Hello, Nick here with my final thoughts on the fall anime I watched over the past few month. A bit late this time as my computer died but now that I’ve got a brand new one I can resume my blogging ways. Anyways, let’s get started!


Ani Tore! EX

615b0fd195674214be1fe7575bcc1e73

So the first of a few short series I watched this season, Ani Tore! EX proved to be different as it was an interactive anime. By that I mean you felt compelled to follow along with the exercise routine that the girls were showing you. For the most part I was able to follow along but once things got to a point that required lots of floor space or a partner, I couldn’t do that. I can’t think of any other anime I’ve watched before this that have had this sort of interaction to it, so in those regards it was quite interesting to watch. Of course you could always choose to just watch and not follow along, but where’s the fun in that? Being that this anime is literally about girls exercising, there isn’t much of a story so I can’t talk about that. In terms of enjoyment factor though, I liked it as it was something different from the usual short series. I’d recommend it if you want something that will get you out of your seat and exercising once again a while, but if that’s not your thing maybe pass this one up. So to bring this to a close, Ani Tore EX was a short and fun series to watch and one to check out if you like watching anime girls exercising. I’ll give Ani Tore EX a 7/10.


Fushigi na Somera-chan

7tebS9A

From the minds behind Ai Mai Mii, comes the latest dose of absolute insanity. Yes that’s about the easiest way to describe this show, utter insanity. Granted it’s not as bad as Ai Mai Mii was, but still it makes you seriously question the person who actually thought this up. By far this isn’t what I’d call “good” but it’s more of something you just switch off your brain (not like even that helps) and watch it. There isn’t a story really, rather it’s just a bunch of really random events that happen each ep. It’s crazy in all regards so if you aren’t one who likes really insane and random things, pass this up for sure. As for me, I just wanted to watch it as I somehow made it through Ai Mai Mii and wanted to see what this team of people could come up with next. That’s pretty much all I have to say about this one. Fushigi na Somera-chan gets a 5/10 from me.


Gakusen Toshi Asterisk

Gakusen Toshi Asterisk title card

I’ve pretty much summed up my thoughts of this one in my ep 12 review, so I’ll direct you to that to read. If you don’t want to do that though, I’ll summarize it here. I liked Asterisk as while it was yet another magic high school anime, it wasn’t laden with overloads of fan service and some stupidly OP guy, rather they seemed to put the focus on the story and not spend unneeded amounts of time showing just how bouncy the boobs are of every female character or something else that we’ve seen before in a million other magic high school anime before this. The second reason why I liked this one so much was that Rasmus Faber did the music. Easily best OST of the season along with best ED as well. The animation was also very well done, as expected of A-1 Pictures and I liked, for the most part, the characters too. All in all it’s nothing you haven’t seen before, but out of the other magic high school anime this season, Asterisk was the only one I watched till the end. Obviously it did something good as its rivals, Cavalry and Anti-Magic failed to impress me. With all said and done, Gakusen Toshi Asterisk S1 walked away with a 7.5/10. Nothing new, but a surprisingly decent anime just the same.


Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka??

vlcsnap-2016-01-02-19h03m25s767

A follow up to the spring 2014 series, Gochiusa did everything a sequel is supposed to do and then some. For ages I’ve said sequels are hard to do because many things just rehash the events of the prequel but just in a different location or something. Contrary to popular belief that is not a sequel at all. What a sequel is supposed to be is a continuation of the story, meaning there actually has to be a story long enough to break up into two parts and then the second has to continue things on in a logical manner. Clearly someone knew that when making Gochiusa S2 as it hit all the right points and felt different from S1 in so many ways. We were introduced to new characters, new locations, new adventures the girls went on, it was all new and it felt refreshing to watch a sequel continue such a simple slice of life story. I really enjoyed watching this one as it’s just so simple and fun to watch. There isn’t some deep or serious plot or anything, it’s just a fun slice of life anime about girls who work in a cafe and the fun things they do. It’s also one of the few anime I can think of that have Risa Taneda, Saori Hayami and Ai Kayano all in it. It’s also got other talented and popular people such as Ayane Sakura, Inori Minase, Maaya Uchida and Satomi Sato in it too. All in all Gochiusa S2 did exactly what I wanted it to do and then some. So to score this one up I’ll give Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?? a 9/10. Excellent sequel.


That brings to a close the first part of my season wrap up series. Part 2 will be along shortly. So out of these 4 anime listed, what were your thoughts of them? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading and I’ll cya in the next part!

-Nick

Header Pic


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? I’m always looking for talented writers (and editors!) who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, drop me an e-mail and we can chat. Check the Contact page for my e-mail.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

