquired powers. Of course this being a pool scene we had to have a little fanservice here, being that the girls are in swimsuits, but they didn’t really play onto that too much as expected. I did notice though that Usa-sensai was wearing a very interesting bikini, something I’m surprised is allowed at the school. Then again she did try to kill them the other day and they let her keep her job, so the school is pretty lax with it’s rules.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also find out that Julie can’t swim and nearly drowns herself after diving in. This reminded me a lot of a moment in Oreshura actually where Masuzu Natsukawa gracefully jumps into the pool and nearly drowns herself too. Maybe it’s because both characters sport silver/white hair but either way this came to mind first. Tooru saves the day though, jumping in and rescuing her from certain death; so I guess even though Julie is a skilled fighter, she can’t do something as simple as swim. Sadly we never get to see Tooru try out his newly acquired power though, I was kinda hoping for that but I’m sure there will be another chance for him to show it off. Surprisingly enough Lilith isn’t there for this new power demo, hinting at the fact she’s way above everyone else. We’ll get back to this later.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second key event in this ep, and what takes up the majority of the rest of the ep, is the date Lilith and Tooru go on. Tooru just wants to know some info from Lilith, but to get it he’s gotta take her out somewhere. A helicopter ride later and we we find ourselves at Death Newland, a permanent Halloween themed amusement park. Honestly I didn’t really like the setting for this date as the park was pretty meh to me; after watching Amagi Brilliant Park last season, any amusement park just can’t live up to that one anymore. Plus, Amaburi has Sento and the Fairies, Death Newland has some mascot with his guts hanging out. Gross.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I might not have liked this whole sequence, there were bits of info that are worth taking away from it, namely some background info about Lilith. We find out that she’s very familiar with firearms as hunting is her favorite hobby; she even received her first gun, which was a double barrel rifle, when she was a little girl. Lilith also mentions that she’s spent lots of time getting to know firearms and feels extremely comfortable with that. Lilith also mentions something that I found quite interesting as well, she says that guns are a part of her soul, making me think that’s why her Blaze must be a rifle, as she’s so well versed in it. But she also asks Tooru if it’s the same with him, if his Blaze is because of what’s in his soul. Tooru’s Blaze being a shield, it’s got me thinking that he wants to be the one to protect the people closed to him, so what better way of doing that then with a shield.

After an afternoon of fun, night has fallen and Tooru and Lilith are beginning to make their way back. Tooru finally asks Lilith the question he’s been waiting to, which was why did she use her Blaze the other day. Lilith replies saying it’s only natural to show your Duo partner your Blaze. Yes this is what it was leading up to; once more Lilith poses the question to Tooru about becoming her Duo partner. After spending an afternoon with her and having a good time it’d be hard to end it on a bad note, but Tooru once again declines her offer and ends up getting a slapped cheek because of it. I’m actually proud of Tooru though as he held fast to his vow with Julie, even if it got Lilith angry and made her hate him for making this choice, it was still the right one to make. Can’t argue with a guy who’s staying true to his girl.

The temptation to say yes is very great. Source Link
The temptation to say yes is very great.
Source Link

[Chihiro]_Absolute_Duo_-_05_[720p_Hi10P_AAC][C442A291].mkv_snapshot_13.46_[2015.02.08_18.11.45]

Arriving back at school past curfew, Julie helps Tooru back inside but not before they have a little chat about where he was. Once again I’m proud to see Tooru coming forward and explaining the situation to Julie. He told her that he was out with Lilith and even said that twice she’s asked him to be her Duo partner, but he turned her down both times. The fact that Tooru’s loyalty towards Julie is this strong is really killing any possible harem aspect of this anime as he’s already picked the girl he likes the best. The interactions between Tooru and Julie are also nice to see as well, something refreshing for a change as Julie isn’t the type of girl to jump to conclusions and lose her shit over every little detail. Like I said before, the fact they were able to sit down and calmly discuss the issue of Tooru accidentally touching her breasts was a huge change from the usual hell that breaks loose. Honestly I’m surprised that Absolute Duo, an anime I thought would be like Trinity Seven all over again, would go for a much more subdued tone in those regards. It’s honestly really nice to see. After a brief fanservice scene with Hotaka (she’s very absent minded) and Tomoe we’re on to the final act in this ep.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Source Link
Source Link

We haven’t had any serious action since ep 3, but now we’re going to get some as Usa-sensai announces that there will be another event taking place, the Dragon’s Bite Battle. Strange name but whatever. In this battle all the first years will fight a select few second years, who are Level 2 and 3 students. Sounds like a challenge. As the class watches on during a battle with the second years, Lilith interrupts the action asking if the Dragon’s Bite Battle can start right away. To further her point she single-handedly takes on all the second years and defeats them all. While Sakuya Tsukumo is a bit annoyed with this, she allows Lilith to propose a new challenge: to fight all the first years by herself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lilith is ready for action! Source Link
Lilith is ready for action!
Source Link

Sadly that’s where this ep ends, but it’s pretty much guaranteed that we’ll have lots of action next week. So after 5 eps I’m actually really enjoying Absolute Duo quite a bit, even though it’s not stellar quality anime, it’s got points I really do like about it quite a bit. Going forward I hope the story can continue impressing and progressing forward in a logical manner too, but only time will tell that. I’m looking forward to next week now as it’s been a while since we’ve had some action. I wonder what Lilith is planning as well?


That’ll bring this review to an end now. I hope you enjoyed reading it as I always have a blast writing these. Let me know any thoughts about this ep in the comments too, I love having feedback on my posts. Up next I’ll cya on Friday or Saturday with another Saekano review as Aki and Kato go out on a date. I’m sure it’ll be a good one! And if you’re waiting for better subs as usual for Absolute Duo, I’ll cya next Sunday with my ep 6 review!

[Chihiro]_Absolute_Duo_-_05_[720p_Hi10P_AAC][C442A291].mkv_snapshot_23.37_[2015.02.08_18.25.30]Before I head out, I’ll leave you with this bonus pics which are the end cards from eps 1-5. By the way, all 5 end cards a full 1920x1080p HD PNG pics, so they’re really high quality. Be sure to click and view them at their full size. Enjoy!


Bonus Pics!

Ep 1 End Card
Ep 1 End Card
Ep 2 End Card
Ep 2 End Card
Ep 3 End Card
Ep 3 End Card
Ep 4 End Card
Ep 4 End Card
Ep 5 End Card
Ep 5 End Card

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

-Nick

