Thanks for a pretty decent season.

It’s not too often that I drop 6 things in one season, but this past spring season that happened. While I do mention why exactly I dropped those shows, you’ll have to wait till the other spring review post is out to read about it. So aside from that, there were some shows that really stood out for me and I enjoyed quite a bit. I’m sure you can think of the main one, that being Hibike! Euphonium, but there were also a few other good ones that I enjoyed a lot too. Right then, so it’s time for me to score the 10 shows I did watch and put down my final impressions.


Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken 2 Sure-me
(I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying S2)

Dannaken_Crunchy_VerticalMuch like season 1, Danna S2 was the same enjoyable 3 minute anime about a newlyweds and the trials they face. Honestly I’m not really sure what to say because there isn’t much in the way of deep plot, intriguing characters, stunning animation and such, but for a 3 minute anime it’s pretty enjoyable and nearly every ep had me laughing. I was surprised to see this got a second season but it continued on the story nicely and while the ending is rather open in terms of they continue on in their life, I was quite satisfied with it. So tallying things all up I’ll give Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken 2 Sure-me (I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying S2) a 6.5/10.


Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka
(Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?)

Dungeon-ni-Deai-wo-Motomeru-no-wa-Machigatteiru-no-Darou-ka-Anime-Visual-02Like many shows in a season there is always one that gets a lot of hype. DanMachi wasn’t the one I expected to get that hype as it seemed too average and something that’s been done before. But after a good two or three weeks of this starting, I noticed a name trending daily on Twitter. Hestia. Yes the Hestia Hype was in full swing. Love her or hate her this anime would forever be defined because of this girl’s big boobs and blue string holding them up. But is that a bad thing?

Well no, not really…. After watching all 13 eps I honestly can’t hate Hestia because I don’t have a solid enough reason to convince myself she did anything deserving of hate. I mean sure if I nitpick all the little details and completely over analyze her like some love to do, then sure I’ll find faults. But I don’t usually like to do that so looking at what I’m working with and seeing how she is week in and week out, I came to the conclusion that she isn’t worthy of any hate. Is she the best girl? Hardly. Aiz takes that award easily. Aiz is the type of girl I like seeing more than Hestia. Sure I like Hestia a lot, I think she’s rather cute, but Aiz, oh boy Aiz is someone I gravitate to more.

Characters aside though the story of DanMachi is, like I mentioned, nothing entirely new or unused. Much like what Deven said in his opening review, it’s got a heavy SAO vibe to it that’s quite hard to shake. That’s not even including the fact the same voice actor/ress are in both SAO and DanMachi. But nevertheless I still enjoyed watching DanMachi as it was pretty good all the way through.

In all honestly DanMachi was one of my favorites from the spring season, maybe not top 3 material but it’s in the top 5 for sure. I know some are still violently opposed because of Hestia, but as the weeks wore on the hype died down and people weren’t so frantic about her anymore. There is still a truck load of artwork out there though, more new pics daily, and you’ll still see Hestia on Twitter almost every day, but I’m fine with her and I’m pretty sure I always will be. A quick nod to the music and animation as well, both were very good all the way through as J.C. Staff did another fine job. I can’t think of any glaring quality moments at present.

So all in all DanMachi was a solid and enjoyable anime. It gets a bad rep because of the Hestia Hype, but once you get over that (if you’re one of those people who easily can) then it’s something worth watching till the end. Will there be another season? I’d like there to be. It feels that there is more story to be told as the dungeon still has many more levels and secrets to be explored. And if there is another season, then you can count on me watching it as well. Tallying it all up I’ll give Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka (Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?) an 8/10. Firebolt!

Be sure to read all of Deven’s reviews of DanMachi right here!


Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic

[HorribleSubs] Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.54_[2015.06.18_13.20.27]Building on season 1, Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic took all the best points, added a few new characters, and gave us something that was truly a masterpiece. When I think of my favorite slice of life anime I’ve seen, this is always up at the top because it’s so damn enjoyable. True you could say they’re lolis and watching this show means you like lolis, but for me if they’re not doing extremely lewd things or being sexualized, then it’s fine and I can watch it and not feel bad about it. So being that it’s a slice of life anime, you can’t expect a 1-12 plot with it, but as long as each ep is an enjoyable experience, engaging and just plain fun to watch, then in my books they’ve done something right. And with Hello!! Kinmosa, they did just that and then some each week.

From the loveable characters (Karen best girl!), great OP/ED and OST, fun humor, soft yuri elements, and a charming vibe, Hello!! Kinmosa is one anime that I could rewatch again and again and still have a lot of fun with it each time. If you’re looking for something light and easy to watch, Kinmosa is one series I highly recommend as it offers such a charming experience that it’s impossible not to love. Honestly I can’t find anything wrong with this anime as it hits all the right notes and delivers an experience that makes me remember just how much fun watching anime can be. One of my top recommendations of the spring season I’m giving Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic the highest rating I hand out, 10/10. Hello!


Hibike! Euphonium
(Sound! Euphonium)

Hibike! Euphonium title cardIt’s no surprise that KyoAni would deliver in their latest anime, but man I was still blown away by the sheer amazingness of this anime. Like… wow! There is so much I love about this anime and it’s safe to say that it’ll be one that will stay with me for a while. First up I should just mention the animation as that’s what makes this anime, in my opinion, the best looking KyoAni show since 2012’s Hyouka. By the way go watch Hyouka if you haven’t already. There are so many moments, eps 5, 8, 11 and 12 come to mind right away, but overall this anime looked absolutely gorgeous and just for the animation alone I’m giving this one full points.

Character wise I fell in love with this group of people so much and I enjoyed seeing them each week. As expected KyoAni filled this anime with so many cute girls and they did so without having to rely on huge boobs and stupid fanservice to do so. I actually like it when the characters are cute and loveable without having to use cheap ploys like that to make them popular. Plus a character with depth is one I really like and in Euphonium we got a lot of depth to the main cast. Kumiko, Hazuki, Reina, not as much for Sapphire, but those other 3 had a lot of depth to them and I really enjoyed that. As mentioned before I felt that Asuka, while an amazing character, lacks the depth as the other have. I can’t shake the feeling that there is so much more we need to learn about Asuka as it’s clear as day she’s hiding something. By far she’s the most mysterious character and I’d love it if we could dive into her back story more and get to really know her. What makes her tick? What’s her home life like? Why is she the way she is? These are questions I really want to know about her and either another season or movie should for sure touch on this aspect. I should also mention Taki as well, as I was one of the few who did like him. Sure his ways might seem strict and he may come across as being a complete dick about things, but in the end his direction and guidance brought the band together and helped them on their way to makes their dreams come true.

Plot wise I loved the story in Euphonium, it was fabulous. Nothing crazy in depth and detailed, but it had a lot of heart to it and I loved that about it. The character interactions, especially between Kumiko and Reina are by far the best in this anime. They chemistry they had was so beautiful to watch each week and that is another aspect I’ll dearly miss about this anime. Pretty much every ep I was caught up in the story and I savored watching how things unfolded from when Kumiko first joins the band up to the performance in ep 13. It was such a solid plot through and through and I can’t find any glaring holes in it. But as amazing as it is, it’s not over. The Nationals are still the end goal and the journey to that is far from over. We need another season or movie to wrap this one up. A movie seems most likely but another season would be the best. Either way this story has so much more left in it and I truly hope a follow up is planned.

And of course I can’t write all this and not mention the music. Euphonium was carried not only by the characters and story but by the music as well. From the OP/ED and OST, Euphonium was a true audio and visual masterpiece. This is and OST to get for sure as it’s one that they really went all out for. Plus I love classical music as it makes great studying/writing music, something which I’m always looking for.

So to wrap this up in a nice package, what’s one word I’d use to describe Hibike! Euphonium? Spectacular. This is what I like to look for when I watch anime, something that tells a fabulous story, has great characters, music and visuals are perfect, and it’s whole atmosphere is simply the best. KyoAni delivered once again and they’re setting the bar high for what they could make next to top this. Yes Hibike! Euphonium is my new all time favorite KyoAni show. And for the icing on the cake, I’m giving Hibike! Euphonium my highest award, highest recommendation, Anime of the Season, gold stars, hearts, hugs and kisses, along with a perfect 10/10 rating. Let the next piece begin.

 Be sure to read all my Hibike! Euphonium reviews right here!


Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu
(The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan)

[caffeine] Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu - 05 [720p][3D291581].mkv_snapshot_00.48_[2015.06.18_13.24.32]Ever since The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya I’ve been wanting more from this world, and guess what, we got it. Well kind of. Sure it’s not that long awaited season 3 that everyone wants, but it’s a step in the right direction. Honestly I can’t say much about this one as I haven’t watched past ep 5, mostly because I started watching the dubbed version. So as for how things are going so far, well the plot hasn’t really picked up that much so I can’t say that much about it. I’m sure things pick up more in the coming eps but until then it’s rather slow going.

So far I don’t hate Yuki-chan, but I’d like it to pick up a bit more. Looking at where things stand now I’m giving Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu (The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan) an 7/10. Let’s hope things get good later!


And that’ll bring this part to a close. If you watched or are still watching any of the above mentioned anime, what are your thoughts on them? Let me know in the comments below!

I’ll cya in part 2!

**Pixiv Link for header pic**

-Nick


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

