Hello and welcome to a special review for the final episode of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso. I know I wasn’t reviewing this one from the start, but like I said this is a special review as it was requested. I hope this review is worthy enough for such an incredible final ep.

Spoilers included, preferred that you watch the anime before reading this review.

Here’s my review.

Time and time again I have a problem with final episodes. Not because something I love is ending, rather I worry if things will be brought to a proper close and not leave loose ends flying in the wind. Sure this isn’t a problem with every anime, I mean a slice of life series usually has no set 1-12 plot so the ending isn’t something that will get me all worked up; but something that has a story that’s carried through from the start, those are the anime I tend to take a close look at the final episode. After it’s 2 cour run, here we are at the end of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie in April). Everything was building up to this one final episode and after all that build up, it really blew me away.

Previously in episode 21, Kousei reverted back to his non-piano playing self after Kaori’s condition took a turn for the worst. That alone was an emotional enough episode, but Kousei had to keep on going as the performance was finally there. We see the shaky start of his performance but this week we see the rest of it and how it really comes to life.

Usually with a performance episode, there is a lot of inner dialogue from the characters during the actual performance, so you don’t get to the hear the music that much. But this time around there was very little dialogue and it felt so much better this way. On a whole the first half had very little dialogue as the music did the talking, taking us on an emotional roller coaster as Kousei plays his heart out for Kaori.

Drawing all the power he needs from those close to him, Kousei is able to put on his very best performance and brings the music to life like never before. Out of all the performances this one has to be my favorite as it was so much more than just a song. The amazing animation breathed life into this sequence and I was totally captivated by it. Everything here is overflowing with emotions, it’s immensely sad yet very uplifting at the same time. I love how Kaori is there in spirit and plays along side with Kousei for this last time, that was simply amazing. I honestly wanted this sequence to never end as it totally had me breathless and 100% engaged in this experience. But even when the songs lowers and Kaori begins to fade, the awful truth of what’s coming now, Kousei still soldiers on and keeps playing, determined to see this through till the very end. It’s tough for him to finish, but with tears streaming down his face Kousei concludes his part and says his final goodbye.

Unlike most of the other performances, we don’t get a reaction from the crowd this time, not even a delayed one, as the auditorium is filled with pure silence. We also don’t find out if Kousei won the event or not, but considering how moving his performance was I’m assuming he did win. But even if he didn’t that’s not important. He played his last song with Kaori and he made it one no one will ever forget, that’s what’s important.

The back half of the episode doesn’t let up on the feels either. The worst has happened and the surgery Kaori was going through has failed. Kaori has sadly passed away. I knew things would probably come down to this, but when it actually happened it was much more emotional than I was expecting it to be. I won’t lie, I did shed tears during the second half of this episode, no shame in saying that. It pushed all the buttons to make me break down and start crying. But honestly I’m glad this happened as I would’ve hated a cop out ending in which everyone lives happily ever after. That would’ve ruined all the emotion the past episodes were building up and Kousei’s performance would’ve pretty much been for nothing. So yes it’s extremely sad about what did happen, but I’m happy things did end in this emotional way rather than an out of place happy ending.

The second half is this episode is Kousei reading a letter from Kaori that was given to him be her parents while at the cemetery. It tells the story of how she always admired him from a young age and has dreamed to play by his side one day. We learn that she was always there, just silently watching from afar trying to find a way to get close to Kousei, and the only way to do this was for her to tell a lie. A lie in April. While it was always obvious, clearly not to Kousei, but Kaori always loved him so she used Ryouta to get close to him.

After all is said and done, it’s the love of music that brought Kaori and Kousei together and it’ll keep them that way forever. Kousei will never forget the short time spent with Kaori as she helped him to overcome his problems and keep playing. I liked how during this back half we see Kousei is still able to play the piano, and isn’t a complete wreck like before. He’s grown up and matured now. On a side note here, I really like how they started playing a piano and violin version of the first ED ‘Kirameki‘ by wacci during the ending bit; it fit the ending really well and I hope this version is released in the OST or something.

So this brings us to Tsubaki. Honestly I always felt Tsubaki was a bit selfish as she was always complaining about how music took Kousei away from her. It’s something special to him and it’s where his heart is, so of course it’s going to lead him places not everyone can follow. In the end it’s not super clear if they do indeed end up dating, but Tsubaki reassures Kousei that he should never feel alone because she’s there at his side for him. I’m taking away that they might end up together down the line as Kousei seems content with her being there, but honestly I can’t really picture them together. They just don’t seem to work other than close friends. But that’s just how I feel about it.

In closing now the last thing Kaori left in the envelope for Kousei was a picture of her when she was young, and Kousei is seen in the back. It’s important because both of them are in the shot, looking at the camera and so close together. While they wouldn’t officially meet for another 10 years time, this was a pivotal moment for Kaori as she had decided that she would one day play the violin at his side. And years later that dream of hers finally came true, even if it was only for a short moment.

[Commie] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 22 [1E9BD83A].mkv_snapshot_21.12_[2015.03.25_00.55.32]


Final Thoughts

After 22 episodes I’m left with a part of my soul missing now as KimiUso really did a number on me. I’m deeply saddened that it’s over, yet happy that it had a good ending. I wish there were more anime like this, something with an engaging story and emotions that pull you in and hold you captive, shutting out everything else around you as you watch. Unlike other recent final episodes, KimiUso really went all out and gave us something that will leave you overflowing with tears. While there still is an OVA planned for the future, I’m guessing it’ll be side content from earlier on in the series.

All I’ve said so far are good things about KimiUso, but there is something about it that I didn’t like. During really dramatic moments they’d sometimes suddenly break the mood with a random comedic gag or something, and personally this really annoyed me as they take all this time to set the tone and get you in the right mood, then ruin it with some random joke. It felt increasingly out of place as things carried on, and even in the final few eps there are moments where a random gag would totally ruin the emotional mood of the scene and suddenly all the feels are gone. So had there been less of that I would’ve liked it a lot more.

So looking back to when this began late last year, and seeing how far it’s come, I’ll have to give Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie in April) a stellar 9.5/10. I enjoyed this one so much and my week won’t be the same without it. I’ll truly miss it a lot, but I’m also thankful for the experience it provided me as well. Not many things leave an impression this great on me, but those that do go above and beyond the ordinary and are so much more than just another anime series.

[Commie] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 22 [1E9BD83A].mkv_snapshot_22.47_[2015.03.25_00.55.57]


I hope this review was worthy of such an amazing final episode to an incredible series, but as I wasn’t expecting to be writing this, I pretty much winged it. I’d love to hear your thoughts of this finale as well as the series as a whole, so leave a comment below about your experience watching this.

Up next it’s back to the usual schedule with the final reviews of Saekano and Absolute Duo. I’ll also have my three part season wrap up posts as well as the one year anniversary post coming soon too. And like mentioned, I’m going to a wedding this Saturday so that whole day is one where I won’t be getting any work done. Expect there to be posts out the following week, but I’ll have everything finished before the next season starts. If you haven’t read our spring preview post either, then please take a look at that so you’ll know what to expect to see here for the next few months.

That’s it for me, thanks for reading and I’ll cya guys next time!

-Nick


Bonus Pic!

Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link

Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

