It’s that time of year again, the snow has hopefully melted away and the flowers are starting to show up. Spring is in the air and with April around the corner, so is another new and exciting season of anime to watch. But as it’s the start of a new season, it’s also a special time for Anime Corps as it always reminders me of how this blog started and how far it’s come since that first post. Look forward to April 1st as this blog celebrates another birthday with a special post. Alright then, so with that out of the way here’s what you can expect to see reviewed here starting in April.


Gakusen Toshi Asterisk 2nd Season

i13043245421

Promotional Video

Nick here with my pick for the spring. Love it or hate it, Asterisk War is back for its second half. The first half of this anime aired back in the fall 2015 season so if you’re looking for those reviews, check out this page. You know to be honest out of the 3 magic high school anime that aired back in the fall, Asterisk War was the only one that I stuck with till the end. Everyone hates it for being generic as hell, but at this point it should be very obvious that every single magic high school anime will be generic as hell as it’s a genre that can’t really have anything new or different happen in it because all the stories are always the same. As with any show if you nitpick enough you can find millions of problems with it and I feel that’s probably the case with Asterisk War too. Yes for the most part it’s a very run of the mill show that you can pretty much guess what’s going to happen, but aside from the obvious things that aren’t even worth getting upset about at this point, people seem to dive into the minor details and use that to make this show sound horrible.

I’m not saying this show is the best out there, but compared to the others airing at the time S1 did, I liked this show a lot more as they put more focus on the story and not about fan service as is usually the case. Yes there still is fan service in this show, but it’s not that first then everything else, so in those regards I liked this show more than the others. With that said, I’ll return to review this second half of this show, more or less already knowing where things will probably go. If you enjoyed this show or are just curious about what the second season will be like before watching it, take a look at my weekly reviews for it. Asterisk War S2 is the only show I’m reviewing this season as I’ve got other things I’m pursuing at the moment, but I’ll make sure to keep to a set schedule of getting reviews out for it. Asterisk War S2 begins April 2nd on Crunchyroll at 8:00AM PST. I hope to see you then!


Big Order

u7D3WN1

Hello, it is me Joe. Big Order is a manga that is by the same person who wrote Future Dairy. To top it off it is by the same studio as well. I watched Future Dairy I think in my first year of watching anime, it was one of my favorites at the time. Although that was four years ago, I have a feeling I would still enjoy it. Normally I would worry about an anime by the same creator, but I know a little bit about Big Order. The good news as well is that it is by the same studio. So, this season I am still doing a two series review, one here and one on my blog. Last season, well I think it is apparent I stopped reviewing Luck & Logic. This season I am at least sticking to both shows I have read some of, and rather enjoyed, the source material. Also I am starting to think comedies I do best at writing weekly reviews, both this season are a little more on the action side, but have some comedy to it, so I think I can manage.

Now I know this is not my personal blog, but the fact I am taking a hiatus there also sort of effects it here as well. I mean, yes I will still be the editor here. However I will not post anything towards May. So April no posts will be out from me till May 1st. Then it will just be one a day. Good news is that this show does not air till April 16th, so by the time episode 3 comes out will be when I start uploading.

As for who is licensing this to stream, most series haven’t got any sort of mentioning it. If I had to say either Funi or Crunchyroll, maybe both. This I am also guessing might be two cour, or split. It feels like that would fit this series, it would surprise me if it was only just 12 or fewer episodes.

Flying Witch

Flying Witch TV Anime

Promotional Video

Ah Spring is here and with that new anime to check out. And with the sad beginning of Fairy Tail’s hiatus, I have to pick up two anime from now on. I miss Fairy Tail.

So my first pick is Flying Witch. This has a little bit of a sentimental feel for me. Since the main character, Makoto, reminds me a lot of Kiki from the Studio Ghibli movie, Kiki’s Delivery Service who I had a big crush on when I was a kid.

So a lot of the main characters are unknowns to me but three of the familiars I know. Ai Kayano, Ayane Sakura, and Ari Ozawa will be three cute black cats. I can’t wait for Ai Kayano’s meows. I’ve heard this is going to be a really laid back and relaxing anime.

Flying Witch will premiere April 9th.


Netoge no Yome wa Onna no Ko Janai to Omotta?

G3vtiR2

Promotional Video

Ah something I’m comfortable with, a more harem-ish theme to it. It’s starts off with a guy thinking the girl online proposing to him is really a G.I.R.L.(Guy in Real Life) but it turns out to be a real girl.

Sounds good right. She likes him. He likes her. Let’s roll the credits. Wrong! She can’t see the difference between reality and video games making her very dangerous and odd to most(read: all) people. So it’s up to our protagonist to turn her into a somewhat normal human being! This takes Chuuni a little too far…

This is actually a cast that I know:

Rina Hidaka from Sword Art Online (Silica)

Inori Minase (who just came off her win as Best Lead Actress in this year’s Seiyuu Awards for Gakkou Gurashi)

M.A.O (the new Kari in Digimon. I still miss the dub…is so wrong to wonder if they’ll dub Digimon Tri?)

Yoshino Nanjo (Eli in Love Live and a lot of other things)

Just from that I have to give it a look.

Netoge no Yome wa Onna no Ko Janai to Omotta? will premiere April 7th


So there you have it, the line up for new spring anime reviews starting in April. If you’re also planning on watching any of the above mentioned shows, let us know your thoughts on them in the comments below!

Thanks for reading and we hope you’ll stay with Anime Corps for another season!

**Pixiv Link**

-Anime Corps Staff

