Week 3 of Dagashi Kashi and yes I had a lot more fun with this ep than I did last week.

Here’s my review!


So yeah I enjoyed this ep more than last week. From start to finish I had a great time watching as the whole gang was present this week for another round of fun. As usual Hotaru was up to her usual crazy antics that got me laughing again and again. We had the whole gang back as mentioned, something we haven’t seen since ep 1, and seeing them all interact was actually pretty good. I know I said I would like to see them stick to just a small group with the supporting characters showing up here and there, well this was an example of just that and how well it works.

The central theme of this ep was beating the heat as it’s currently summer and much like in Non Non Biyori the countryside gets very sweltering during this time. But trust Hotaru to come up with some genius plan to stay cool, this being super heat the candy store with a heater and eat ramen. You never know what you’re gonna get with her. Anyone with a fetish for sweaty girls will love this sequence as Hotaru, Kokonotsu and Tou seal themselves in the candy shop, heat it via portable furnaces and make ramen to “restore stamina,” according to Hotaru. Now whether or not this actually works I’m not sure and I personally don’t want to test this out as it seems more like a health risk than anything.

Nevertheless they endure the suffocating heat as Tou promises the suffering it worth it. Sweat fetish people, this moment is for you. With sweat running down her face and neck, Hotaru slurps up the hot noodles as Tou and Kokonotsu watch this sensual act unfold. I can’t even imagine how Hotaru endures the heat, I mean she’s wearing quite a lot of clothing. Ah, side note: Hotaru wears a different frilly top and necktie every time we see her. Go back to ep 1 and watch from the beginning to now, she’s always wearing a different one. Anyways, Kokonotsu is able to get out of eating this hot ramen by reminding Hotaru that if they don’t turn the air conditioner back on, not only will they probably die, but so will the candy. But as the air conditioner won’t turn back on, Tou has the solution to finally beat the heat. Go to the pool.

It's getting hot in here. Source Link
It’s getting hot in here.
Source Link

Only 3 eps in a we get the pool ep?! Hell yeah! Oh maybe not so much. If you were hoping for Saya and Hotaru sporting sexy bikinis, well you’ll be in for a disappointment. On the other hand, if you’re one who prefers girls in school or one-piece swimsuits, you’ll enjoy this segment a lot. But even though we don’t get a sexy Hotaru in a bikini as so much fanart is showing, it’s still great to see Hotaru in a swimsuit regardless. Aside from looking good though Hotaru isn’t there for fun and games, she’s teaming up with Kokonotsu’s dad, You, to help get Kokonotsu to want to work in the candy shop more. It’s a clever plan on their part but failure to read the signs, quite literally too, brought their moment of greatness to an end. Oh and before we move on, Saya looked good in her swimsuit too.

Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link
Source Link

The back half was Hotaru spending time with each of the Endou siblings, first Tou and getting him to understand how to properly eat a certain piece of candy, to hanging out with Saya for some girls talk and explaining the importance of candy that can last a long time. Kokonotsu wasn’t really present for most of the back half, aside for a few minutes once Hotaru had finished with Tou and his candy enlightening experience, but other than that he wasn’t around that much. Not that it’s a big deal, after all I enjoy watching Hotaru and her antics with or without Kokonotsu around. Unlike the back half of last week’s ep, this week kept the fun going and I was into this ep through to the end.

All in all this was a bounce back ep for sure as it got me enjoying this anime and excited for next week and the antics that Hotaru and company will provide once again. Before I end this review though, I should also mention the the OP/ED are new this week too. By that I mean the song is still the same but the sequence has different stuff going on. I quite like the new versions of each, especially the ED, so let me know your thoughts on the changes to both of these.

Hotaru dancing though. Source Link
Hotaru dancing though.
Source Link

Well I said I’d give this anime the 3 ep trial as I do everything else, and after 3 eps I can safely say it passed the test. Sure ep 2 was a bit of a let down, but that was just half of the ep. If things can continue on in the right way then this will be a great anime to watch for the next few months. It’s no anime of the season or anything, but in terms of fun factor this ranks very high. I eagerly look forward to next week’s ep and the fun that comes with it.


So after 3 this one is still positive for me. Hotaru is still entertaining and fun to watch and the things they come up with always get me laughing. That’s all I’ve gotta say about this ep, let me know your thought of ep 3 in the comments below!

Alright that’s is for me, I’ll cya guys next time!

-Nick


Bonus Pic!

Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link

Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? We’re always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, leave an email and we can chat. Check the Contact page for our email.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

