Hello, Nick here, and welcome to my second pick for the winter season. Let’s get right in this review as I’ve got a lot to talk about!

Here are my first impressions!


Even though the first ep was very enjoyable and fun to watch, I’m still going to give this one some time to open up and hopefully not be another Glasslip or something. That aside though, this opening ep was fun to watch and I really liked the characters introduced to us. Chika won my heart over nearly instantly with her charm and cuteness, I’m going to like her a lot I can tell. But as for the actual story presented to us in this premier ep, let’s take a look at that.

[GJM-Vivid] Haruchika ~Haruta to Chika wa Seishun Suru~ - 01 [284499CF].mkv_snapshot_01.51_[2016.01.11_01.19.33]

As advertised HaruChika is indeed a mystery show with musical elements too. Honestly it reminder me a lot of Hibike! Euphonium with Chika looking to start anew at this high school, joining a band, and running into a childhood friend. I had to keep reminding myself as I watched that no this isn’t Hibike! Euphonium but HaruChika. Yeah that aspect of this show feels very similar and no I’m not saying that in a bad way either. After having recently watched and reviewed the Euphonium OVA and the second season looming in the future, I’m still very much into the music club mindset.

Anyways as this ep progresses and we’re introduced to the cast such as childhood friend Haruta Kamijou, we also have this anime’s first mystery for our musical detectives to solve. A cryptic message is left on the band room chalkboard in red paint. No it’s not blood. What does it mean and who left it? Well the remainder of the ep is spent figuring this out. It’s a rather complicated message that this mystery person has left in musical notation. Haruta flexes his musical history knowledge as he wows the other band members and Chika. Little do they know that the band’s conductor Shinjirou Kusakabe has already figured out what this message is and what it means. It’s a love letter, a very technically written love letter addressed to him. While this makes Chika slightly envious as she likes Kusakabe already, what’s more surprising is that Haruta also like him. Suddenly we find ourselves in a very different kind of love triangle.

As far as relationships go though, I really was expecting Haruta and Chika being a couple as they’ve reunited childhood friends after 9 years I believe but yeah they’re throwing us a curve ball right out of the gate. I’ll give them points for being different but I’m not too sure what to think about Haruta and Kusakabe, that just doesn’t really sit too well with me. It will be interesting to see how they progress this though, I am slightly intrigued by that aspect of this whole ordeal.

Relationships aside this opening ep still gave us a mystery that as solved and hinted at something bigger, that being Kusakabe’s sudden change in career from rising conductor to high school teacher. Another way this anime reminds me of Euphonium is that both shows have conductors with a deep past. I look forward to when we get to see more of Kusakabe’s past and what made his change his career to something so average.

I mentioned in the opening paragraph that I enjoyed the characters, Chika especially, but what I really liked was the banter between her and Haruta. Both are so natural around each other, especially after 9 years, and watching their interactions was quite a treat. Haruta is quick to remind her of all the times she used to roughhouse around with him, eating his food, trying out wrestling moves on him or putting frogs in his shirt, but Chika is trying her best to be a new cute and elegant girl so she’s slightly embarrassed and possibly annoyed to hear these things. I look forward to seeing more banter between these two in future eps as that’s something I always enjoy.

All in all HaruChika was another positive first ep that has me wanting to see more. It’s also got another purple haired main girl who I’m really loving a lot after 1 ep, the other I’m referring to is Hotaru from Dagashi Kashi. So far it looks like P.A. Works might have another great anime in the works, but as with everything else this season I’m giving it the 3 ep trial to see how it goes. I’m confident that this one will also make the cut as so far it’s hitting all the right notes.


So those are my first impressions of this one, it wasn’t as exciting nor hype worthy as ERASED, Dagashi Kashi or Phantom World were but regardless it was a solid start to what looks to be a good anime. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one though, so let me know in the comments below!

Okay then that’ll bring this opening review to a close now. Before I leave I’d like to mention that the group I’ll be watching from is Good Job! Media-Vivid and according to GJM’s site they’ll have HaruChika out probably a day or so after it airs, so don’t expect same day reviews for it or anything. If you do want that though there are plenty other anime blogs you can check out for that, but I’m letting you know right now what the plan for this is.

[GJM-Vivid] Haruchika ~Haruta to Chika wa Seishun Suru~ - 01 [284499CF].mkv_snapshot_23.39_[2016.01.11_01.19.57]

Anyways, thanks for reading I hope you liked it and I’ll cya later!

-Nick


Bonus Pic!

Source Link!
Source Link!

Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? We’re always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, leave an email and we can chat. Check the Contact page for our email.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

