I’m extremely sorry for this being out so late. This is the life I’ve chosen for waiting for sub groups; in the end they never came through so I had to go with plan B. That being the HS rip. Yay!

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata

Saekano title cardComing in second place for my favorite anime of the winter season, Saekano was an extremely charming, refreshing, delightful and enjoyable experience of the much used harem genre of anime. There is so much to love about this anime, the teeming with life characters, the interactions between them, the solid plot, top quality animation, stellar cast, the music was really great, and even the fan service was extremely well done. This anime really surprised me as I wasn’t expecting it to be as amazing as it turned out to be. Like mentioned the fan service was something I really enjoyed because it was so perfectly done and not overdone either, which in some way reminded me of Monogatari. I never felt they over did the fan service, even in ep 0, ep 6, or 10, and it was always balanced out by something else in the episode. I put it into a much more understandable way in a review, so go check that out for some more concise thoughts. Now by the end I was pretty much on Team Michiru as she just pushed all the right buttons for me, but Utaha is right up there with her. After letting it sit for some time, I honestly have to call it a tie for best girl. Both offered points that hit all the right marks for me to make me love them so much. From Utaha’s subtle Hitagi Senjougahara vibes to Muchiru’s seductive personality, both girls really stole the show by the end. But in terms of fan art Kato takes point. Yes, I’m still thinking about those three swimsuit pics.

So all in all Saekano wowed me in many ways and out of all the winter anime, I really, really, really hope this one gets another season at some point because it honestly felt like a prelude to the actual story. There is so much more to happen, this was only just the introduction to the story and characters, season 2 would be where things really take off and go to the next level. Whether or not that’ll actually happen, I can only pray. Until then, I’m giving Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata (How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend) a solid 9.5/10. Great stuff from start to finish. All we need is a season 2.

EDIT: A sequel has been announced since this was written, and yes I will totally be back to review that whenever it’s out.

Be sure to read all my review for Saekano right here!


Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

[Commie] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 21 [297BDFB6].mkv_snapshot_01.14_[2015.03.19_02.52.20]An emotional experience from start to finish, I’ll truly miss KimiUso as it really was something that took me on a journey for 22 eps and never let up. The animation, music, characters, story, it was so amazing and every moment looked and sounded so beautiful. I wish I had more to say about this one, but I pretty much said everything in my special ep 22 review. So I’ll direct your attention to that post so you can read my thoughts. But in terms of a score, I have to give Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso a 9.5/10. A true masterpiece.


Shirobako

[HorribleSubs] Shirobako - 22 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.14_[2015.03.19_02.51.06]After last summer’s complete and total disaster called Glasslip, I was extremely leery about P.A. Works latest anime. After all my trust and love for them had been completely destroyed (Red Data Girl starting that process and Glasslip being the final nail in the coffin) and much like with KyoAni, I had a really hard time loving what used to be my top favorite studio. Nevertheless though I decided to watch Shirobako and my God what a good choice that was. Honestly Shirobako is the least anime anime I’ve ever seen as it’s about an anime studio making anime. Wow, meta as hell. But despite it’s rather frantic and fast-paced style, it worked flawlessly and in the end P.A. Works completely blew me away at the sheer awesomeness of this anime. The characters, plot, execution of the plot, music, OP/ED’s animation, it was just all a bundle of amazing and it totally brought my love for P.A. Works crashing back. It really makes me also wonder who the fuck thought Glasslip was a good idea? I only watched to ep 9 of that, but holy shit was it a terrible anime. Looked stunning as always, but the plot and characters were absolute shit. The only good thing that came from Glasslip was the nano.RIPE ED, as nano.RIPE is always awesome. But as for Shirobako, pure awesomeness, it was such an amazing anime and I’m so glad I gave it a chance. I’m giving Shirobako a 9.5/10. Top quality stuff and it’s got my highest recommendations too. Go watch this one, give it time and it’ll really reward you with something extra, extra special.

Be sure to read all of Andrew’s reviews for Shirobako right here!


The iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls

Cinderella Girls title cardHow many months late am I? No, no, please don’t tell me. I don’t want to know.

Do I remember ep 1 at this point? Ah not really, but it’s easy enough to piece together what happened between then and now. So through and through Cinderella Girls isn’t a new formula in anyway as idol anime can only do so many things with the plot. It follows a group of girls all chosen for a new idol unit and how they work through the challenges along the way. Ever since Wake Up, Girls! which I feel has probably the best story out of the three idol anime I’ve seen (those being Love Live, iDOLM@STER and WUG) it’s hard to find a plot as solid as WUG’s. But where WUG lacks in animation and polish, idol anime like this and Love Live pick up and fly away with. That said though I’m not saying the plot of Cinderella Girls is shit or anything, but it’s just a pretty basic idol anime plot; it’s still well done and all but it’s nothing ground breaking.

So while I liked that about it, there are things I didn’t like. The animation had some issues at times, Uzuki’s eyes looking pretty far apart at times (okay a lot of times) but for the most part it was pretty decent. Once again out of the three idol anime Love Live probably has the best animation, including the very well done CG dance sequences that I know someone will probably be annoyed at the fact that I’m saying there’s nothing wrong with it. Yeah that’s right, I know you’re reading this and getting salty.

Another issues I had was the fact there were legit lolis acting in sexual ways and that bothered the hell outta me as it makes me uncomfortable. I’m wondering if I should be looking out the window just to check that the police don’t haul me off for that, but honestly Rika did and said some things that she was in no place to say and do. I get the fact her sister Mika is an older girl who can pull off a sexy act, but Rika should not be attempting that for another 6 more years. Geez. I don’t know what you guys see in lolis that makes your dick so hard, but they’re nothing but prison time in my eyes.

So with that out of the way I should also mention that by ep 13 I had an extremely hard time naming a best girl. I ended with a three way tie between Rin, Anya and Ranko. I honestly can’t pick because each has something about them that I really like. Maybe when season 2 rolls around I’ll have a better idea of who I’ll pick as best girl, but as of right now I can’t decide.

I guess what all this is boiling down to is the rating I’ll give this. Honestly I enjoyed it, except for the parts I mentioned but I had a fun time watching. I’m eagerly looking forward to season 2 in July and I hope they can continue up the stairs to the magical castle that awaits them at the top.  So tallying this all up I’m giving The iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls a solid 8/10. Cya in July!


Tokyo Ghoul √A

[HorribleSubs] Tokyo Ghoul Root A - 10 [720p].mkv_snapshot_02.22_[2015.03.19_02.51.35]The only reason I watched this one was because I saw the first season and wanted to see how things would all wrap up. Literally that’s only why I watched. All in all I really didn’t like Tokyo Ghoul, season 1 or 2. I’d just turn off my brain, watch it then turn it back on again after. Literally nothing about this anime (except maybe the ED) appealed to me. I’m not some edgy, angsty as fuck 12 year old who thinks this is such a hardcore anime because it’s all dark, bloody, and mature, so in all regards I felt too disconnected to even remotely enjoy this. The story was pretty meh, the animation this time around was complete shit, the OP was also pure shit and I don’t understand why everyone hypes Kaneki so much as he’s got absolutely nothing going for him. Looking at how this one ended, yet another example of a disappointing finale. I didn’t find it epic, dramatic, emotional, or good; even when the first season OP, unravel, started playing nothing got better. Hell, I didn’t even like that song so I don’t see why people thought it was amazing when it started playing. Ugh, this is one I should’ve stopped long ago but I suffered through it till the end, annoyed as fuck all along the way. What I need to do with future shit anime is stop watching before I get in too deep, I’ll save so much time by doing that. With all said and done, Tokyo Ghoul √A gets a 3/10. Totally not worth the hype in any way.


And that brings us to a close! If you watched (or are still watching) any of the above mentioned anime, what are your thoughts of them? I’ll leave you with this question as well: what was your number 1 favorite anime this past winter season? Also, what were your two runners up as well? Let me know your answers in the comments below!

That’s it for me, sorry this post was so delayed. I was waiting on a certain sub group to get Cinderella Girls out and they were kinda slow; okay really slow as it’s still not out yet. Anyways, this post is finished so that’s all that matters. Thanks for reading and I’ll cya later!

-Nick

Pixiv Link


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by my Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Got this anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on my Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

