While Plastic Memories continues to fail week after week, Knights of Sidonia is taking things to a whole new level.

Here’s my review!

Wow this was quite the ep, one that not only was audio and visually impressive but one where I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. And the ending… oh man the ending! I can’t wait for the next ep as things took a turn for intense! Overall there isn’t actually a lot that happens, but what does happen is quite solid.

So last week we ended with a recon team being ambushed by a cloaked Gauna and wrecking some havoc. This week it’s the exciting rescue mission that Nagate and Tsumugi are sent on to save Izana and the other pilot guy. Initially there wasn’t even going to be a rescue mission as Kobayashi wasn’t planning on saving the pilots at all, rather just taking out the threat. While it’s a quick decision to make, technically it’s the right call as if they didn’t stop the Gauna then everyone would die anyways. But after listening to Norio’s words of advice to let Tsumugi be sent out, Kobayashi agrees to the rescue op.

Nagate and his new and improved Tsugumori Mark III along with Tsumugi are sent out to find and bring back Izana and whoever else is alive. It’s a stressful mission as Izana and Nagate are lovers now so there is that fine line of keeping this professional and not letting your emotions get the better of you.

For the first time in Knights of Sidonia we’ve seen the main characters travel to an actual planet, so this was a pretty neat change of things from the usual space scenery. But this planet isn’t exactly a tropical paradise, rather it’s home to one very tough enemy, one that brings the terror from season 1 back all over again. After coming under fire upon arrival and ending up crashing themselves, Nagate and Tsumugi are faced with a different Gauna, one that’s faster, smarter, and has a lot more firepower. What they’re facing is something far more dangerous than an average Gauna. What they’re facing is the return of Benisuzume.

Now as season 1 was quite some time ago, I can’t exactly remember what happened to Benisuzume, if she “died” or escaped, but whatever the case is she’s back and ready to kill once more. But maybe this time with Tsumugi on their side they’ll be able to defeat Benisuzume. It’s surely going to be a thrilling battle between these two super power mechs, one that I can’t wait to see next week.


So while it was great to see a ghost from the past come back to wreck some more havoc, what really stood out for me in this ep was the animation. I’ve said it before that Sidonia really shines when it pushes the limits on audio and visuals, and this week is a prime example of that. Once more I’m left feeling like I need to be watching this on a bigger screen as it’s got such a cinematic feel to it, and this is something I absolutely love about this anime. Much like how I felt while rewatching Madoka Magica, some anime should be watched on a bigger screen because it’s one that’s made to immerse the viewer and totally hold them captive for the duration.

But as amazing as all this is, there are only 2 eps left of Sidonia so how will this all end? Will they be able to make it to Planet Nine alive? Will they be able to kill Benisuzume for real this time? What tricks does Kobayashi still have up her sleeve? And, will Izana and Nagate live to fight another day? So many questions and not a lot of time left. One thing’s for certain though, Knights of Sidonia: Battle for Planet Nine might just have the best finale this season.


Very short review this week, but like I said there wasn’t a whole lot that happened. It started on a high note and it’s only gotten better as the week’s have gone on. If you’re also watching Knights of Sidonia what are your thoughts on it? Let me know in the comments below!

Up next it’s time for one more round of auditions in Hibike! Euphonium ep 11. I’m really looking forward to that ep tomorrow, so I hope you can join me for that review. So there will be some wrap up posts coming soon as well as a summer anime preview post; expect those by the end of the month.

Alright then that’s it for me, thanks for reading and I’ll cya next time!

-Nick


Next episode preview!

sid5


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Do you have an anime that you think I’ll enjoy? Leave a comment on the Recommendations page and I’ll check it out at some point. I may even review it too!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

