No, this has nothing to do with Love Live! Sunshine.

sunshineSo I was happy to see that we’ve been nominated for another award, this being the Sunshine Award, by blogging friend Ray from 紫鏡猫 x 十香 (I’m too lazy to translate it via Google, so whatever that says). Anyways the Sunshine Award is, and I quote: “an award given to ‘bloggers who are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere’”. So that’s a nice think to say regarding someone’s blog. Thanks Ray!

Alright then, so a quick look at the rules to accept this award are quite simple:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate a few other bloggers.
  • Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you nominated.
  • Notify the bloggers on their blog.
  • Put the award button on your blog.

Shouldn’t be hard to follow. Ray gave us some questions to answer, 6 of them, so here are the answers from myself and some of the team here at Anime Corps.


1: Worst anime you ever watched in your life. How is it shitty?

Andrew: I generally don’t go around considering anime “shitty”, thanks to my having an interest in the industry that makes the anime and having watched Shirobako I am all too aware of the fact that anime are made by people; at least a few of whom will have put their all into their work so for me to be overly hostile towards it feels more than a bit harsh of me.

However, there is a limit to what this sentimentality of mine will simply let me consider “not for me” and I would be lying if I claimed there were no anime that I consider bad. So, if pushed to name a worst I would name Queens Blade, an anime in my eyes that has no real right to exist. My criticism is, at its core, the fact that it is purely fan-service and nothing else. It would be hypocritical in the extreme of me to try and claim that the anime is poor simply because of fan-service, I am after all a massive fan of Strike Witches and rather like Hyakka Ryōran. But both of those bring more to the table than simply lewd subtexts and the feminine form and I personally feel that they could stand up without them and whilst I won’t complain about the fan-service in these shows I don’t feel like I would overly mind if I awoke one morning to find myself in a world where the witches have discover the invention of trousers.

Chris: Mahou Sensou. Watch it and find it.

Deven: Everyone’s been saying it since I believe Summer last year but it’s Glasslip. They had PA Works had a good thing set up for a cute little supernatural romance but then they had to mess it up by having horrible male main character, odd characters like Sachi,  and a weird female character like Toki.

Nick: Hmm, I’m thinking it’s a toss up between Samurai Flamenco, Terra FORMARS, Wizard Barristers or Tokyo Ghoul (S1 & 2 as I hated them both). I should mention Attack on Titan, but it wasn’t the absolute worst thing ever. As for why I didn’t like said anime mentioned: Samurai Flamenco was crap, Terra FORMARS was ABSOLUTE SHIT, Wizard Barristers was a quality ridden disaster, Tokyo Ghoul was way too edgy and angsty for me, and Attack on Titan had a completely and totally terrible plot that failed in every single possible way a plot could ever fail. Even as bad as Terra FORMARS was, Attack on Titan had a plot execution that is even worse.

Tsuyuki: Mekakucity Actors. It is the absolute worst pile of crap I have ever seen in my entire life due to extremely poor art an animation, an over-attachment to the source songs (as it was based off of a Vocaloid song series) while blatantly ignoring the source story, an unlikeable cast of terrible characters, giving absolutely no shits about it’s audience’s suspension of disbelief, and having the production studio responsible for it showing in every way that they could that this was a cash cow to hold them over while they churned out another Monogatari and another Nisekoi. I love Studio SHAFT but this series was absolute garbage in every sense of the word.

2: What do you think the future of anime will be like?

Andrew: The future of the industry? That’s a hard one, but if Hideaki Anno is to be believed the industry has but five years left so I best start looking for a new past time. In all seriousness though it is very difficult to say what will happen in the future, it is no secret that the industry will face problems in the future and that it is bleeding talent. Maybe the anime industry of the 1980 will be finally dead or we will be a paradigm shift away from the large number of shows per season but I don’t for a second think that it will be all gone in five years, I refuse to accept that.

Well this got serious all of a student, quick Andrew think of something….Errm….waifus in 60fps and 3D where available…..with holographic projected versions in development.

Chris: It’ll probably just be more of the same.  More moe and boobs.  But seriously, idol shows are getting more popular, so we’ll probably see more of those.

Deven: The future of anime in my opinion probably will go to more fanservice and bad harem anime. Why? Mostly because they can grab up the lowest common denominator. However I think there will be a jump in higher quality anime and light novels because the people aren’t about that are going to check out other action series and stuff like that.

Nick: Hopefully better stories, but that’s kinda pushing my luck. Probably more of the same as it seems to be working. Let the record state that I’m using the term “working” extremely loosely here.

Tsuyuki: I’m actually not too sure. Definitely more fanservice and more CGI, but aside from that I honestly don’t know and I’m pretty excited to see what the future has in store!

3: Best anime studio you encountered so far?

Andrew: Hmmm rather than answering the question and outlining why I like SHAFT so much and why I quite like Silver Link I’m going to pretend that I didn’t understand the question and simply state that I have never actually encountered and anime studio in real life, I’d like to though.

Chris: P.A. Works, maybe?  I don’t think there’s really a “best” studio.

Deven: Ufotable. I have never seen such beautiful anime done by anyone. Fate/Stay Night UBW and Fate/Zero are beautiful done.

Nick: KyoAni, P.A. Works and SHAFT are the three that come to mind right away. A-1 Pictures gets a nod as well as I like their stuff, but the three I mentioned before really stand out for me. As for a favorite anime from each: from KyoAni: either Haruhi or Hyouka; from P.A. Works: Hanasaku Iroha and Shirobako; and from SHAFT (yeah it’s the obvious one): the Monogatari series, but a nod to Madoka Magica, Nisekoi and Koufuku Graffiti.

Tsuyuki: J.C.Staff. They are the gods responsible for a gigantic majority of my favourite anime and I’m yet to watch an anime by them that I genuinely dislike (yes, I liked Little Busters!: Refrain).

4: Do you think you will ever quit anime?

Andrew: No. Quite frankly I don’t. Perhaps I will watch less of it as I become more of a responsible member of society and have to worry more about taxes and other mundane things, I certainly won’t rebuff the fact that I don’t watch as much anime as I did back when I was In school but I don’t think that I will ever entirely give up on it. Certainly the notion of being considered a creepy old aged guy obsessed with watching animated school girls is a potential concern but when I think about it as the fans get older so does the thing they are fans of. So by the time I am said creepy old aged otaku, anime will be considered akin to things like knitting and model trains, a pass time for old people. And there is your hobby ruined.

Chris: No, not really.  It’s not like it’s a drug or something, this is a hobby.

Deven: Nope. I’ll stop anime when I die a horribly painful death.

Nick: I’ll be watching anime for a while still, I’m enjoying things thus far.

Tsuyuki: Probably not. I personally believe I’m one of those cases in which I’ll be watching anime for the rest of my life regardless of what will happen to me.

5: Romantic Comedy or Romantic Drama?

Andrew: This is again a hard one but I’m going to have to go for romantic comedy. Had you asked me a few years ago I probably would not have been able to decide between the two and would have written an essay on why they are technically the same in a flimsy attempt to avoid the question but the fact of the matter is that whilst I do enjoy –enjoy is probably the wrong word- a really emotional and feels inducing romantic drama, I can only stomach so much at present so by extension only occasionally watch them. Romantic comedies on the other hand make of excellent shows to simply watch for the sake of watching or for a good pick me up. Because, honestly, if you can watch a show like Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun without smiling then I would suggest that you seek the aid of a priest as you are beyond the capabilities of modern science.

Chris: Depends on the series and the mood I’m in.  But typically, drama because comedy is often times done poorly.

Deven: Romantic Comedy. I don’t like dramas. I’ve read romance novels and they might as well be the same thing.

Nick: Probably Romantic Drama. Sure a rom-com anime is fine if done right, because there is more emotion and definitely more character driven story lines in a romantic drama than in a rom-com. I like having decent well developed characters and a solid plot from start to finish, so while watching a rom-com anime can be good for a fun time and some laughs, if I want something that’s more serious I’d go with a romantic drama series instead.

Tsuyuki: Romantic Drama. Romantic Comedies are nice but the Romantic Dramas, like the ef series, are a lot more emotion provoking and because of that I tend to like them much more.

6: Longest marathon throughout your anime life?

Andrew: Writing the answer to this one certainly induced feeling of nostalgia for my afore mentioned school days when I was going more than a bit mad with watching anime. The longest marathon I can think of off the top of my head (which probably mans it is the longest I’ve ever done) transpired back in the summer of 2011, several of my friends had yet to see Haruhi so we organised a marathon over at one of my friend’s houses but we ended up starting late in the day so it ended up taking all night (staying awake for the entire of the endless eight was a task to say the least). The early the next day I returned home but wasn’t really in the mood for sleep so ended up watching the much talked about Madoka Magica. As I marathoned it with little prior knowledge of the kind of show it really is, the feels hit me pretty hard so I chose to rewatch K-On! to cheer myself up. This worked at first but I ended up getting really rather into it and watched it all, including the feels inducing ending. Though by this point I was well and truly exhausted and went to bed with Azusa’s last song in my head and sadness in my heart. Fun, fun, fun!

I’m almost curious to see what length marathon I am capable of at present. Recalling this time certainly does conjure up the notion of youthful energy and the fact that I most likely don’t have the stamina to do this kind of thing anymore is very likely to make me feel really old but maybe I’ll surprise myself.

Chris: Marathoned all of Neon Genesis Evangelion once I got the box set and then watched a few hours of other stuff after.

Deven: 36 hours to watch Fate/Stay Night Studio Deen Version and Fate/Zero. It was a glorious weekend.

Nick: I’m not a person who can watch a whole series in one sitting, maybe if I had my own room and laptop sure. I think the most I’ve watched of one series at once was all of Nekomonogatari: Kuro, Hanamonogatari and Tsukimonogatari. Respectively 4 and 5 eps long but I can’t think of a longer marathon of one specific series. I feel like compared to the other guys here and their marathons I’m such a noob.

Tsuyuki: The entire first season of Shugo Chara in a day. Stuff like that will mess you up.


And that’s it for questions we’ve gotta answers. Now it’s time to pass along the fun to a couple other blogs. Here are 6 questions for you to answer!

1: How many times have you rewatched your favourite anime? How would you say the show feels after the second or third time watching it?

2: If you made your own anime, which genre would it be and why?

3: Which of the media typically associated with our interests (anime, manga, LNs, VNs, etc) is the best for telling an interesting story?

4: What manga or light novel would you want to have an anime adaptation?

5: Are you an avid manga or light novel reader? If so, do you prefer reading from a physical book or digitally from a tablet or computer?

6: What was it that made your all time top favorite anime so special for you? Story? Characters? The cast? Studio? Animation? Why is it your top favorite anime?


So the lucky blogs that have the honor of answering these questions (if you so choose to) are:

The Reviewer’s Corner – It’s about time I passed along an award to you, Joe.

Curious Cloudy – You’ve got an awesome blog there Cloudy!

The Yuri Nation – Because yuri blogs are the best.

Alright so if you would like to take part in the fun and pass along “an award given to ‘bloggers who are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere’” then by all means please do so! Of course this is entirely optional and even if you chose not to take part, please remember that I do indeed find your blogs enjoyable to read and inspiring to others. Keep up the good work!


That’s if for this post, for everyone at Anime Corps we’d like to say thank you for reading this post, thanks to Ray for nominating us, and thanks to all the followers who follow our blog here. We couldn’t do it without you guys!

Cya later~!


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

