The time has come for the concert band to finally show off it’s hard work. The stage is set, the uniforms have arrived, the practicing is done, it’s time for the Sunrise Festival!

Here’s my review!

Here we are 5 eps into Euphonium and I’m really loving it a lot. This week showcased the points about this anime that I really like.  For starters the animation really stood out during the festival scene as well as the scene with Kumiko and Reina en-route home. But I’ll get to that in a bit. Let’s talk about the other events that happened leading up to that.

So we start off with the girls having their annual school physical check up. While Hazuki is showing off her breathing skills off, Kumiko is busy worrying about her breast size. This kinda ties back into the first ep where she also mentioned her lack thereof growth in her chest. You’re a first year high school kid, were you honestly expecting to have some nice boobs already? I love how Asuka shows up at the worst possible time for Kumiko, unknowingly flaunting her rather well-developed breasts. But for the record, Asuka does have some nice looking boobs though.

She's got a very nice rack. Source Link
She’s got a very nice rack.
Source Link
Another version of the gif. Source Link
Another version of the gif.
Source Link

We continue on from the physical check ups and move to the next matter at hand, that being practicing for the Sunrise Festival that’s happening very soon. So in prep for that the uniforms have arrived and wow they looked very nice on the girls. Of course Asuka and Reina looked probably the best wearing them, but I’ll mention that Kaori looked very pretty too. Uniforms aside though, they need to be practicing for the festival. I wasn’t really sure what the festival would be like, but it’s explained by Kumiko and we learn that it’s when a bunch of concert bands get together and march around while playing music. Because of this, Midori and Hazuki won’t be playing their instruments. Midori obviously can’t play her huge contrabass and the tuba is too big for Hazuki to walk and play; instead Midori will be a color guard while Hazuki will be a cheerleader. I will admit that after this ep I’m liking Hazuki a lot more as her personality is quite charming and she’s easy to like. I still hold Asuka as my favorite but Hazuki has caught my eye a lot more so these days.

Source Link
Source Link

So after their practice extends later into the evening, Kumiko, Hazuki and Midori head back home for the day. Getting off at their respective stops it’s now just Kumiko on the train by herself. Her quiet time doesn’t last too long though as she notices that Reina is also on the train. The two of them walk together after arriving at their stop, Kumiko trying to make some small talk along the way too. All in all this scene is probably my favorite in this ep. The animation was really top quality here and I absolutely loved the background blur effect when they exit the station and are walking on the sidewalk. But of course what makes me love this scene so much is the smile from Reina. Yes I needed a gif of that the moment it happened. The relationship between her and Kumiko is finally starting to get back to where it was before that incident, and while there is still a little ways left they’re really showing progress in the right direction.

Here are some shots from this wonderfully animated scene. Please enjoy!

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.11_[2015.05.09_01.21.56]

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.39_[2015.05.09_01.22.38]

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.19_[2015.05.09_01.23.54]

Crazy freakout by Kumiko Source Link
Crazy freakout by Kumiko
Source Link
The best smile this season. Source Link
The best smile this season.
Source Link

So the day finally arrives for the Sunrise Festival and the atmosphere is tense. Their school isn’t known to be a stand out attendee in this event as they’re not as strong a band as other schools taking part are. But this year is different and as Taki-sensei later says, they’re going to show everyone what they’re made of. Another part that I really liked was when Kumiko runs into an old classmate from her middle school days, Azusa I believe her name was. Not just because her friend is very cute, but because of how Kumiko behaved during their conversation. When it’s brought up that another school has arrived, one that a lot of their middle school friends currently attend,  Kumiko doesn’t go running off with her friend to go meet them. Rather she mentions her reason for not following her classmates to that school: she wanted a fresh start in a new environment. If she ran off new to go meet her old classmates, then she’s pretty much going against what she wanted and might start drifting back into her old habits. It’s also worth noting that Azusa mentions that Reina turned down other applications to other schools because she wanted to be at the one Kumiko was at. This came as a shock to Kumiko as she wasn’t aware of this, so I’m sure we’ll get details about this in a coming ep.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This cutie! Source Link
This cutie!
Source Link
Reina commanding attention. Source Link
Reina commanding attention.
Source Link

The actual sequence where they’re performing is way, way too short. What they should’ve done is end the ep with them just about to start playing, that way we could have the next ep be a solid performance ep. But being this is only a 13 ep anime they don’t have the time for that as the story needs to continue. Nevertheless them performing was still really good, the use of CG working here too, and had the scene just been longer than it would’ve had the right effect. They put so much effort and practice for this moment and I really wanted to see it pay off with a nice performance sequence. But as soon as it starts, it’s already over and they’re ready to move onto the next piece.

Asuka reminding me why I have a glasses fetish. Source Link
Asuka reminding me why I have a glasses fetish.
Source Link
Midori and Hazuki showing off their skills. Source Link
Midori and Hazuki showing off their skills.
Source Link

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_22.08_[2015.05.09_01.53.20]


All in all this was a fantastic ep but just too short to be a masterpiece of an ep. Reina really wowed this week and my love for her is growing a lot more. Asuka is still my favorite but the amount of cute girls in this anime makes it hard to be fully satisfied with your choice in best girl. In terms of story progression, there was a good amount as the band is really coming together and showing that they can play as a group now. Sure they still might not fully like Taki-sensei but they’re warming up to the fact they’re making noticeable progress. I was also surprised there wasn’t some last minute crisis that happened, as there usually is something like that in one of these eps. But maybe it was for the best that they didn’t have some crisis as it would’ve taken away from their moment to show off the new and improved concert band. Anyways, with this out of the way it’s time to bring on the next challenge on their road to the Nationals!

Such an epic shot here.
Such an epic shot here.

So that’s it for this ep, great stuff from KyoAni as they really poured the budget into this ep. I’m glad when they do that and it pays off so nicely. As always if you’re watching Hibike! Euphonium as well and have seen this ep, what are your thoughts on it? Let me know in the comments below!

Up next it’s back to space in Knights of Sidonia: Battle for Planet Nine. Following that we’ll see the dramatic conclusion of the Marcia arc in Plastic Memories. I’m assuming that’s the end of that arc, if it’s not then I’m sorry for marketing it as the end. So once again as I was out of town for a couple days this review is coming in late and I’m sorry for that. I’ll be out of town again next Wednesday so the ep 6 review for Euphonium might be affected, but we’ll see.

Links for the gif of Hazuki, Kaori and Reina when they first try on the uniforms.

Lastly a shout out to Joe for letting me use a gif from his review. Please be sure to stop by and check it out! Thanks again!

Alright then, I’ve said all I can say so I’ll bring this to a close. Thanks for reading, enjoy the bonus pics and I’ll cya next time!

-Nick


Bonus Pics!

Kaori looking so cute! Plus that panty shot! Pixiv Link
Kaori looking so cute! Plus that panty shot!
Pixiv Link
Absolutely beautiful art here. I love it! Source Link
Absolutely beautiful art here. I love it!
Source Link

Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

