Has it really been that long since it all began?

Hello all and welcome to a very, very special post here on Anime Corps. Today I’d like to bring to your attention the one year anniversary of Anime Corps! Yes on April 1st 2014, Anime Corps (or as it was called then, Anime with Sky) was officially launched. But before I got to that point, there was a a huge development process that started with this one post. From that moment forward the idea couldn’t be stopped. I was dead set on starting an anime blog, but there were still things to work out.

First of all what would I have on this blog? I toyed around with a few ideas but reviewing was always one I didn’t settle on as I felt I wasn’t a good enough writer to write reviews. In the end I did settle on doing reviews and since then I’ve come a long way. But what was the biggest issue that I faced during launch time was what currently was happening in my personal life. Now I don’t want to get too off track so I’ll keep is brief and too the point. Last March and dragging into April, my parents separated and things were just all bad. I had enough trouble with just trying to find a place to live, so I spent some time at a motel until I was taken in by some friends. But through all this I used my anime blog to get me out of the current crisis and get my mind on something else for a change.

My first ever review was Mahouka ep 1, and I posted that review while I was staying in a motel for a few nights. It was a really small room just for myself, I ordered pizza and bought a mini apple pie for 1 dollar. Both were good by the way. But even though I’d go on to drop Mahouka at ep 12 for the obvious reason, the first ep review still holds a very special spot in my heart as was my first ever anime review. Looking back at it, I still think it’s pretty solid to this day and it had everything I wanted it to have in it. From there I’d go on to write reviews for Knights of Sidonia, Love Live! S2, Black Bullet, No Game No Life, and Date A Live II. And after that I continued reviewing anime, thus bringing me to this point where I am now, one year later and the start of the spring season once again.

Stepping back and looking at Anime Corps and where it is now, I’m honestly astounded at the success of it. Never would I have thought I’d get over 100,000 views in my first year, 70,000 views by December 31st too; but here we stand today with 100k+ views, over 350 published posts, nearly 500 comments, 114 followers, and a team of writers to help keep this blog alive. It’s mind blowing that I started this blog and its turn into such a massive success. So from the bottom of my heart I’d like to thank each and every one of you who visited Anime Corps this past year. Every follower, each comment and Like, every time someone shares a post or reblogs it on their blog, all that means so much to me and I really can’t thank you enough for liking the content that my team and I have produced.

So we’ve come this far, what’s in store next for Anime Corps? I’ve played with the idea of taking this blog and turning it into an actual site, but personally I’m fine with how things are now. While my original idea was altered by the time I started making the blog, things have turned out better than I expected and I feel that it’s a formula that’s worked this well, so why change it now. Yes everything at some point needs to grow and expand, but currently that’s not the main goal. What I feel is the most important part of any blog is the content being produced, rather than if it’s an actual site or blog. I personally feel I could do better at writing reviews and I’m always trying to find the best way to get the important bits across to the reader, but also be something fun to read at the same time. My focus is always on producing content that’s of high caliber and that’s what I feel should be at the core of any blog. There will come a time where Anime Corps does take the step into a new frontier, but it won’t be anytime in the immediate future.

After one year of reviewing anime I feel I’ve gotten more out of anime, now that I’m not just watching it for entertainment purposes only. I like looking at the details more, the characters, plot, animation, and such. While I’m certainly not as analytical as some are, I do like taking a closer look at anime now and getting under the surface of it. I haven’t written any editorials as we’ve got the talented and always enjoyable to read Tsuyuki on that job, but I think something I want to set as a goal is to write an editorial maybe once a month. I’m not sure when I’ll start that, but it’s something to work towards.

But bringing this all to a close now, Anime Corps has come a long way since it’s inception over a year ago but I feel that the best is still to come. I’ve brought together a team of writers than I really enjoy working with, even if we do argue about trivial things at times, but at the end of the day (or at least I really hope so) we’re all here to share our passion for all things anime related. And Love Live too, as Deven’s School Idol Festival posts are always informative and great to read. Thanks man!

I couldn’t have made it this far without your support for this blog, thank you so very much for helping us get through our first year and I hope you’ll be here for another year and what comes after that as well. Like I said, I feel the best is yet to come so as long as you continue showing your passionate support, I can promise that I’ll try my very best to produce the high quality work I know I’m capable of.

And just one last quick shout out to Justin, who helped me out so much over the summer. Sorry for sticking you with the hard anime to review, but thank you so much for doing it. Where ever you are these days I hope you’re doing alright, and if at any point you want to come back and join the group again you’re always welcome to.

Thank you once again and here’s to another great year of anime blogging!

-Nick

Pixiv Link


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

