After the huge battle last week, the Knights need a little break from the action.

Here’s my review.

As usually is the case with a huge action ep, the following week will be a cool down time where the characters can catch their breath, get patched up and prepare themselves for the coming events. That was the case this week.

If we remember back to last week, Izana injured her arm and leg during the fight but now we learn just how bad it really is. Much like in Plastic Memories, Izana will have to have a few limbs amputated but she gets them replaced with mechanical ones instead. So while it’ll take some getting used to for her, she’ll still be able to fly her mech and continue the fight to save humanity. But she’s not the only one who’s recovering from injuries. Remember how Tsumugi deflected the Hyggs laser in order to save Sidonia? Well in doing so she lost 90% of her body mass, which under normal circumstances would probably kill a person, but Tsumugi isn’t “normal” per say. All she needs is some R&R in the water tank and she’ll be able to regrow her lost parts and be ready for action once again.

Interestingly enough, Nagate is much more concerned about Tsumugi’s well being more than Izana, who is actually human and lost her limbs in that battle. He’s concerned enough to visit nearly everyday and spend lots of time being with her as she slowly but surely regrows. While asleep there one day, Nagate also has a dream of Hoshijiro (and she’s very naked I must add but we don’t see any of those bits); when he wakes up he finds that Tsumugi has made a nearly full recovery and is back to her normal self. Overjoyed with this he hugs onto the… I’m not even sure what to call it anymore, it looks like a dolphin almost but I don’t want to call it that. But I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. He hugs onto it.

We have a check in with Yuhata as well, as she’s talking to Kobayashi with a status report on things. As they’re entering the Lem system they’ll be decelerating soon, which is a big deal, so they’ll have to make the right perpetration for this to happen properly. It’s worth noting that even with a fully functioning Tsumugi, Yuhata feels it won’t be enough to fight the threat that’s awaiting them in the near future. I wonder if this will come back to be a problem later?

The rest of the ep is mainly dealing with Nagate and Izana as they try to get Tsumugi into the residential area. Yuhata of course said no to this idea, prompting them to seek other ways to make this happen. Their reason for suddenly wanting to do this is because they feel that Tsumugi’s new home is too far away from everyone else and that she should be closer to the population.

We end the ep with Nagate getting evicted from him room (I know that feel bruh) because of the new trainees moving in. With no place left to go he turns to Izana and asks if he can stay with her. Interestingly enough, even when we see a shot of Izana in the bath, it’s hard to tell if she truly is female. I’m guessing by now she’ll start going that route, as I’m pretty sure the third gender would start to change into either male or female (I think they mentioned this in season 1 at some point) but even so I thought we’d at least see more evidence that Izana is indeed a girl. She doesn’t exactly have much of a chest right now… Anyways we’ll have to wait till next week to see how this will go.


Pretty calm ep this week with not too much happening. Judging from the preview we’ll get right back to the action next time as they loom ever closer to their destination. Alright then that’s gonna bring this review to a close now, short this week as I needed to get it out quickly. If you’re also watching Knights of Sidonia: Battle for Planet Nine, what were your thoughts on this week’s ep? Let me know in the comments below!

Up next it’s Hibike! Euphonium ep 6. Now as I’ll be out of town once again on Wednesday, I’ll aim for a Tuesday posting for this review; if I can’t get it out by then you can expect it out either late Wednesday or Thursday for sure.

Okay then that’s it for me, enjoy the preview for next week and I’ll cya later!

-Nick


Next episode preview!

sid35

 


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Do you have an anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on the Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

