Well another season has come and gone and it’s now time for me to look back at what I watched and give it all a score.


Anne-Happy♪

[HorribleSubs] Anne Happy - 11 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_01.46_[2016.06.21_12.53.52]

Easily one of, if not the, cutest show I watched this season, Anne-Happy was such a delight and made my Thursday’s so much better. If you’re a fan of cute girls doing cute things shows then this is something you’ll love a lot because there are a lot of cute girls doing a lot of cute things. Also there are some soft yuri vibes that run throughout it as well, so if you’re into that you’ll like this too. Probably what I loved most about this show was just how charming it was to watch, I never got bored of it even when the first few eps did feel a bit repetitive, but once it got its footing it really went from there. While I like Hibari the most, each of the girls have their own points I like about them (which is usually the case) so honestly I didn’t hate any of them. After Hibari it’s a toss up between Botan and Hibiki for second favorite, the classic glasses vs. red hair battle. Which do I like more?

Art and music wise I liked how Anne-Happy looked and sounded. The art fit the show really well, the nice backgrounds and solid character designs, and the music was really good too. I liked the OP and ED and the OST also was decent too. I don’t think I’ll end up getting much of the music aside from the OP/ED and maybe some character songs, but overall the music was a stand out point that I wanted to mention.

All in all though Anne-Happy was a fun show to watch filled with cute girls, hilarious moments, yuri elements and just a charming vibe to it. I’d recommend it for those reasons and if you’re also looking for a fun slice of life show to watch, this will fit the bill nicely. So tallying this all up, I’ll give Anne-Happy a 7/10. Unhappy go lucky!


Bakuon!!

[HorribleSubs] Bakuon!! - 11 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_03.06_[2016.06.21_12.54.46]

Bakuon was a wild and fun ride from start to finish and it has a healthy dosage of cute girls, fast bikes and bouncing boobs too. If that’s something you like the sound of then Bakuon will be the show for you to watch. I mainly wanted to check this anime out because it was about bikes and I think bikes are pretty cool, but add in the cute girls and that’s even more of a reason to keep watching. It’s pretty much another slice of life show but instead of it just being a group of girls hanging out at school and such, it’s about a group of girls that go out riding together on their motorbikes and have fun adventures that way.

It’s easy to tell a lot of effort and detail went into the bikes because by far their extremely detailed and each shot of them is made to look like the real deal. Honestly the bikes are the main stars of this show, the girls are just there to ride them. From touring, to riding around town, to racing through the school, it was always a fun time each Monday to see what these girls would do next with their bikes, and they never disappointed either.

Aside from the bikes, the art in Bakuon was pretty normal. Nothing standout amazing, but pretty much right down the middle; the character designs were good too. Speaking of characters, Rin is by far my favorite. Maybe it’s just because she’s voiced by Nao Toyama or that Rin has a nice body, but either way she made a lasting impression on me and my feelings never changed. The others were good too, I liked Hane’s airhead personality, Onsa’s wild nature, Hijiri’s obsession with being a delinquent and of course the silent but commanding presence of Raimu. Each girl brought something to the table and they all played well off each other.

So looking back at it all, Bakuon really started off the week well and until I see what the next show will be to fill that space, Monday’s just won’t be the same without these girls and their biking adventures. So like I said at the outset, if you enjoy cute girls, fast bikes, and bouncing boobs, Bakuon is a show you should check out for sure. Tallying this all up now, I’ll give Bakuon a solid 7/10. Awesome ride!


Big Order

[HorribleSubs] Big Order - 09 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_01.56_[2016.06.17_22.42.27]

If you think this show is gonna be like Mirai Nikki (The Future Diary) it’s not. True it has similarities, but it’s nowhere near the level that Mirai Nikki is on. I liked Mirai Nikki actually, it was probably the most extreme anime I watched at the time, but I still enjoyed it and would like to rewatch it at some point when I’ve got time. I thought that this being by the same team, it would be just as good. Well it wasn’t. Hell I should’ve stopped watching because it just kept getting more and more out of control that by the ending it had totally lost me and I didn’t even care about wanting to understand what was going on, I just wanted it to end.

So my word of advice to you is this: don’t watch this anime, it’s terrible. It starts off making you think it’s gonna be like Mirai Nikki, but then it falls off the cliff and goes completely crazy, in a bad way. Big Order isn’t even the type of show that it so bad it’s good, it’s just straight up bad through and through. I keep saying I’m going to be more aggressive with my policy of dropping shows that I don’t like, but this somehow slipped through. Next season for sure I’ll axe anything I don’t like right away and not hang around to see if it’ll get any better. That trick never works because you’ll just end up watching the whole show waiting for it to get better but it never does.

Anyways to bring this to a close now, Big Order was a terrible show that isn’t worth investing any time into. Go watch Mirai Nikki instead as it’s far superior to this shit. So with that said, I’m giving Big Order a big 2/10. All around shit.

For a more detailed look at this show, check out Joe’s episode by episode review of it.


Bungou Stray Dogs

[HorribleSubs] Bungou Stray Dogs - 11 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_03.15_[2016.06.21_12.55.09]

After reading the synopsis of this show I was kinda thinking it might be like K, with a bunch of super power guys fighting and such. Well it’s not exactly like like K, it is the same in terms of super power guys fighting and such. What’s interesting about this show is that each character is based of a Japanese literary figure, so if you’re like me and know absolutely nothing about Japanese literature then this point will pretty much mean nothing.

Anyways, Bungou Stray Dogs was a really solid show actually. People bash it for not having the right focus as its switching between comedy and action all the time, but honestly it worked well. When the show needed to be serious, it was serious; when it needed to be funny it was funny. Yes the humor did cross over into the serious side of the show, but it never took away anything. Each personality of the characters brought something to the table and it made the general interactions between them so much better. I enjoyed how Dazai cracked jokes at random times, but when it was time to get serious he got serious, even if it was only for a few moments. So yeah I had no issues with how the characters were in this show nor with how the focus was always changing between humor and more serious things.

The story for Bungou Stray Dogs isn’t finished yet, the second half of it will air in October, so if you’re looking for a supernatural action/mystery show with a dash of humor, Bungou Stray Dogs will be something to check out in time for October. All in all Bungou Stray Dogs was a highlight of the spring season being one of my favorites and I eagerly look forward to seeing how the story will end come October. Tallying it up I’ll give Bungou Stray Dogs a solid 8/10.


Haifuri

[Vivid-GJM] Haifuri - 10 [006DB82F].mkv_snapshot_02.02_[2016.06.21_12.56.25]

As far as I know Haifuri is an original show and like many original shows it started fairly good but as time wore on it wasn’t so good anymore. I’m not saying it was a straight up bad show, but once you solve the mystery it’s kinda like “oh that’s it?”; for me it felt like they kinda picked it at random and decided to go with it. If the mystery had some more depth to it, felt like there was a lot more going on behind the scenes then I think I might have liked this show more than I did, but honestly it just felt really shallow and by the end of it all it was much like their boat: dead in the water.

So on the surface it’s still a cute girls doing cute things show, it’s just out of the school or cafe or club or whatever. They’re on a boat this time, but not any boat. A battleship. So yeah in terms of being a cute girls doing cute things show, it’s not something I’d rank that high on my list of cute girls doing cute things shows. There are much better and far more enjoyable cute girls doing cute things shows out there to invest your time in, this is honestly not worth putting the time in unless you really love boats or something. It had a few good moments, I liked the action sequences throughout and especially in the final ep, but everything in between was bland and boring and the mystery lost its wind once it was solved.

After all is said and done they leave you kinda hanging as I expected some final after credit scene with them continuing their journey to become proper Blue Mermaids, but no you’re just left there not really feeling the closure that there should’ve been. I would’ve liked to see an older, more mature group of girls now Blue Mermaids and out protecting the sea like they talked about for all 12 eps. There was no epilogue and it really did feel like there should’ve been something like that just to put the icing on the cake and make it a complete package.

When I step back and look at it, Haifuri set sail looking like it might be that original show that will finally break the mold. While it didn’t quite come close to that there were points here and there that I did enjoy, it’s just overall it felt too shallow to me and because of that I had a hard time really getting into it and liking it. So with all said and done, I’ll give High School Fleet (Haifuri) a 5.5/10.


And that’s all for the first part. If you watched any of the above shows, what did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in part 2!

-Nick

**Pixiv Link**


Follow Anime Corps on Twitter!!

Do you have an anime blog, site, Tumblr or Facebook page? Want to exchange links? Stop by the Link Exchange page and leave a comment, I’ll add you to the growing list!

Want to blog about anime too? We’re always looking for talented writers who want to share their passion about all things anime and manga related. If you want to be a writer on Anime Corps, leave an email and we can chat. Check the Contact page for our email.

I’m always on Twitter tweeting about all kinds of stuff. If you’ve got a Twitter account, why not follow me?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

