It’s been a long, long time since I last talked about Amaburi, but here I am back with an all new review for episode 14, the OVA. Yes it’s that time again….

LOOK AT THE SKY IT’S MAGIC HOUR!!!

Here’s my review!


It’s not only been a long time since I last talked about Amaburi, but it’s been a long time since I last wrote an anime review. Classroom☆Crisis failed to entertain me and was dropped after 3, so that left me free from reviewing anime this season. But as DameDesuYo recently released Amaburi BD Volume 7 with this OVA included, I figured now was finally the time to watch and review it. I feel pretty rusty when it comes to anime reviewing, so I hope this review comes across in a normal and organized fashion. Alright then let’s jump into this!

So as this is an OVA there really isn’t a deep story to it, rather a bunch of events happening that are more or less tied together. At the core of this ep is the impending Kanie birthday party that the staff of Amaburi are planning, so everything that’s happening around this affects it in one way or another. For starters: Muse injured her neck while sleeping (yeah that can happen) and is unable to preform, so Sento takes her place. To fill Sento’s place Latifa steps up to take over that position. Finally, to fill in for Latifa, Muse takes her place for the day. Because of this Sento is out of the office and can’t hold down the fort and keep things running smoothly, so when problems arise Latifa is scrambling to figure out how to solve them.

While this is all happening, Moffle, Biino Bandou, Shiina Chuujou, and Eiko Adachi are off to an annual event that will secure a fall tour of a local kindergarten class, something that’s big for the park. They also take along a present for the kids, but Biino accidentally grabs the wrong box, that being the birthday present Sento had bought for Kanie. What could possibly go wrong with that? While Moffle is gone, Ookuro the security guard, fills in for him and that ends up being quite disastrous too.

And if there wasn’t enough going on already, the air conditioner in the office is broken and it’s way too hot to work in there, so Kanie is off to find a quiet and cool place to work, which is becoming quite the challenge. So those are the 3 main things that were happening in this OVA and they all were connected, more or less.

It’s been such a long time since I’ve last seen Amaburi that I’d forgotten the charm it has to it along with the humor. The events unfold in hilarious fashion, from the kindergarten trip turned wrestling match, to Sento failing at being an Elementario fairy, to Latifa struggling with the fast paced desk job of Sento’s.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But in the end everything came together and Kanie had his surprise birthday party. It’s worth noting his tsundere like reaction to it all, being genuinely surprised by everyone’s kindness and thoughts, but covering up his true feelings about it by acting in his usual way. It’s funny at the very end when Sento finally gets around to giving Kanie his birthday present, neither of them aware of what’s happened to it that afternoon, and she runs off before he gets a chance to open it. At one point it was a nice clock that she was planning on giving him, but after that trio of crazy kids got their hands on it, the present box became filled to the brim with cicada shells. Man… I really hate those kids.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall I really enjoyed this OVA as it brought back lots of the points I loved so much about the anime and even if it was for a mere 23 minutes, getting back into the Amaburi world once again was such a fun time. I still really wish for another season as it feels like there could be much more story to tell about the park and it’s magical staff that works there, but whether or not that’ll actually happen I’m really not sure. Honestly though if any recent KyoAni series should get a sequel, it’s Hibike! Euphonium.

And of course I can’t end this review without mentioning that I loved seeing Sento once again. By far Sento is my favorite girl in this anime and while her role in this ep wasn’t huge, we did get to see her sporting the sexy costumes that the fairies usually wear, plus we also get to see a quick scene with her bathing. Excellent stuff there. Oh and one point I really liked about the Sento bathing scene, aside from the obvious, was how stunning the animation was. Seriously, go back and watch the 17 seconds in which we see Sento in the tub. Notice how gorgeous the water looks as she lifts her hand to brush her hair back, how the water ripples as she moves around and the droplets drip down her chest. Such detail! KyoAni truly are masters at not only making cute anime girls but stunning art too. If you want an even better example, go watch Hibike! Euphonium and you’ll be totally blown away by it. By far that one has the best art since Hyouka, which was already extremely incredible to begin with.

Normally I don’t like rating individual eps at the end of a review, but for this time I’ll make an exception and rate this one an 8/10. If you’re a fan of Amaburi then this is some you should check out for sure as it’s totally worth it. Also if you haven’t read them before, be sure to check out my weekly episode reviews of the anime as well. Sorry about the strange ordering their in, I’m not really sure how that happened.

Here are some additional screen shots from the ep too!

Sento dressed as Muse. Looking sexy! Source Link
Sento dressed as Muse. Looking sexy!
Source Link
Muse dressed as Latifa. Source Link
Muse dressed as Latifa.
Source Link
Latifa dressed as Sento. Source Link
Latifa dressed as Sento.
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
I don't even want to ask why she's trying to do that. Source Link
I don’t even want to ask why she’s trying to do that.
Source Link

So that’s gonna bring this OVA review to a close. It was nice to get back into reviewing for a bit, even if it was for 1 episode. So upon having a look at the fall anime lineup, there are a few that are catching my eye in terms of wanting to review. As of now possible anime I’m considering to review are Gochiusa S2 and Hidan no Aria AA; as the fall season approaches though and more anime are announced I’ll start to narrow it down to possibly 1 or 2 anime to review. Anyways, that’s pretty much all I’ve got to say about what I’ll be up to come next season. You probably won’t see anymore posts from me until next month’s Love Live birthday post, which will be on September 12 for Kotori.

Alright then thanks for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, don’t forget to leave a comment below with your thoughts and I’ll cya later!

-Nick


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

