Hello and welcome to the start of a new spring anime series! As always my name’s Nick and I’ll be reviewing the latest production from Dogakobo, Plastic Memories. I’m quite excited about this one as it really caught my interest when I saw a PV months ago, so here we are now with ep one. Alright, let’s jump in!

Here’s my review!

Going into this one I had a feeling there might be some feels at some point, as I got that impression when I watched the PV a while back, but I wasn’t expecting to be verging on tears by the end of ep 1. Seriously, I’ve cried too much from all the recent feels in anime. KimiUso pretty much did me in, but there were a few others that made me get all emotional by the end. But if those feels weren’t enough, Plastic Memories starts and it’s throwing me right back into the feel train just moments after getting off. I’ve got nothing against feels anime actually, it means I’m so caught up in it to be caring this much about the characters and what’s happening, so it’s a good sign.

From the get go, Plastic Memories episode 1 sets the tone of the anime as well as the plot too. We’re introduced to our lead guy, 18 year old Tsukasa Mizugaki, as he’s a newbie at SA Corp., which is a company that creates almost human like androids called Giftia that are complete with human like emotions and qualities. But Tsukasa isn’t working in the production area or anything like that, he’s part of the retrieval team that deals with bringing in Giftia that have neared the end of their service time, which is after 81,920 hours, or 9 years and 4 months. That right there should be a sign that feels are incoming, but if you didn’t pick up on that, then you will soon enough.

Tsukasa’s first day on the job with his new co-workers, Michiru and her Giftia partner Zack, show us the feels side of this anime as the act of going to someone’s house where a Giftia is and taking it away from them is quite the emotional experience for all parties. I honestly wasn’t expecting the feels to hit me this hard, I mean they’re just taking away robots that are at the end of their lives, but stopping and taking a step back reveals a different light to this situation. These people have grown so attached to their Giftia over the past 9 years and they really do love them like they’re actually part of their family, so when it comes time to part ways, of course it’s going to be emotional. After seeing this first hand, Tsukasa realizes that this new job isn’t going to be a walk in the park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But Tsukasa isn’t shouldering this task alone, rather he’s mainly just a spotter as his partner, a female Giftia named Isla, is doing the heavy lifting. I should also mention that Isla is voiced by Sora Amamiya, who is simply perfect for this kind of role. Anyways, Isla is a veteran at her job, she’s been doing it for years now so she’s a good match for a newbie like Tsukasa. The two of them actually meet at the outset, but at the time neither knew that they’d be working together. I’ve got a feeling there is much more to Isla than we know now, but that’ll have to wait for a later time. Even though she’s a veteran, Isla is a bit clumsy and has trouble doing simple things such as ringing the door bell. But she means well and when it comes to conversing with other Giftia that she’s there to retrieve she can talk to them on a more personal level than any human ever could.

The second half of this ep brings on the feels once again as Tsukasa and Isla are faced with the challenging task of retrieving a little girl named Nina from an elderly woman who is unwilling to give her away. After trying and failing many attempts, Isla is finally able to get a chance to talk with Nina herself and finds out that Nina is well aware of her impending retrieval. Even though it’s sad for her, Nina doesn’t want to cause trouble for her grandmother as when her programming is passed it’s due, then things will get bad and it’ll be quite a bit ordeal. Her grandmother was listening in on this conversation and because of that she changed her mind and signed the paperwork that Tsukasa had given her.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The ending part gets the feels rolling as it’s time for Nina to depart. I was feeling pretty emotional during this bit, I mean even though we’d just met her and know only a little bit about her, it’s still really sad to see her leave the caring arms of someone’s that’s loved her for the past 9 years and 4 months. But at the end of the day it’s a job that must be done, no matter how emotionally straining it is on everyone.


So as far as first episodes go, Plastic Memories had a great overview of what we can expect. I like the characters so far, the story seems pretty solid, I enjoyed the feels as well, there is also some humor to balance out the feels, and the music is spot on too. There wasn’t an OP/ED this time around, but the OST was very calming and I enjoyed it quite a lot. All in all Plastic Memories has lots of potential to be something special this season, and being that Dogakobo has a very solid track record with making good anime, I’ve got a feeling that we’ll be in for another treat.


And there you have it, my first ep impressions. I’m pretty sure that I’ll be staying on for this one as I don’t think it’s the type to cave after a strong start. I recommend checking this one out as it looks to be one of the good ones this season. If you’ve already seen Plastic Memories ep 1, what did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Up next it’s going to be Hibike! Euphonium ep 1. I’m not sure the exact date, but I know it’s going to be out very soon. I’ll probably be going with the HS release for that one as I don’t think anyone else has picked it up yet. I hope you can join me for that as well!

I’ll cya next time!

-Nick


Bonus Pic!

Here's a 4.66MB PNG pic of Isla. Enjoy! Source Link
Here’s a 4.66MB PNG pic of Isla. Enjoy!
Source Link

Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

