Rolling right along here we arrive at the summer season, a time of hot weather and long lazy days. Thankfully there were plenty of new and exciting anime series to watch. Here are some of our favorites from that season.


Here are Nick’s highlights of the summer 2015 season.

Gakkou Gurashi!

schoollivetn

By far this was my top favorite of the season and for a good reason. In terms of capturing your audience in the first ep and giving them a reason to keep watching, Gakkou Gurashi did a fantastic job of that as I was literally left speechless by the end of ep 1. Not many anime in recent memory have had the power to do that to me. So after you’re left shocked and awed, you had to continue watching to find out what’s going to happen next. Story wise you could easily say it’s simple and easy to compare to the likes of The Walking Dead (granted I don’t watch the show, I’m just stating what I’ve heard other people say) but for me I was really engaged in the story as I haven’t watched many shows like this before. I enjoyed the mystery, the scary parts and the feels too and just got so caught up in it all. I love it when an anime really sweeps me off my feet and gets me so emotionally invested in watching it. All in all Gakkou Gurashi was amazing anime and I hope to see another season of it in the future.


Non Non Biyori Repeat

NNB feature image 1

There is something about this anime that warms my heart every time I watch it. It creates an atmosphere like no other and while it’s just a simple slice of life show anime 4 girls in the Japanese countryside, it feels so alive. Maybe I’m just lacking the proper words to describe it, but Non Non Biyori Repeat was a charming return, even if it was a glorified recap at its core. Even though it’s pretty much S1 with new content, I haven’t seen S1 since it aired so this felt new and fresh to me and I enjoyed it all. Watching these girls and their summertime antics always brought a smile to my face, and in some cases a tear to my eye. I don’t see a reason to hate this show, but I guess everyone has their own tastes, strange as they my seem to everyone else. A runner-up for my second favorite show of the summer season for sure, Non Non Biyori Repeat was an excellent way to make those endless summer days seem a lot more lively.


Himouto! Umaru-chan

horriblesubs-himouto-umaru-chan-11-720p-mkv_snapshot_00-25_2015-09-24_18-29-11

Comedy shows can be a hit or miss for me as I have a very low tolerance for silly things, but after seeing talk about this one on Twitter I felt compelled to look into it and see what it’s all about. Another good call as it turned out to be a comedy anime that I actually enjoyed a lot. I found myself laughing so much each week as I watched this one as the jokes and situations the characters got themselves into were so random and crazy. It’s rare that I enjoy such slapstick humor like this but when done right it can be such a blast to watch. Easily among the funniest shows I’ve watched all year, Himouto! Umaru-chan is something worth watching for sure as it’s a comedy anime that doesn’t ever get overly silly to the point of being downright stupid. There’s a fine line (at least in my books) and many seem to cross it, but Umaru-chan hit all the right points and that made for one hell of a fun ride. Highly recommended.

Honorable Mentions

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime is worth the praise as it’s a classic fairy tale done in anime style. What stands out for me the most of Shirayuki herself for being a strong female lead, something that isn’t seen that often. I really loved her character a lot as she felt like a breath of fresh air compared to so many other female characters I’ve seen over the years. Very enjoyable anime, worth watching. S2 in January as well.


Here are Deven’s highlights of the summer 2015 season.

Sore ga Seiyuu

[HorribleSubs] Sore ga Seiyuu! - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_01.15_[2015.09.27_22.37.25]

Earlier this year we had Shirobako from PA Works which showed us the inner world of the animators. Now we’ve got Sore ga Seiyuu and that shows us the world of the seiyuu. I had to say that I never knew how tough it was for the seiyuu that weren’t very well known. We mostly know of they best of the best but what about the low tier ones. The best part would have been the cameos from famous seiyuu. The only one I wish they had gotten would have been Saori Hayami and maybe Kikuko Inoue but that’s just me.

Joukamachi no Dandelion

[Doki] Joukamachi no Dandelion - 12 (1280x720 Hi10P AAC) [17E2DD2F].mkv_snapshot_01.49_[2015.09.24_18.30.09]

It’s not your traditional anime. It’s just your typical relax with a nice soda and some chips slice of life. In fact as I rewatch this anime for this post, I’ve got a nice cold Guava soda.
Anyway it’s nothing big. A group of princesses and princes that are raised as a normal family in the suburbs are vying to be the king/queen of their home country. It’s not the stuff about their unique campaigns but it’s the interactions between the characters and their unique relationships of their family. It’s truly a relaxing anime that I’d recommend to anyone.

Rokka no Yuusha

maxresdefault

Not truly bad but it’s bad that it didn’t pace itself correctly. If they hadn’t been trapped for damn near the entire season of the anime then it could have been a good mystery/action anime but they were in that barrier for most of the anime turning an action anime into a pure mystery anime. If they changed that up then it would have been something worth liking.


So those are some brief highlights of the summer season. Be sure to let us know your favorite summer anime of 2015 in the comments below!

Thanks for reading, we’ll cya in the next part!

-Anime Corps

Header Pic


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

