Part 2, let’s go!


Dimension W

[DameDesuYo] Dimension W - 10 (1280x720 10bit AAC) [9F0DB808].mkv_snapshot_00.37_[2016.03.18_22.10.33]

Another sci-fi thriller, Dimension W started as something I enjoyed, but as things went on I wasn’t as hyped for it as much as I was in the beginning. It’s got a great setting, the characters are solid, but the story seemed like it kept getting more and more out of control as things wore on. By the very end things were back to where we started, Mira and Kyouma on their ongoing coil hunting adventures, but the whole Easter Island thing felt kinda crazy at times. The first half of this anime is great though, I really liked where things were going, the cool futuristic vibe it had and everything, the back half faltered slightly but by the very end it caught itself and was able to pull out a conclusion more or less. Honestly if they had more eps to expand of things I think this show would be much better, but there is only so much you can do with 12 eps and I guess they did an alright job. By far though Dimension W had the best OP of the winter season, STEREO DIVE FOUNDATION nailing it perfectly. I should also mention that Mira was such a cutie, I really loved her a lot. Second best ass of the season too, Yume from Grimgar takes the number 1 spot for that.

So yeah I had some issues with things along the way, but after all is said and done Dimension W was still a fairly solid show and one that I’d say check out if you like futuristic shows. As for a rating, I’ll give Dimension W an 7/10.


Gate 2nd Season

[HorribleSubs] GATE - 23 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_01.14_[2016.03.18_22.12.12]

Even though I feel like Gate is one of those shows you either love or hate, I still think I’m on the fence with this one. To be honest S1 didn’t exactly amaze me it just left me feeling really… unexcited. It’s got an amazing cast, great studio, cute girls, guns and explosions, yet there is something about it that just fails to get me hyped for it. Nevertheless I stuck around for S2 as I wanted to see where things would go, and even then my feelings for this show never changed. After all 24 eps I’m left feeling still very much unexcited as it failed to psych me up at all. It doesn’t help that the politics going on in the show made for another boring element. I could almost say it’s like in Star War: The Clone Wars where they had consistent trouble balancing the political episodes with action eps. But yeah Gate just wasn’t something I found myself getting hyped for like so many others were. By the end I was watching for Rory as she was my favorite thing about the show. Rory best girl too. So looking back at it all, Gate S2 was more of the same that S1 was, failing to get me excited at all. Tallying it all up I’m giving Gate S2 a 5/10. A whole lot of meh.


Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

[Hiryuu] Hai to Gensou no Grimgar - 06 [1080p H264 AAC][44DC2396].mkv_snapshot_01.34_[2016.03.18_22.14.02]

What comes to mind for Grimgar is a lesson in patience. If you have lots of patience then this anime will reward you, if not then you’ll get annoyed by the slow pace and drop it. What Grimgar does that makes it stand out so much for me is how death is used in it. Tsuyuki recently wrote an article about death in anime, but this wasn’t one mentioned and I really wish it was because how death is used in Grimgar is how more anime should use it. Without spoiling too much, when a certain main character dies it really changes the whole show. I’m not talking about for a few eps everyone is shaken up, rather the rest of the anime this death is always mentioned and it’s not something everyone just gets over in time. They lost a dear friend that day and every action they take moving forward, his death is always on their minds. Not only does is bring them closer together and strengthens their bonds of friendship, but it also makes them realize that they can’t take anything for granted in that world. So in many ways Grimgar is one of those rare shows that doesn’t make light of the fact death changes everyone not just for a few eps, but for the rest of their lives.

So while Grimgar did an excellent job in the characters and development of them, the overall story was actually extremely weak, or at least I felt it was. The whole getting brought into a fantasy world thing isn’t anything out of the ordinary these days. Sword Art Online probably made that trend a big deal, but recently Konosuba and now the currently airing Re:Zero are also using that same element as well. But with Grimgar they don’t ever really make mention of the fact that they’re suddenly this fantasy world without any explanation. Did they all die and were brought there? Were they taken away in a sudden gust of wind? How and why they are there are two very important questions that aren’t ever addressed, and yeah that bothered me.

Yes the focus was suppose to be on them making the best out of this random situation but never did they try to figure out why they’re there and how to get back to the real world. They put so much focus of the character development that they skimped on the story and by ep 12 we’re back to square one pretty much. While all the characters have grown a lot, the story never got off the ground and we’re left assuming that they’ll just continue living each day in this fantasy world, killing monsters and making money. One guy I follow on Twitter put it nicely saying this show felt like a prologue and the real story would be in another season. I got a similar feeling after he mentioned it as that’s what it really does feel like. After 12 eps all the characters are in a much better position, both physically and mentally, to actually start going on an adventure so if there is another season that’s where things would start to happen. Much like how I felt after Saekano S1, it was like one big prologue and now that you’ve met the characters, gotten to know their back stories, have the framework of the story set out, S2 is where things kick into high gear and the real stuff begins. Whether or not that’s the case for Grimgar and another season is right around the corner I’m not sure, but at the end of 12 eps I’m left wanting the actual story to begin.

So with that said I’ll score this show up. I’d say it’s among my favorites of the winter season as it really was a strong character driven show, but if it had more plot or just was 24 eps then it could easily be a contender for Anime of the Year. But looking at what we got, I’ll give Hai to Gensou no Grimgar a 6.5/10. Lots of potential, but it needs another season.


Heavy Object

[Pure™ & Innocent™] Heavy Object - 22 [720p][28EA4DF2].mkv_snapshot_01.42_[2016.03.18_22.15.32]

Heavy Object isn’t a bad show, rather it’s dumb fun. You sit down, turn off your brain and watch huge mechs fight, big explosions, cute girls, big boobs, and two guys cracking jokes all the time. If you want an entertaining monster of the week show, Heavy Object is exactly what you’re looking for. It’s about as static as they get, pretty much no character development, yet despite these massive draw backs it’s extremely enjoyable to watch. I had a pretty good time with this show as it was very much over the top in so many ways, from the huge mech fights to the hilarious banter between Qwenthur and Havia, I knew it would always be an enjoyable 24 minutes and rarely did I leave feeling disappointed. If I were to break things down then yes this show isn’t great at all, but once and a while it’s nice to have a show that’s pretty over the top in almost all regards. Oh and before I end, Frolaytia is still best girl. Tallying things all up I’ll give Heavy Object an 7.5/10. One of the better dumb fun shows out there.


Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko: Everything Flows

[HorribleSubs] She and Her Cat - Everything Flows - 03 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_00.27_[2016.03.18_22.17.07]

Technically it’s not a winter show, but it aired during most other winter shows so I figured I’d include it in this wrap up post. She and Her Cat is one of those short shows that are fairly simple yet are so amazing, and being that its original story is by none other than Makoto Shinkai, you know you’re in for an emotional ride. To be honest this is another show I don’t really want to say too much about as it’s best for one to just watch it and experience it themselves. I’ve said it before that short anime are so hit or miss, but She and Her Cat is a prime example of a massive hit. As with most Makoto Shinkai shows I’m left in a puddle of my own tears as I can’t help but be moved from all the emotion. So looking back at this one, it’s pretty low key, but I highly recommend it, especially if you’re a fan of Makoto Shinkai’s work. With that said I’m giving She and Her Cat: Everything Flows a solid 9/10. Makoto Shinkai does it again.


And that’s all for round 2.

If you watched any of the above mentioned shows, let me know your thoughts on them in the comments below!

I’ll see you in part 3!

-Nick

**Header Link**


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? We’re always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, leave an email and we can chat. Check the Contact page for our email.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

