Sorry for being late.

creative-awardSo a while ago now, Joe from The Reviewer’s Corner nominated Anime Corps for this blog award called the Creative Blogger Award. After some time of talking it over we’ve finally been able to come together, well most of us at least, to write this. Before we jump in with the content I’ll quickly go over the rules for this award.

The Rule Are:

Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.

Share 5 facts about yourself. (We’ll be doing only 3 per person)

Nominate 15-20 bloggers and add their links.

Notify the bloggers you included.

Keep the rules in your post to make it easy for everyone to know what to do!

Simple enough, right? Okay let’s start.


Andrew

I buy practically all of the manga that I read as physical books: This much is kind of something that should be a “support the industry” bragging right but in reality it is both expensive and horribly impractical meaning that I am always in the position of being behind on series and so need to be careful of spoilers. In all honesty I probably only do it out of stubbornness and there is no reason why I can’t both read online and buy physical copies when they come out but when you get into the habit of doing things this way it kind of sticks. I say practically as I have broken this rule on two occasions; I’ve read a Kancolle manga online called Tomarigi no Chinjufu because it’s protagonist is the ever adorable Kumano and has really no chance of getting an English release and what little of Toaru Nichijou no Index-san that has been fan translated thanks to a certain someone using Shokuhou Misaki related persuasion techniques (I will neither confirm nor deny any joy that I obtain from breaking my own rules)

I’ve actually come fairly close to losing the use of my right arm: Perhaps the most unique thing about me physically is that I have quite a few scars on my right forearm, the largest of which stretches all the way from the base of my palm to about 3cm above my elbow. These scars are the result of the fairly extensive surgery I had done on my arm after breaking it, about 5 years ago, on a trampoline. About eight feet up in the air I lost balance and on my way down instinctively extended my arm to break my fall, this, as it turns out, is basically the worst thing you can do on a soft surface as rather than the impact going up my arm and simply breaking my collar bone, my arm instead twisted. All the way around. Three times. It was both loud and grotesque looking (thankfully none of my bones pierced their way out of my flesh) leaving me in hospital for nearly two weeks, needing 5 operations on it and having my arm in a cast for half a year. Needless to say trampolining is not a hobby of mine.

There are actually quite a few “classic” anime that I have not actually watched: I’m sure that this is true for a lot of people but my reason for not watching a lot of “classics” is not that I don’t have time but that I voluntarily don’t want to watch them as I know that there is little chance that they will be able to live up to my expectations of them that have come about by how much they are acclaimed to be masterpieces. I honestly enjoy the thrill of a drama and going in with excessive expectations ruins it somewhat if I went into Madoka knowing that things were going to get messed up quickly and knowing how bittersweet the ending is then I don’t think that it would have been able to move me in the way that it did. Likewise I don’t really want to go into watching Eva knowing that it is going to be complex and deep simply because I will be going into it prepared for that much and will react to it in a calm and calculating manner rather than getting immersed in it.


Tsuyuki

1) I’m a published author.

2) I’m still in high school.

3) I’ve self-taught myself a fair amount of Japanese (no, not through anime).


Nick

1: Trying to be a writer.
Honestly this is something I’m slowly starting to give up on as my motivation isn’t what is used to be. It’s upsetting because I know I have some good story ideas yet once I lose the motivation, or just if the idea starts to fall apart, then the story is as good as dead. While it’s a work in progress to get back into writing, I’m trying slowly to do it. Maybe this National Novel Writing month in November might be my chance to return to writing. One can only hope.

2: I’m in a manga.
No seriously I am. Not as a character or anything, but I wrote into the publisher following up on some question they had in the previous issue, and my response was published. Looking back on it now I could’ve done a better job with it, but at the time I wrote it, it seemed fine. Details can be found here.

3: I’m a huge Vancouver Canucks fan.
Maybe if you follow me on Twitter you’ll see more of this come hockey season, but yeah I’m a big fan of the regional favorite team, the Vancouver Canucks.


Deven

1: I fully love Nozomi Tojou from Love Live School.
I have to say that I love Nozomi. Although you all probably know this already. Her personality is very funny. She’s also surprising the most mature member of Muse other than Eli. In fact a bit more mature than Eli since Nozomi and Eli have both said that Eli has had her immature moments. I also like that she’s also the most fun loving member of Muse. She’s always teasing and having fun with the other members. She also has the most yuri sayings and I love her shipped with Eli.

2: I don’t get much sleep
I wake up at 5:30 AM, go to class until around 1 PM most days then work from 2 PM to 6 PM. Then I get home around 7 PM. And do work for my mother and that’s over around 9 PM. And from then until around 11 PM, I write reviews. However that’s how it always works out. I get easily distracted so I often stay up to 12 AM or 1 AM to get some reviews out. Then I’m tired…maybe I should go to sleep earlier?

3: I’m easily distracted
Not like ‘Ooh Shiny thing’ levels but pretty much I’ve sunk a lot of hours into Love Live School Festival, Fate/Grand Order, and now I’m starting to play Idolmaster Cinderella Girls: Starlight Stage. It’s wonder that I can do anything.


So I hope you’ve learned a bit more about the writers here on Anime Corps now. I’m sure everyone could go on to list many more interesting facts about themselves, but that might be too big a post at that point. Once again thank you to Joe from The Reviewer’s Corner, please check out and follow his blog, as well as his Twitter too.

That’s all for us here, thanks for reading and we’ll cya later!

-Anime Corps

**Header pic link**


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

